1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

help me choose a mobo

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by rampage, Mar 20, 2008.

  1. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    i have a asus p5k-e wifi-ap and a bios update killed it, i after 2 months i just got it back form RMA and the thing is still stuffed and wont boot with anyhting i have so i am looking at getting another mobo.. any suggestions, or should i just order another board the same

    it must be socket 775, run a q6600 g0 and and 8 gig of ocz reaper 4-4-4-15

    im not a huge OCer im currently running the cpu and ram on a Gigabyte GA-G33M-DS2R (http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=138_306&products_id=5744) at 400X8 1.45v (3.2ghz)/4-4-4-15 800

    i would just order another of the gigabyte mobo but it has a seriously bad vdroop issue .. try .05v at idle and .1v at load

    im not looking at spending heaps of $$$ somthing around the $200>$250 (australian)

    any idears???
  2. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    the DQ6 gigabyte mobos are normally the best.

    If you can grab one get a asus maximus formula before stocks run out its a great board but is been disscontinued due to the rampage release i have one on order myself i should get it tuesday then its getting flashed with the rampage bios mod:D.
  3. craigo

    craigo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    655 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Australia
  4. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    both great boards but im not realy wanting to spend that much, ive laready spent $1600 on pc parts in 2 months ..lol

    edit : didnt see craigo's post
  5. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
  6. craigo

    craigo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    655 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Australia
  7. craigo

    craigo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    655 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Australia
    msy (clayton,malvern,pascoe vale VIC) are ding the p5k-wifi you had for $189 if you wanted another one...but asus board rma in au suxx0rz (as you just learned)
    http://www.msy.com.au/
  8. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    i like both the board in the last two posts, i guess it comes down to what is better p35 or 680i, i have to admit im a fan of the asus boards i loved the pk5-5 wifi-ap i had, it kicked ass, so i am leaning towards the ASUS P5E-V HDMI iG35 in azazel's link, im also a fan of onbard gfx to... (i like the idaer of underclocking the rig whip ot the gfx card and i have a lowpower download box) but then i guess thats why i built my second rig e6750, 2 gig ram + the mobo im currently using.........

    dam i hate making decisions
  9. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    dose anyone know if there are any major vdroop issues whit the boards that have been suggested?
  10. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    ive been looking aound for a few hrs and i have decided it will either be

    1> Asus p5k-e wifi-ap http://au.asus.com/products.aspx?l1=3&l2=11&l3=534&l4=0&model=1655&modelmenu=1
    2> Asus P5E-V HDMI http://au.asus.com/products.aspx?l1=3&l2=11&l3=584&l4=0&model=1929&modelmenu=1

    as i have said i know the p5k-e is a great board but i like the idear of onbaord gfx on the p5e-v

    i know the micro version of the p5e-v (p5e-vm) has some vdroop issues an there is a pencil mod to correct it, but dose anyone know if the full size bord has the same problem??

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page