1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help me select cpu

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by hussain, Dec 14, 2006.

  1. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    not reallmy much better the fx62 is what 2.6gz?, i can get that at stock volts on almost any 3800 made today(rarly need to add .1 volts or less)

    older x2's where lesser "quility" runs but anymore 90nm is pretty much 90nm.

    opteron chips use the exect same sil and cores as the fx chips the only diffrance is the multi being upword locked!!!!!

    fx chips of the first run of a new prosess are the cream of the crop opteron cores, but once amd gets the prosess down and refined you endup being able to get the same perf from far cheaper chips, my buddys 3600+ will do 2.7 stock volts(65watt chip) and 3.1 with 1.5v
    his boards volts arent super stable, tend to drop as low as 1.46 and as high as 1.55 if you watch the system monotor, hence the higher setting, i think it would be 100% stable if the volts would stay stable around 1.45!!!
     
  2. stevorob

    stevorob New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    844 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    NC
    The fx-62 is 2.8ghz. 90nm is 90nm, yeah, but that's a fab process.

    There are all kinds of factors to take into account when you run a fab of silicon. Some of the cores on the fab end up being fx series chips, and others are turned into single core 64's because one of the cores on the die didn't work or the cache's arent running at the full 1mb.

    Apparently, the WR is 3.6 on phase change or ln2, didn't read enough into it.

    202 * 18x multi. at 1.58v
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=100443

    k|ngp|n also has a 3.4ghz fx-62 running with a 16x multi
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=100458


    The WR on a 3800 x2 (windsor cause were talking am2) is 3.1
    http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=106039
     
  3. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    imho anything but good air is stuid to use to compair chips, its eather over priced or a real hassle, phasechange and water are a PITA to deal with, and ln2 is really stupid, most ppl who run that endup doing suicide runs and endup with a dead chip after they get done testing!!!!!
     
  4. stevorob

    stevorob New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    844 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    NC
    But we're talking raw power of the chips :)

    If the chips run at 3.6, even if it takes a -30c cooler, then it runs at 3.6

    The guy that runs the 3800, I'm sure is at least using watercooling to get those speeds. I rarely see am2's go above 3ghz on air.
     
  5. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    its not a 3800+ its x2 3600+ 256k+256k not 512+512, and overclocked it gives better bench scores then the fx62
     
  6. stevorob

    stevorob New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    844 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    NC
    If it's running faster than 2.8ghz, it should outscore the fx-62 since it's the same architecture (sp?).

    But who buys an fx-62 and leaves it at stock clocks?

    EDIT: A quick trip to google showed me the 3600.
     
  7. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    yeah they are hard to find in the states, amd should get them out here, mabya 65nm ver thats native 256k/256k for 120-130, i would take one over a 3800 because 1. same multi, 2.higher overclock potential
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page