1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help me extend the signal from my router to my roomate please/

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by shevanel, Mar 27, 2010.

  1. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    He is using a D-link N150 usb stick and I have a dlink n150 router.

    he gets 7% signal while my other roomate on G gets much more.

    the roomate with the low N signal is in the furthest room from my bedroom.. which is only about 30 feet?

    the walls are like concrete.. I tried drilling into them for speaker mounts and it was a bitch.

    Is there a way I can use a second router that I have to extend the signal to give him a better signal too?

    What can I do to make his internet better?

    should I try bigger anntennaes?
    should i try some type of wireless extender? if so which one?

    thanks for the help
     
  2. richjordan255

    richjordan255 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    378 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    shevanel says thanks.
  3. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Visibility is main factor for longer distances. I have friend that did 25 km link with linksys wrt54gl with directional antennas with out amplifier for them. You could put directional antennas on on the windows pointing each other. Directional antenna would increase the signal but they are not much effective at home even do you know the location and direction of the router it is possible that the signal that you are getting are some kind deflection and could come from another direction.
    You could put router on the other side that would receive internet from the wireless. WRT54GL has strong wireless provable better that the yours friend computer.
     
    shevanel says thanks.
  4. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    I've went completely off wireless.

    Using powerline (200mbps version from Intellon). It's not perfect (pings are always 3 ~ 5ms compared to wireless 1 ~ 2ms on small packets), but it is consistent especially if your electrical wiring is in better condition than the walls and neighbours you have.

    Just some food for thought :p rather than faff around with angles and positioning.
     
    shevanel says thanks.
  5. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    I have another n router made by that cheap bestbuy brand or something.. it actually has 2 antennaes but didnt help the signal..

    would it be possible to take the second router and install in the hallway to kinda push the wireless from my room to his?

    the signal has to travel two thick walls... and moving the router/deks made no difference..

    [​IMG]
     
  6. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Not all wireless routers have option to receive internet from wireless. And some that can could be difficult to set up. The better routers would let you do wireless networks scan and choose the network they would detect the type of encription and you just enter the password similar to like connecting from wireless card to router. But not all routers are that simple. I have come across router that reguires to enter the MAC address of the wireless router you try to connect and only supported WEP protection.
    And not all routers can receive internet from wireless and are able to share the internet over wireless at the same time. But if you find router that can receive internet from wireless and can share it at the same time over wireless than you could put it at half the distance to have better distance.
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2010
    shevanel says thanks.
  7. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    so guys what should i do? should i try bigger antennaes on the router or get some type of wireless extender to put half way? are they easy to setup since the device will not be connected to a pc when put between the router and my roomates pc?
     
  8. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,112 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,295
    Location:
    Kansas
    If your router is capable of hooking up dd-wrt put that on; it has some signal boosting capabiliteies.
     
    shevanel says thanks.
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,411 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,629
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    either run ethernet and put an access point closer to him (or just get him on wired, anyway) or do what has been suggested and use powerline 'homeplug' tech. wireless is not magic - you need good circumstances for it to work, and you do not have them.
     
    95Viper and shevanel say thanks.
  10. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    I see. I wll look into cat5 prices and see about doing an attic run.
     
  11. Phxprovost

    Phxprovost Xtreme Refugee

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,219 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    262
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cat5 prices:toast:
     
    shevanel says thanks.
  12. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,715 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,815
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Just some info: if you are living in an apt., dorm or such, they are newer, since the late 80s, I believe, they have firewalls(real ones for fire stoppage) made of some hard as steel material.
    I use to run into the stuff as an installer, you have to go up and over and most of the time there ain't much room.

    Like Mussel's said, powerline adapters.
    Or, combo, powerline to access point. It works, I do it.
    I use trendnet's stuff, works good. Make sure your power lines are on the same circuit(loop). It will work best that way. And, don't plug the power brick into a ups or filtered power strip; that is a no-no.

    The ones I have. And the don't block both plugs, like some do. At Newegg and more.

    And this is the access point I use, and both have been running over a year.
    Newegg:TRENDnet TEW-637AP 300Mbps Wireless Easy-N-Upgrader
    :)
     
    shevanel says thanks.
  13. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
  14. 933k

    933k New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    New Zealand
    another method which i use is running ethernet through the buildings powerpoints

    i use neverwire 14, simply just plug one bridge into a A/C outlet and the other connected into the router and you're ready to go also has a one button encryption/decryption for security and privacy
     
  15. Loosenut

    Loosenut

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    875 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    186
    Location:
    Granby, Qc. Canada
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,411 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,629
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
  17. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,502 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,109
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Before you spend a dime, go to youtube and search for cheap wifi extender. There is a video that will show you how to use some cardboard paper and some alumnium foil to basically point the signal wherever you want.

    Edit, heres the video:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sUTT8wdN_VA

    Quote from the video: "Signal went up from 82% to 100%" Well worth the $0.02 cost and 10 minutes of time.
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2010
  18. Loosenut

    Loosenut

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    875 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    186
    Location:
    Granby, Qc. Canada
    You sure?
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2010
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,411 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,629
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    very sure.

    cat 5 is 100Mb to 100M
    cat 5e us 1Gb to 100M
    cat 6 is 10Gb to 100M


    point is, for the shorter distances used in homes, you could get gigabit speeds from cat5 cable, let alone 5e
     
  20. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    Wds
     
  21. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    i wrapped a paper plate with tin foil and poked a hole so my router antennae would hold it up.. after trying different angles his reception has gone up to 13-16% from 5-7%

    if i did it properly using the method in the video i should see more gains.. the paper plate was experimental.
     
  22. arroyo

    arroyo

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    393 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Location:
    Bydgoszcz, Poland
  23. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,502 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,109
    Location:
    Kansas City
    This is a much better quality of the print out than my youtube's link. This will increase your signal by 10-20% easy with just 10 minutes and some aluminum foil.
     
  24. regan1985 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,451 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Coventry UNI England
    powerline to access point is the cheapest way because its going to work!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page