1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help me OC a 3850 (now 824/1060 stock volts)

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Odin Eidolon, Aug 19, 2008.

  1. Odin Eidolon

    Odin Eidolon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    921 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    Rockclimbing somewhere in Italy
    I just oc'ed my 3850 a bit more thanks to the new ATT (Ray Adams, i love you!)

    max clock atm are 824/1060, while the card has 720/900 stock. Temps are 45 idle and 58 load.

    It is cooled with a zerotherm gx810@5V with a 120mm fan upon it spinning at 1200 RPM.

    It is a club3d 3850, seems to be the same layout as a powercolor PCS edition.
    ATM it is set at stock volts, 0.974, as ATT says
    screens are with the card kept at 810/1044

    3 questions: how good is this oc? How much do you think i'd gain with some more volts? What the f**k are those 10 states in the bios meaning? I dont understand them!

    EDIT another question: what are the lowest clocks i can set it for energy saving?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Odin Eidolon

    Odin Eidolon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    921 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    Rockclimbing somewhere in Italy
    what? no answer yet? c'mon guys i need ur help!
     
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,810 (13.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,192
    824/1060 is one of the better OC's I've seen on a 3850! I don't know how much more you could get out of it barring a hard mod!
     
  4. Odin Eidolon

    Odin Eidolon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    921 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    Rockclimbing somewhere in Italy
    well i dont wanna pencil mod it, only maybe tweak a bit the voltage. And I thought club3d was a bad company!
     
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,810 (13.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,192
    I was wrong. After looking around a bit, this is THE best 3850 I've seen using stock voltage! You are 824 stable? Have you tried taking it further? Very nice GPU on that card, just keep the temps as low as possible and try using the same voltage settings that a 3870 would use on the core. It would be good to check (pics?) the PCB to see if it's close to some non-refference designed 3870's.
     
    Odin Eidolon says thanks.
  6. Odin Eidolon

    Odin Eidolon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    921 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    Rockclimbing somewhere in Italy
    lol really? Yes it seems to be 824 stable but crashes ar 830. Max temperature is 58 C°, thanks to the super gx810 with a fan on it. i'll try to post some pics tomorrow maybe. Do you know what voltage a 3870 uses?
     
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,810 (13.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,192
    Some use 1.3v, and some use 1.327v. The thing is, you should make sure that the pcb and the components on it can handle such voltage. If anything start small by adding +.02 or so, and see if that helps at all.
     
  8. choppy

    choppy

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    UK
    dude thats a killer oc for a hd3850! think abt it the core for the 3850's are the ones that got binned from the 3870, so to hit a high oc like that usually requires a volt mod..

    ..but i maybe wrong. i just got my new sapphire hd3850 512mb today, and my top oc so far is 783 / 1008 . 60 idle, 80 load. im keepin it there for now, gonna replace stock cooler with accelero s1, and im gonna give yer a run for yer money :D
     
    Odin Eidolon says thanks.
  9. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    I had my 3850 hard modded to 1.39vgpu and it was benchable at 840mhz core and 1050mhz mem.It would fail at 850 though,but i guess it needed more POWER :D
     
    Odin Eidolon says thanks.
  10. Odin Eidolon

    Odin Eidolon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    921 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    Rockclimbing somewhere in Italy
    mhhh i'll try with a start of +0.04, then maybe i'll go for 1,214. i think it shouldnt be a too high voltage. any idea about what are these 10 clocks profiles in the bios?
     
  11. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Apart from odins good clocker,i dont think its going to go that much higher without more juice choppy.

    odin,no idea what 10 clocks profiles in the bios are,sorry.
     
  12. Odin Eidolon

    Odin Eidolon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    921 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    Rockclimbing somewhere in Italy
    for sure some of them should be:
    boot
    2d low
    3d low
    3d high

    but i have no idea of the others. i wanna make some good driver oc so i should understand what those settings are. i'd like to see if i can manage a 360/450 clock in 2d mode with maybe 0.8V. Power saving!
     
  13. repsol23

    repsol23

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    152 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    I have been able to get my Powercolor hd 3850 (AGP Version) up to 837/1051 when I had it water cooled. It now runs in my kids computer @ 799/1025 on air for their gaming! I loved that card as it gave my aging cpu a major boost for gaming.
     
    Odin Eidolon says thanks.
  14. Evo85

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    459 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Indy, IN
    Best I have got out of mine is 766/1102. Stable at 733/1055 (At least thats as far as I am willing to push it). So I would say you are doing pretty darn good! :toast:
     
    Odin Eidolon says thanks.
  15. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    The 3850's were not that bad,i enjoyed mine very much after the 1950 pro.
     
  16. Odin Eidolon

    Odin Eidolon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    921 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    Rockclimbing somewhere in Italy
    i'm running mine max 824/1060 and runs great on air, super quiet and max 58 C°.


    @Evo: thats a pretty insane memory oc you have there! 1100!

    Just tried 830 with 1,054 volts (+0.08V, stock is 0.974) and the monitor suddenly turned off. i'll try later or tomorrow 1,134 volts
     
  17. Evo85

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    459 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Indy, IN
    The Asus does great on the memory. I have good size HS's on the chips and a 80mm fan that evac's the air out of the vid card area. I really wish I could get the GPU higher though even if it meant losing mem speed.....
     
  18. Odin Eidolon

    Odin Eidolon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    921 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    Rockclimbing somewhere in Italy
    well thanks and good night all. Here in Italy its late and tomorrow morning i have to wake up at 5am :shadedshu cause i'm going free-climbing (yes, not only i am an overclocker and a gamer, but a climber too! :p) wait for more tomorrow afternoon
     
  19. Evo85

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    459 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Indy, IN
    BTW, I have tried the latest ATT. It always causes a hard lock..... :(
     
  20. sleepsus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    36 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Manila
    best my Palit HD 3850 can do is 810/1125 @1.4V stable
    stock clocks are 670/830 @1.2V

    I can bench at 837/1125 but it's not stable in actual games ... not to mention that the improvement is negligible
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2008
  21. FR@NK

    FR@NK

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    574 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    The 10 profiles are the different power states that the card will switch between to save power and run cooler when the GPU isnt under load. If you click in the window that lists the states it will show you which state does what:

    [​IMG]

    You have a nice OC on that card ;) No need to push is any farther.
     
    Odin Eidolon says thanks.
  22. Odin Eidolon

    Odin Eidolon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    921 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    Rockclimbing somewhere in Italy
    thanks! i'll try to figure that out. this afternoon i'll make some good driver oc'ing
     
  23. Odin Eidolon

    Odin Eidolon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    921 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    Rockclimbing somewhere in Italy
    uhm all the states there are listed as power saving for notebooks....
    0-boot (00)
    1-power saving for notebooks, high performance, optimal performance, overdirive template (?) (01 is called "low", 02 "medium", 03 "high")
    2-power saving for notebooks, high performance, optimal performance (04, 05, 06 same as state 1)
    3-power saving for notebooks, high performance, optimal performance, UVD (07, 08, 09 same as before)

    what do they mean? what are the clocks i must modify to get power saving in 2d and performance in 3d?
     
  24. sleepsus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    36 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Manila
    btw, when I OC'ed to 810/1125 @1.400V, it was unstable using the stock 8.7 drivers from ATI.

    I now use the DNA ATi 8.7 driver and don't have issues anymore
     
  25. Odin Eidolon

    Odin Eidolon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    921 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    Rockclimbing somewhere in Italy
    well tbh at the moment i use the 8.4 i think LOL. should i use the 8.7? Where can i get the DNA version (and what is it? :p)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page