1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help me to reach stable 4Ghz on my Q9650 !

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Q9650, Dec 6, 2010.

  1. Q9650

    Q9650

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    117 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    I have an asus maximus extreme x38 mobo! My q9650 is running @ 3.8ghz 24/7 stable and the cores temperatures are 34,34,39,39 idle.

    My Bios 3.8Ghz settings are:

    Vcore is 1.264v
    CPU PLL is 1.5
    x38 is 1.6v
    FSBT is 1.2v
    Loadline Calibration off
    CPU GTL Reference 0.63x
    North Bridge GTL Reference 0.67x

    I have tried everything to reach 4ghz but it is not stable..its freezes, BSOD`s, lockups etc etc

    any1 with this mobo have reached stable 4ghz with q9650? My CPU vid is 1.225
     
  2. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    raise cpu vid and vcore to 1.3 and try again.
     
    Q9650 says thanks.
  3. Q9650

    Q9650

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    117 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    i raised it to 1.45 still nothing ! i even pushed the x38 to 1.75v and it gets @ 65oC hot I know this mobo is capable to push it further but still cannot get it stable! i am really struggling! i heared the x38 can handle 450+ fsb easily
     
  4. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    Here are my motherboard settings: and mine is running 4.2ghz. with NP

    Ai Overclock Tuner [Manual]
    OC From Memory Level Up [Auto]
    CPU Ratio Setting [10.5]
    FSB Frequency [400]
    FSB Strap to North Bridge [Auto]
    PCIE Frequency [100]

    DRAM Frequency [DDR3-1600MHz]
    DRAM Command Rate [1T]
    DRAM Timings [Manual]
    CAS# Latency [7 DRAM Clocks]
    RAS# to CAS# Delay [6 DRAM Clocks]
    RAS# Precharge [6 DRAM Clocks]
    RAS# Active Time [18 DRAM Clocks]
    THE REST ARE ALL SET TO AUTO

    CPU Voltage [1.41250V]
    CPU PLL Voltage [1.60V]
    North Bridge Voltage [1.51V]
    DRAM Voltage [1.92V]
    FSB Termination Voltage [1.20V]
    South Bridge Voltage [1.10V]
    Loadline Calibration [Enabled]
     
  5. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,774 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Well give this a shot first of all.... I believe the Max Vcore on a Q9560 is 1.3625 volts on air. I have read people going to 1.4 volts and being safe. I have also heard people going to 1.5 volts on air but I wouldn't do it.

    I believe that a safe VTT voltage would be around 1.3625 Volts too. But with those chips (If I remember correctly) They are very fragile in terms of VTT. So I wouldn't push it past 1.3 volts.

    Pll Shouldn't really for safety go past 1.5 but heard people running it at 1.57.

    I guess my point is especially on the other voltages like Vcore and VTT you have some room to ply with there. Start by raising your Vcore. You should be able to hit 4Ghz. I lucked out on my Q9550 and was able to hit 4Ghz and higher on Stock voltages. But you with your Q9650 I was doing some research and seeing people achieve that speed any ware between stock voltages and 1.3 to 1.35 Volts of vcore.

    So Start by Raising your Vcore and see how that goes. Usually 4Ghz is the big voltage jump. Meaning it doesn't take much to achieve 3.8Ghz... but the difference between 3.8 and 4 ghz is a huge jump for that chip.
     
    Q9650 says thanks.
  6. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    alot of it also depends on your memory. What brand and speed you have?
     
  7. Q9650

    Q9650

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    117 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    as i said above i tried 1.45volts vcore but still nothing crashing while booting and bsod/lockups
     
  8. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    you may have a chip that will not go past that 3.8ghz mark.
     
  9. Q9650

    Q9650

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    117 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    i have a pair of ddr3 1600mhz cas9 Corsair XMS3 DHX CM3X2G1600C9DHX
     
  10. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    Those should be ok.
     
  11. Q9650

    Q9650

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    117 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    at 3.8ghz i run my fsb+ram @ 1:1 1600mhz fsb+1600mhz ram timing i use are 7-7-7-20-1T
     
  12. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,774 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Well then I would keep playing.... if this problem still persists it could very well be your board and it might not like running that high. It could also be your Memory like Tex Bill says.

    Not that it matters all that much but sometimes when I am working on a hard clock speed I find the middle ground. Like go for 3.9Ghz see if that's possible and if you can get that stable. If you can then you know what it takes to get that high. Then work your way up to 4Ghz from there.

    Also there is a chance (While a small chance) you might have a chip that doesn't want to go to 4Ghz.
     
  13. Q9650

    Q9650

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    117 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    i cannot accept that my maximus extreme cannot handle 450+ fsb this is a great board for overclocking. I also use the corsair h70 to cool my cpu. the x38 is using the stock heatpipe cooling so no watercooling here
     
  14. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    going from 3.8ghz to 4.0ghz is not that much more of a gain in speed. But the main thing is make small adjustments and keep trying it. Oc is an art and science. I sometimes write down what I've tried just to make sure I remember what I've tried.
     
  15. Q9650

    Q9650

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    117 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    how did you get that cpu ratio setting?

    the q9650 min/max multiplier is 6/9
     
  16. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    what bios you have? I might be running a later bios that still let you change it
     
  17. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,774 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Well good I am glade you are not taking that as the final answer. That means you still have some fight left in yah. I am just saying though that while it would suck.... sometimes certain chips don't want to clock as high as others. And if you can get them that high.... the settings you would have to have them at wouldn't be worth it!

    But regardless....I am out of suggestions because when I was clocking those chips it was awhile ago and I am out of practice. So I will keep an eye on this thread in case I remember something else though :)
     
    Q9650 says thanks.
  18. Q9650

    Q9650

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    117 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    i have latest bios v1302

    you got the QX9650 which is the extreme version hence the max multiplier of 10.5
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2010
  19. Zenith

    Zenith

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    166 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Well at the moment my changed settings in bios are:

    EIST: off
    Ratio: 9x
    FSB= 445MHz
    Vcore:1.2750
    NB voltage: 1.26
    DRAM voltage: 2.26
    SB voltage: 1.3
    Timings: 4-4-4-12

    q9650@4GHz, stable but damn hot.

    Maybe u should work on Northbridge voltage, raise it a notch and try overclock.
     
    Q9650 says thanks.
  20. Triton.se

    Triton.se New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    235 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    4.2GHz 8hr Prime95 stable

    9x467=4203MHz
    vcore 1.381v
    fsb 1.26v
    mch 1.32v
    pll 1.50v
    cpu and mch ref auto
    mem 2.4x ratio (467x2.4=1121MHz)

    not hot if using good HSF (True Black with two 120mm fans, Antec Tri-cool @ MAX when ocing/benching, otherwise fans @ low), way under 71c on cores.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page