1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

help me fix dota!!! please

Discussion in 'Games' started by funkmaster, May 7, 2009.

  1. funkmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hi there,

    i used to be able to play dota(warcraft 3 frozen throne map) on an australian server called bored aussie. after a few months of playing the game smoothly online it just started lagging. i took the comp to a tech guy who removed a virus and so i tried again but still no luck, it lags like a bitch. i can open up the game but as soon as i join an online game it starts lagging and when the game starts its impossible to play. some artifacts are are also evident on screen.

    i tried dowloading new drivers for an nvidia geforce fx 5200 but it hasnt improved.
    i have a p4 3.2 ghz and 1gb of ram, so i dont think theres any problems there.

    any help at all would be very very much appreciated,
    thanks,

    funk
  2. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,613 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    348
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    funkmaster says thanks.
  3. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,063 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    754
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    as awful as that computer is it should b able to hadle this game. Artifacting is usually temps, is ur case full of dust?
    funkmaster says thanks.
  4. funkmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thanks bois,

    ye i think the case is a bit full of dust so ima clean it out. if it works then great but if not i will post again. anything else i should be looking out for??

    thanks a lot
  5. funkmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    bois,

    i cleaned the comp...it had alot of dust all through the fans and a little on the motherboard. I tried the game but it still lags and shows artifacts. I looked at the temps and they were all fine averaging 30-32 degrees.
    Do you have any other ideas of what it could be???

    ty bois
  6. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Sounds like the GPU is dead then. If it's not overheating and you're still getting artifacts then the GPU is fried.
    funkmaster says thanks.
  7. funkmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The GPU is passive so mbe after yrs of usage its not functioning properly??? Is there some way to check the GPU system online???
  8. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Download Furmark and run that. If you get artifacts there.. Then sadly, (well it's an FX5200 lol) it's dead. If you need help finding a cheap replacement card, we wont hesitate to help you find one :toast: Might even want to swing by the buy/sell/trade sub forum and buy something cheap there.
    funkmaster says thanks.
  9. funkmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hey man

    i ran it on benchmark and it lagged heaps but no artifacts. score was 32 o3marks, the fps average was 1 and time waas 60000. when i put it on stability it did the same

    wat u rekon???

    thanks alot
  10. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Try stressing the CPU and ram, download OCCT and run the linpack test for a few mins. It will stress your CPU and ram to the max.. I've seen an unstable CPU OC cause artifacts before so. If it works with that, then completely wipe your drivers with Driversweeper.
    funkmaster says thanks.
  11. funkmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    There was no artifacts recorded when i did the test and the comp was stressed to 100%. I will try another game and see if it works...??? do u think this would help???

    thanks
  12. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    i used to have a rig like that and the same happened to me. my old 5200 died. my council: get another vid card.
    funkmaster says thanks.
  13. funkmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ty ima try to borrow a gpu to test if it makes a difference but first i am trying another game
  14. funkmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    lol i dunno gonna try a new gpu c if it works
  15. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,063 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    754
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    its problly the gpu like already said. use it as an excuse to get a new system :p
    funkmaster says thanks.
  16. funkmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ye tru,
    cant wait for new system but for now ima try new gpu,

    thanks for all the helps,

    funks:rockout:
  17. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,862 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    Err... time for a upgrade?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page