1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help me chose better RAM

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by jonathan1107, Apr 21, 2011.

  1. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    905 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Canada
    I intend to upgrade my rig soon (adding another radeon 6950 and changing my RAM maybe...)

    About the RAM... what should I do? I have 8gb (2x4gb) ram 1600 mhz running at 9 9 9 24... I've heard I could lower those timings... but frankly I'm no expert at tweaking the RAM settings... When I get in the configuration page in the bios for RAM... there are like 200 settings... makes me confused...

    I was going to get myself another radeon 6950 to crossfire... but I've talked with a local computer technician who tells me that my motherboard might limit a little bit my Crossfire performance being that it will keep it at 8x instead of 16x PCIe...

    He also seems to think that I should have faster RAM (2000mhz instead of 1600) He thinks it would allow for a better overclock and FPS increase and better crossfire performance...

    But after what I read on the internet, it looks like just reaching the 2000mhz speed can be complicated with some mobos... Also I'm worried about temps... since my actual temps are just ok right now with the 1600mhz sticks. I guess I might have problems with the 2000mhz sticks...

    How much of an FPS increase can you get out of 2x4b sticks 2000mhz?

    Lastly, should I buy instead 2000mhz ram but lower its speed to like 1800mhz or even 1600mhz to get lower CAS... like 7 or even 6...???
     
  2. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    High-end RAM is a waste of money.
    Difference to run-of-the-mill RAM is something around 0-3%.
     
  3. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,072 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    The sweet spot for DDR3 as the performance plateau curve goes is 1866. Most anything past that is for your AIDA64 (formerly Everest) read/write/copy/latency e-penis.
    That being said I do think 2133 seems "snappier" than 1866 but that my just be in my head...
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2011
  4. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,569 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,100
    If you would link to the exact ram you have I'm sure we could help you tweak those before you go a buy new ram.

    Faster ram speeds and tighter timings will increase the performance of the PC, but likely you will need to be benchmarking to actually "see" the difference it makes. As for the "feel" of it, you might see the performance from time to time but on the whole, it will "feel" the same. That isn't to say you shouldn't try to get better performance out of what you have if the effort to do so is minimal;)
     
  5. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    905 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Canada
    Quick question: If I were to upgrade my ram to 2 sticks of 4gb (2000mhz with low CAS... say 8) would I be able to put these in and have that speed or would I have to tweak a lot of settings??? From what I've read on the internet, it seems for 2000mhz sticks, you need to OC your CPU to get that... is that true?

    What would be your recommandation? I currently own Gskills Ripjaws 2x4gb 1600mhz 9 9 9 24. I found these which have better timings but not better speed: G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 ...

    I hear the sweet spot for both CPUs and Mobos is 1800mhz... Please FEEL FREE to Shoot me tons of info and tips about my situation. I need answers soon, I need to close the sell of my current RAM
     
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,569 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,100
  7. MN12BIRD

    MN12BIRD

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    471 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    I've hard a few people say on a stock AMD without overclocking the HT that it's pointless to go beyond 1,333MHZ. Any truth to that?
     
  8. Spectrum

    Spectrum New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    473 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    if you want faster 1600mhz ram, get 2x 4gb mushkin redlines.
    if you want some decent 1866mhz, get some corsair vengeance or dominator
     
  9. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,072 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    Give a link to your current ram on newegg or g.skill.
    If it is lower voltage 1.5 or 1.6v, you might be able to overclock it to 1855 @ 1.65v.
     
  10. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    905 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Canada
    Here's the link to my RAM :

    http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Produc...&cm_re=gskill_8gb_1600-_-20-231-314-_-Product

    I read everywhere that people succesfully OC it... But for some reason, I can't :O( Even if I raise voltages, I can't get it's timings down... And I can't get the Mhz to increase, because I'm not doing a "classical" Front Bus OC... Mine is an adaptative OC... Using speedstep and everything....

    My CPU adjusts itself, depending on the workload...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page