1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help me understand chipsets

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Vic-Dog, May 8, 2008.

  1. Vic-Dog

    Vic-Dog New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I've recently posted about my next best upgrade and I've come to the conclusion that I need a new motherboard. One of the members suggested a DFI DK 790 FX
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813136044

    It looks good but in checking things out I'm getting confused on what the best chipset for use with an AMD processor.

    570
    690
    770
    780
    790 F
    790 FX
    nForce 4
    nForce 500/600/700/7000/8000

    WHEW !!!!!!!! :banghead:

    My specs:
    Biostar TA770 A2+,Amd 5000 BE, 2 Gig GSkill ram, EVGA 9800 GTX
    Sounblaster X-Fi Fatal1ty X-Treme Gamer, Win Xp
  2. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Well since 790FX is the newest version for AMD chipsets then consider it is the best. But price is going to be handy. And what part of that don't you understand for chipsets. Its chipsets....
    Vic-Dog says thanks.
  3. Vic-Dog

    Vic-Dog New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Best performing, most stable Etc...
    There must be a reason that there are so many different chipsets.
    If they were all the same we wouldn't need em.
    Everything about the board you recommended sounds awesome. I just don't understand why it would perform better than my Biostar TA770 AM2+
  4. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    The first chipsets came out and everyone consider it is the best chipset since it is the only one. Then people start to make improvements and produce more and more.
    Vic-Dog says thanks.
  5. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Vic-Dog.

    I had that DFI DK 790FX and it whines. A whole batch of them direct from DFI had faulty inductor coils, and they squealed like pigs under load at stock speeds. I moved to Intel.

    The Gigabyte 790FX boards are amazing. Get the DS5. If you don't mind the rainbow color scheme, that is.

    The ASUS Deluxe WiFi-AP 790FX board rocks too.
    Vic-Dog says thanks.
  6. Vic-Dog

    Vic-Dog New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Spearman914

    How long have you been running DFI mobos ?
  7. Vic-Dog

    Vic-Dog New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  8. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    6 Months. They rock!!!!!!!!! But the overclcoking expierence is super complicated. Over 2/3 options I haven't figured out yet so I don't recomend this to you.
    Vic-Dog says thanks.
  9. Vic-Dog

    Vic-Dog New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I'm pretty good at overclocking. I just seem to make things more complicated than they need to be because I always want to know
    why something outperforms another even though the specs look
    identical. Everything I've read is making me lean toward the DFI board.
  10. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    OK. You want something hard?
    Ok I found this in the BIOS. What does it mean RM300/PU300 Transfer Rate??? LAWL J/K
  11. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    Go with what spear says, just assume that the newest chipset is the best(with exception of nforce700series chipsets)
    If you want more info on a specific chipset, then what you need to do is get on a review site and see what info people have found on them during tests.
  12. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Heres some benchmarks on the DFI 790FX:
    http://www.ninjalane.com/display.aspx?docname=lanparty-790fx-m2r&page=7
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
  13. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    See the DFI P35 usually beats the 790FX but thats due to the Raptor 10K RPM and Watercooled System.
  14. Vic-Dog

    Vic-Dog New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    What section of the bios is that in? I found some real obscure
    messages with pm300 regarding printers! so you got me hangin on
    that one bro
  15. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    I forgot, I was messing with the bios. I think you hold alt and ctrl for 5 seconds then let go of alt but not the ctrl then click 1 and enter. If that doesn't work then I will try it later.
  16. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    Dude, it's not nice to mess with him.
  17. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,083 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Whats the AP stand for? I Think I just have the Deluxe WiFi version? Is it better?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page