1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[Help Needed] HD 7970

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by T4C Fantasy, Mar 10, 2013.

  1. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    972 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    410
    hey guys, my 7970 was working great with the accelero hybrid 7970 but one of the mini heatsinks I noticed fell off so I decided to re attach the heatsink and re liquid pro the gpu die and put the case back on, come to find that my screens get no signal from the gpu and windows wont boot if I have the power supply connectors attached to it even if I use the GTX 570 with the monitors... however if I remove the power supply connectors from the 7970 and use the 570 windows boots fine... whats this mean?
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,134 (13.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,584
    First thing I'd try would be to take the card back out and make sure none of the heatsinks are touching anything they shouldn't be. Check to make sure the Liquid Pro didn't spill over the GPU onto something else. Also make sure the cooler isn't on too tight (over-tightened).
  3. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    972 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    410
    ill do that in the morning really tied atm
  4. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    972 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    410
    nothing worked
  5. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,154 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    Check the power supply inputs ..looks like a short or no power to card Fans running?? ... Did you flip the OC's gpu1 switch?? Page 45 OC manual.. If you have power then prob some Liquid Pro on the GPU or card. I would Strip it down & give it a good cleaning both sides with some 99% alcohol then let it air dry for 24 Hr or give it a blow job with a WARM air dryer .... STill no joy then RMA
    Good luck F
  6. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    are you getting a LED code with the 7970 ?
  7. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    972 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    410
    LED code? no the monitors haven o signal on the gpu at all and if I use my 570 as the host card the monitors turn off when you get to password screen but shows windows 8 loading, only iff I remove the power supply connectors from t he 7970 will my pc fully boot, if it is a short, ive already cleaned the pcb front and back and with a que tip to get the smallest places... how can u fix shorts?
  8. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    972 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    410
    well the gpu fan turns on the fan that's plugged into the 7970 pcb so power supply is getting enough power to the port that runs the fan
  9. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    what's the led code on the mb when the doen't boot?
  10. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,154 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    Try booting to dos & see if atiflash can 'SEE' the card ... looks like the ati drivers don't like what they find when they load
  11. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    972 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    410
    yes but this is just when the 7970 is used as a secondary card, nothing at all happens when its used as main
  12. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,154 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    With the NV card as primary you will @ least have output to see if the ati card is alive enought for atiflash to see it ...if not IE 'no adapter found'... then you will need to look at the power supply chain to the card ...from the input plugs through the Vrm's to the gpu.. to do this you will need to know the read points & values ....witch are almost impossible to find .... I'v tried
  13. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    972 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    410
    [​IMG]

    the camera seems to show shit I cannot see with the naked eye, I don't see that cluster fuck of brown near the capacitors

    [​IMG]

    just cleaned it again this time without q-tip
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2013
  14. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    972 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    410
    well aftert he cleaning windows now boots up with the 7970 as secondary with all power connectors in, however also previous to the cleaning I uninstalled all amd drivers... so I dunno which fixed what, and the hd7970 is not being read at all
  15. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    If its not booting with the 7970 alone, I'm not sure if its 53 or 63 led code if your using the asrock OCF in your specs the card is dead

    So just try the 7970 alone if you haven't yet and see what the led code you get
  16. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    972 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    410
    I had a 64 error code recently
  17. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    Then I would have to say its dead.....:(

    When you notice the small hs fell off was it working fine before ?
  18. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    972 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    410
    yea it was fine

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page