1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HELP ME!!! something happend and now my comp wont load windows

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by quasar923, Mar 4, 2007.

  1. quasar923 Guest

    my computer boots up and then it goes to a blue screen that says :The problem seems to be caused by the following file: sptd.sys. and it says i can try to repair it by loading the windows cd and ive tryed that and no sucess and it comes up with a comand promt and i dont know mch about that. then it says to try to start up in safe mode and it wont let me because it says that the sptd.sys file is corrupt or missing. i dont want to have to redue my windows program and lose all of my saved data. what should i do? PLEASE HELP ME!!!
     
  2. BXtreme

    BXtreme New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,324 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
  3. quasar923 Guest

    ok now how do i get to regisry editor
     
  4. FujiwaraTakumi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    85 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Click on run and type "regedit"
     
  5. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    start --> run --> type regedit
     
  6. quasar923 Guest

    do i try that in comand prompt? or where do i type it?
     
  7. BXtreme

    BXtreme New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,324 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    2. Open registry editor (run regedit) AND"browse to the following registry key:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\sptd
    Change the value "Start" (DWORD) to 4 (i.e. disabled).""

    3. Reboot again in normal mode and check if your issue is solved.

    Go here: http://www.daemon-tools.cc/dtcc/download.php?mode=ViewCategory&catid=5

    Download sptdinst.exe for your OS version to C:\.
    Then Start, Run and execute C:\sptdinst remove
    Reboot to complete de-installation.
     
  8. FujiwaraTakumi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    85 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    When you click your start menu, you'll see an option called "Run". Type "regedit" in there.
     
  9. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    press start then run...type it there
     
  10. quasar923 Guest

    i stilldo not get how to get to registry editor. i cant get into anything on my computer i can get into comand prompt and chose how to start my computer (safe mode,safe mode with networking, safemode with command pomt) but if i chose those it wont let me go onto those.
     
  11. FujiwaraTakumi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    85 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Do you have administrative powers? If you're running a limited account, you might not be able to access certain things.
     
  12. quasar923 Guest

    i still do not understand how to get to registry editor
     
  13. quasar923 Guest

    yes i am administrator with no password
     
  14. quasar923 Guest

    i mean i did not make a password
     
  15. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    ohhh you cant boot up into windows

    Run windows in Safe mode and the computer should start up

    Then, when you are in windows, click Start then run then type regedit
     
  16. quasar923 Guest

    ill try again but last time i clicked safe mode and it went to the same blue screen
     
  17. quasar923 Guest

    yea it wont let me in it said at the end after loading a bunch of thins it said would you like to skip sptd.sys and i just didnt click anything it said to skip it click escape but i didnt. and the blue screen came up again.
     
  18. BXtreme

    BXtreme New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,324 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    skip the sptd.sys
     
  19. quasar923 Guest

    i just did and it does the same thing except what it says on the blue screen is a little bit longet and different but i still cant get in.
     
  20. quasar923 Guest

    any ideas now?
     
  21. quasar923 Guest

    please any one know what to do?
     
  22. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    have you got another computer that you can plug the HDD into?
     
  23. quasar923 Guest

    no
     
  24. quasar923 Guest

    well actually i have this thing i got from radio shack to make my own portable hdd so i could put it in there and i have a mac laptop and my dads dell desktop but he doesnt always let me use it but i may be able to.
     
  25. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Well what you can do is put your current HDD into the other computer and make it the slave, or plug it in with the USB. Once you have done that, delete/uninstall daemon tools.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page