1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help me select cpu

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by hussain, Dec 14, 2006.

  1. hussain New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    First of all i don't live in usa so my options are somewhat limited . Secondly i am a hardcore gamer and don't do much else on my pc. Here is my problem.

    Recently i bought an x850 pro agp and was able to unlock the extra four pipelines but then my motherboard went bad on me. I gave my barton 3000+ to my sister and proceeded to buy new mobo + cpu for me. So here are my options:

    Option 1:
    Athlon 64 3500 plus motherboard = 200 dollars
    and i keep my existing 1gb ram and graphic card.

    Option 2:
    Amd x2 4200 + motherboard = 280 dollars
    Sell my 1 gb ram and buy new ddr2 1gb ram = 40$
    Sell my x850 pro (unlocked) and buy 7600 gt= 80$


    So is it worth it because both processors are clocked at 2.2 gigahertz. From what i have heard all games now are single threaded, so no use having a dual core processor. What do you think.

    Thanking you.

    P.S: Can somebody tell me what kind of mobo is this for gaming.

    http://in.asus.com/products.aspx?l1=3&l2=15&l3=68&model=1119&modelmenu=2
     
  2. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    First of all, the USA isn't some hardware Valhalla :)

    Are you willing to upgrade later on or do you want to use the same hardware for the coming 2 years or so?
    Inc ase of upgrading you could look for a AGP/PCI-e hybrid board so you can upgrade the videocard later on. If you are willing to sell your current stuff you could also look for an e6300 and overclock it.

    As for single or dual core, I'd go dual core, even though most games don't do much with it they will in a year or so. Plus it helps a lot when multitasking.
     
  3. hussain New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i just mentioned usa to tll anyone trying to point me to online stores is that i don't have their option.


    can somebody tell me what is the performance boost i am going to get in games with a dual core processor.
     
  4. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    In most current games about 0%. Though when the game is multi threaded it depends on how dependent the game is on the CPU. As long as your videocard can't keep up don't expect miracles from it.
     
  5. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    if you run anti-virus, you will see a boost in gaming. The antivirus should use one core and your game will occupy the other core.

    Right NOW having dual core is for MULTI-TASKING - running more than one application at a time.

    In the FUTURE, having dual core will speed up frame rate, but right now, games DO NOT take advantage of extra cores, but they will in the FUTURE.
     
  6. hussain New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Decided on this setup:

    amd opteron 165
    msi k8neo2

    Now god help me:)
     
  7. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    hard core gamer=2gb ram and no less then an x1900gt/1950pro ;)
     
  8. Greek

    Greek New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    572 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Leicester, UK
    tru, but i wud go with nvidia, lol
     
  9. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    nvidia, bah, cant do hdr+aa at the same time even on the 7950gtx2!!!!! pathetic!!!!!

    and purevideo....dosnt work....ROFL(avivo does!!!!)
     
  10. Greek

    Greek New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    572 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Leicester, UK
    i guess u an ati fan then lol.

    u mean 7950GX2 rite?

    the XFX GeForce 8800GTX does :)
     
  11. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    and its 600bucks, i will stick with my 278$ x1900xtx thankyou very much, far more reasonable priced then then an 8800, and orignaly i though it was dubed the gtx2, least i seen it called that a few places, not like i care, the x19*0 cards are still better!!!!!

    i was an nvidia fan till they started sucking for hardware and drivers(around the time the fx line fooked me over on my 5800ultra under dx9......slower then a card 1/4 of its price, total bs.....) the 6800gt i had also had driver issues, the well known 5second studder, as well as fsaa+af falloff neer center of the screen the only fix being to set lod alot lower then default!!!!

    i got no need of more of that crap, maby if i was a linux user i would be an nvidia fan but as things are nvidia makes me laugh, you cant use newer driver sets with dual core cpu's because perf takes a hit in multi cpu mode HAHA, sad since ati IMPROVES from multi core/chip system use!!!!
     
  12. Greek

    Greek New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    572 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Leicester, UK
    w/e u say. u seem to no a lot bout ati. but i still think nvidia own, not becaue of the 8800gtx but the company its self, i like ati, but dnt mean it beta for me anywayz.

    im happy with my 6800GS and i dnt think ill switch yet.
     
  13. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Good choice on CPu and not bad with mobo, I Got that mobo. I would have went with the mobo that had the XGP slot so you could use your existing AGP video card. This way, you can upgrade to PCIe when you get the money and want to take a chance.

    -The Eagle
     
  14. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    acctualy anymore its amd/nvidia since ati has been bought by amd and is being folded into amd as we speek, this also means that amd is getting driver support for linux AND better opengl support(perf) in the works, not that im at all dissaapointed with my x1900xtx's perf in ogl, most games i am peged at my refreshrate!!!!
     
  15. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,171 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,657
    i would go with option 2 for gaming but maybe get a fx62
     
  16. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    fx62=way over priced lol, specly when a 3800+ can be overclocked to match its perf!!!!
     
  17. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,171 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,657
    thats true my 3800 beats a fx62 not sure how but in benchmarks it does...maybe go with a good opty
     
  18. stevorob

    stevorob New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    844 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    NC
    fx62 will achieve much higher clocks than a 3800 will. The fx series are the good silicon runs. Handpicked by AMD for the high clocks.
     
  19. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,171 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,657
    THATS PROLLY WHY THEY ARE MADE FOR GAMING?
     
  20. stevorob

    stevorob New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    844 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    NC
    That's why they are made with an unlocked multi and 2.8ghz clocks :)

    Not just for gaming :)
     
  21. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,171 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,657
    but how far will the multi go? is it infinite upto what the board supports?
     
  22. stevorob

    stevorob New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    844 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    NC
    I think it goes to 14x
     
  23. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,171 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,657
    so that is eqivalent to a 5200+ with a 14x multi?
     
  24. stevorob

    stevorob New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    844 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    NC
    5200 is a 13x multi I believe

    Anyways, the point is that the fx-62 is made from a much better silicon run than regular athlon x2's are.
     
  25. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,171 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,657
    what about the optys? are they comparable to the FX?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page