1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help me find a skt775 motherboard that OC's a Quad

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by HookeyStreet, Oct 8, 2007.

  1. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,136 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Im looking for a motherboard (preferably an ASUS one) that is skt775, with a good chipset that allows very good Core2Quad (Q6600 G0) overclocking....plus SLi would be a bonus :D

    BUT, it must be available in the UK and only cost £70-£80 ;)

    PS: dont say the P5N-E SLi as its not very good for Quad overclocking :cry:
  2. Richieb0y

    Richieb0y New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    471 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    The Netherlands Almere
    i have a p35-DS3R they say that it OC well i dint try it myself i will when crysis runs like crap

    on the asus part i dont know any sry bud
    HookeyStreet says thanks.
  3. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,557 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/ProductInfo.asp?WebProductID=669222

    sell the p5nesli for £50 and your there, i have also read rumours that you can botch these to run sli but i dont know how.

    the new intel chipset does seem to be the best way to go for ocing quads but maybe the nf700i will be just as good too.

    was it the vdroop on your p5nesli that was stopping you with the quad?
    HookeyStreet says thanks.
  4. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    ASUS P5K-E WiFi

    End of story.
    HookeyStreet says thanks.
  5. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,136 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Thats actually the one Ive been looking at. The only troble is that its CrossFire, not SLi, but I dont think I will be going dual card graphics anytime soon ;)
  6. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,136 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Not sure m8. It seems that everybody trying to OC a Q6600 on it hit a wall at 2.7GHz. TBH I was lucky to hit 2.83GHz ;)
  7. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    The only nVidia boards that support SLi are 680i based and they all cost significantly more than those with Intel chipsets and no SLi.
    I hear older revisions of 680i boards don't clock that well with quads...
  8. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    What about this thing hookey

    http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/ProductInfo.asp?WebProductID=560972

    I din't know much about XFX mb's but they make damn nice gfx cards and
    I know the 680 chipset works quite well with the quads... I have 2 mates at work who just bought quads and 680 mb's and I have oc'd both their systems to around 3.3!!!
    HookeyStreet says thanks.
  9. Flamingsupernova

    Flamingsupernova New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    160 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    GA-N680SLi-DQ6
    This mobo is EXACTLY what u asked for. Sexiest motherboard I've ever seen hehe
    HookeyStreet says thanks.
  10. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    ^ Thats all well n good Supernova, but its way more than the 70 - 80 quid he is talking about. There are heaps of nice boards in the 150+ range.....

    It is a friggin nice board though. :)
  11. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,136 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    now I like the look of that :)
  12. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,136 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    That is a nice mobo m8 (thanks for the reply) but I want to get a good budget mobo ;)
  13. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,136 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Has anyone got any info on this mobo: Gigabyte GA-N650SLI-DS4
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,150 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,473
    check my rig specs.

    P.S 680i are random, you need the newer revision to OC a quad, and only EVGA specify the A1 revision on the box, all other brands its random
  15. gR3iF

    gR3iF New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,807 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Hamburg
    Yep but sli and Quad would be the 680sli A1 Chipsets everything else is just crap sometimes.
  16. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,898 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    wait next mouth for nvidia's 780i board
  17. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Blighty
    a good board for duals, but, like the p5nesli, its crap at overclocking quads


    Komplett do state that their EVGA 680's are A-1 revisions, but theyre £162 http://www.komplett.co.uk/k/ki.aspx?sku=335103

    edit: ebuyers ones are a1's too, they dont state it in the details, but its in the manufacturers part no.http://www.ebuyer.com/product/120936
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2007

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page