1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

help me build a high end AMD rig

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Fitseries3, Aug 31, 2009.

  1. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    ok guys....

    help me find a board and cpu for my high end amd build.

    i want a phenom II quad that will clock high and a board that supports ddr3 and SLI.

    i only need board and cpu.

    only thing i request is... find the lowest price possible. used is a plus.

    GO!
     
  2. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    This is the only AM3 SLI board on the market that I know of. Your DDR3 support and all, if you wait a little longer there may be more. It has been out less than a week or so. Doubt you'll find one second hand.
     
  3. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Or there is this

    ASUS SKT-AM3 M4A79-T DELUXE S/L

    I'm no good with US based internet shopping but I'm sure you'll be able to find it easy enough.
     
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,974 (12.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,400
    There are no high end AM3 SLI boards at the moment. :ohwell: 955 for the processor though.
     
  5. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    amd sli hack?
     
  6. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    That's not an SLI board.
     
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,974 (12.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,400
    Well.. by the time that's all figured out there will be high end AM3 SLI boards available. :laugh: Really though, I thought the 980a chipset was supposed to be out already. I can't find any info on it.
     
  8. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    was supposed to be out in march.

    idk wtf happen though.
     
  9. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND

    Whoops, I'll send an email to the retailer correcting them as well XD
     
  10. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    well... what alternatives do i have in the ddr2 lineup?
     
  11. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  12. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    everything thats in my system specs other than board and cpu.
     
  13. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    lol, well 8x on the PCIEx's is out of the question....

    Now if you sell those cards and use a pair of 9600GTs the MSI 750 is a nice board:laugh:

    The 980 board is good for you, x16 in the slots and they are far apart to aid cooling them. You can punch a hole in the bottom card to intake air for the lower card.
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  14. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    yeah... thats what i was affraid of.

    well, i guess i could get a amd chipset board for now to keep me busy.

    single 295 is still pretty nice.

    whats a really good ddr3 amd chipset board that isnt too expensive?
     
  15. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,338 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,376
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    If you want to run CF/SLI and have 2 cards running on 16x you need to be running 780a it seems, and only looks like 2 choices on newegg when it comes to that.

    Looks to be the best and has a $40 MIR!

    Or this, cheaper off the bat, more expensive in the end, and less PCI-E slots

    Either one would be a great choice it looks like, and for CPU, it's really debatable. Some say just go with the PII 955 and save yourself the money, and others say the 965. I personally would go with the 965 if budget allows, they seem to all hit 4ghz on air and 4ghz on stock voltage. The 955 is a great choice though too, so really up to you.
     
  16. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    are you gonna use a 965? (140watt CPU)
     
  17. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    955be
     
  18. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
  19. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    nice.

    hmm... how about something micro atx?

    are the new 785 boards any good?
     
  20. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    too new for me, ever since I went i7 I am ignorant with AMD's new stuff...
    (The Biostar has to kick their ass though)
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  21. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,777 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    the new 785g are pretty good. all have acc for unlocking cores and the gigabyte ones seems to be good clockers
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  22. troyrae360

    troyrae360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
  23. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    im liking the GB 790fxt-ud5
     
  24. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,974 (12.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,400
    I like that board too. When it comes to AMD, I always use Asus though. I love my M4A79T.
     
  25. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    Go for the Crosshair III man! You won't regret it!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page