1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help needed : Original bios / Club3D 6950 Coolstream

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by smaraux, Oct 25, 2013.

  1. smaraux New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    13 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Hello,

    I bought this graphic card, club 3D 6950 Coolstream, which was booting correctly.
    I tried to unlock 6970 shaders, and cannot put my hands back on original BIOS.

    I think I messed up things with AtiWinFlash, including bios 2.

    I already tried switch 1 & 2 for bios, and also tried techpowerup bios ..._1.rom found on database, which seemed original one.

    Nothing at all allowed me to boot on the GPU, I can only use my IGP.

    I flashed on windows, then gave a try to atiflash on dos boot disk too.

    On windows, my card is recognized as VGA standard. If i try to put catalyst drivers, i end up after several reboots at a login screen going black and blocking computer.

    card model number CGAX69548F
    motherboard : z77 ASRock pro 3 with UEFI
    win7 64 bits

    Additionaly it seemd that my PCI E 16x is also broken :/ Even if I always manipulate with SPU switched off and after a power-on call to draw remaining electricity. But i can still access it with PCI-e 4x

    To sum up, major problem is that I cannot boot on this GPU from start, and other one is that driver cannot be installed correctly on it.
  2. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,566 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    641
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Welcome to TPU

    General Note
    the image requires being opened in RBE and shaders unlocking; saying this it has little return over and above overclocking with Afterburner.

    Important Question
    What/Why is switch position #2 damaged or over written, what happened?
    Note: switch position #2 is the reserve default vbios image to help avoid recovery issues


    vga card installed in top PCIe slot and vbios switch in position #2
    Use a bootable flash drive at the dos prompt run atiflash Type the following:

    atiflash -ai 0 [check position of the vga card; this may be at position 0 or 1 depending on the igp]
    atiflash -s 0 C6950Old.rom [may require 0 changing to 1 dependent on the position of the vga card]

    a file image will be saved to the flash drive

    zip the new file image and upload/attach it

    **Note: Uninstall AMD Catalyst Drivers before flashing at a DOS Prompt

    Edit: copy of original vbios image here

    *If able to find a copy of the original vbios image: look here

    *Advanced recovery from Write Protect look here

    atb (all the best)

    Law-II
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2013
    smaraux says thanks.
  3. smaraux New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    13 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Thanks a lot.

    For position 2, I forgot to set it back after a recovery reboot and trying another flashing.
    I guess I've done some wrong things, including not removing AMD drivers while trying these flashes.

    What made me think i am in a bad situation is that I already flashed _1.rom to switch 1 but did not recover BIOS boot :/ Is there anything to do with UEFI bioses ?
  4. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,566 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    641
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    What command line was used [was vbios image force flashed]

    Driver only need to be uninstalled before using atiflash at a DOS prompt
    Driver need to be reinstalled after flashing with atiwinflash

    I do not know: should still be able to recover the vga card using the original image


    I do not know: should still be able to recover the vga card using the original image

    Use a bootable flash drive with atiflash at a DOS prompt and type the following:

    atiflash -a 0

    atiflash -ai 0

    0=zero *If booting from an igp may need to change the 0 to 1 to see vga adapter information/error messages

    What information is shown on screen?

    atb

    Law-II
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2013
    smaraux says thanks.
  5. smaraux New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    13 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    0. ATIMan uninstaller :

    Went OK on automatic and extreme mode after reboot.
    BUT warned about a missing VGA driver, and prompt to install a driver before rebooting
    (don't know were log is stored for a copy).
    I had no clue of what was that, and a forum search showed most guys rebooting and going fine, and so I did.

    1. Reboot
    2. atiflash -ai output (pre-flash):

    Adapter 0 (BN=01, DN=00, PCIID=67191002, SSID=23071787)
    Asic Family : Cayman
    Flash Type : M25P10/C (128 KB)
    Product Name : CAYMAN PRO 2G 64x32 B7316LBC.HHZ 2011
    Bios Config File : R99FB.bin
    Bios P/N : 113-R99FA-001 (I tried a few other roms before)
    Bios Version : 013.011.000.002.000000
    Bios Data : 03/16/11 01:46

    3. atiflash -unlockrom 0
    -> rom unlocked

    4. atiflash -f -p 0 original.rom (the _1 rom prompted)
    Old SSID: 2307
    New SSID: 2307
    Old P/N: 113-R99FA-001
    New P/N: 113-101227-J01
    Old DevideID: 6719
    New DevideID: 6719
    Old Product Name: CAYMAN PRO 2G 64x32 B7316LBC.HHZ 2011

    New Product Name: CAYMAN PRO 2G 64x32 B7C27BLA.HHZ

    Old BIOS Version: 013.011.000.002.000000
    New BIOS Version: 013.011.000.002.000000
    Flash type: M25P10/c
    20000/20000h bytes programmed
    20000/20000h bytes verified

    Restart system to Complete VBIOS update

    5. boot & reinstalled driver
    -> in device manager, HD 6900 shows with warning panel
    Details : windows cannot verify the digital signature of a requested driver... (Code 52)
    (in french)

    I tried reinstall ccc again on top -> NOK (same mssage)
    reboot -> NOK (same mssage)

    I tried disabling UAC and signature verification for whole system (Bcdedit.exe /set nointegritychecks ON) -> NOK (same mssage)

    Do you think I will have to go through BIOS hard mod ?

    Seems that the BIOS has effectively been flashed, when dumped with ATIWinFLash and seen in RBE that shows the correct version 113-101227-J01.

    GPU-Z shows invalid values, such as :
    ROPS / TMU 65024/0,
    shaders 0/0,
    Memory Size 4294967295 MB
    driver atiumdag 12.152.0.0 / win 7 64
    GPU clock 0 MHz
    Defaut clock 0 MHz
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2013
  6. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,566 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    641
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    No: looks like the flash is fine assuming "Old Product Name: CAYMAN PRO 2G 64x32 B7316LBC.HHZ 2011" this is the vbios image that stopped the system from booting

    Drivers need to be deep cleaned

    I think the Drive / ccc control panel is confused "version conflict" of sorts, you may wish to skip the following as there are other ways of cleaning ccc drivers out; there is a sticky at the top of the Graphics Cards page on TPU

    However this is the method I use. (hope it helps)

    First things first; set a restore point and back-up any files and download *Driversweeper v_2.1.0 [*Mirror 7 at the bottom of the page]

    follow the instructions very carefully and all will be well;

    go to windows control panel \ add and remove programs \ uninstall catalyst driver (choose express uninstall)

    reboot

    enter windows safe mode (press F8) and run Driversweeper v_2.1.0 (highlite driversweeper, press right mouse button- bring up menu run DS in administrator mode) select ATI only in DS and analyse then delete

    NOTE when it ask you if you want to restart the system DONT - instead open control panel and go to

    Device Manager / Display Adapters (open this) you should be able to see a vga card installed - highlight press right mouse button - will open a sub menu -you want uninstall - when the system asks you to restart DONT - Then open control panel, device manager, select view/show hidden devices/Non-Plug and play Drivers/highlight amdkmdag and press right mouse button to bring up a sub menu/select uninstall (When it ask you to restart DONT;- select No option to restart later

    do not close DS leave it open on the desk top

    this next step has risk's involved

    follow the instructions very carefully and all will be well.

    Open Regedit

    goto

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER \Software\ATI and delete the ATI folder

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \SOFTWARE\ATI and delete the ATI folder

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \SOFTWARE\ATI Technologies and delete the ATI Technologies folder

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\ATI and delete the ATI folder

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\ATI and delete the ATI Technologies folder

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\Class\ (you will see lots of folders we need the thirteenth (13) folder down from "Class" - open the folder and you will see 0000 delete this folder and any others 0001,0002 Note the Properties folder is read only and protected leave this as it is.

    close up all the sub folders and move on to

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet002\Control\Class\ (you will see lots of folders we need the thirteenth (13) folder down from "Class" - open the folder and you will see 0000 delete this folder and any others 0001,0002 Note the Properties folder is read only and protected leave this as it is

    close up all the sub folders and move on to

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\ (you will see lots of folders we need the thirteenth (13) folder down from "Class" - open the folder and you will see 0000 delete this folder and any others 0001,0002 Note the Properties folder is read only and protected leave this as it is

    (you only need to check CCS there should be no entries in the thirteenth folder other than properties)

    close up all the sub folders and move on to

    HKEY_USERS \.DEFAULT\Software\ATI and delete the ATI folder

    -Close Regedit

    next go back to the driversweeper software (Do you want to reboot screen) and select ok

    -Reboot - allow windows to start up and find a vga driver

    -then install the latest AMD catalyst Drivers from their web site or use drivers that you know work well

    Edit: code52 is a windows driver error

    atb

    Law-II
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2013
    smaraux says thanks.
  7. smaraux New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    13 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Thanks for taking some of your time to answer me since beginning.

    Additionnally, I did not mention that the card still doesn't boot (i am on IGP).
    That's the point that afraid me most.
  8. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,566 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    641
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Is this the vbios image that stopped the card from booting?

    What # numbers appear on the back of the card make and model [*do not provide serial number this is not required]; confirm this is the vga card or provide link to the manufactures web site

    [reassign vga card as primary boot in motherboard bios and attached monitor]

    are able to see mobo bios screen?

    are unable to see windows login?

    or windows login freezes?


    Read here

    Uninstall all catalyst drivers

    reflash the card at a DOS prompt

    atb

    Law-II
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2013
    smaraux says thanks.
  9. smaraux New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    13 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I switched back to GPU (PCI Express) as primary in MB BIOS and moved HDMI cable to GPU.
    At boot, I have no display at all (no BIOS displayed).

    Previous vBios was not the first one to make it unbootable.

    The first one was one with 6970 shaders activated (I don't have exact reference here).

    Being at work i ll look at the P/N when i ll be back home.
    The card model number is CGAX69548F behind the card (I already checked this). I kind of remember that RB99F was on a reference or number too on the PCB (not sure though).

    As my main PCI Express is not working anymore (does not always see the card in mb BIOS), I suspect something was physically damaged on the card one of the times I removed it after bad flash, to force boot on IGP :/

    This would be the first time I electrically damage something, as I always manipulate computer parts with PSU switched off and fake start to empty capacitors, after grounding me, and then manipulate with care. (I am quite used to manipulating computer parts otherwise)
  10. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,566 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    641
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Is this in both dual bios switch position #1 & #2?

    flash both positions and then test card in another system/pc

    atb

    Law-II
    smaraux says thanks.
  11. smaraux New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    13 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I already flashed both BIOSes as it won't boot on both.
    I 'll have a test on another computer I have at home to validate that the GPU is the issue.
    This 6950 is getting closer to the bin I think
  12. smaraux New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    13 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I just tried on another computer : no display, since switched on.

    I don't have any bios "beep" either for troubleshooting (should hear 1 long and 2 shorts for VGA default, which is the case if the card lacks 1 PCI-E).

    Keyboard stays "interactive" so computer does not seem to hang, just no display output on HDMI from the 6950.

    On windows on my main computer, can't get rid of "code 52" error on "HD6900 graphic card" , or a "standard VGA display" not working.
  13. smaraux New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    13 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Additional information :

    My card model number is CGAX-69548F.
    PCB version is : LF R99F ver 1.0, with

    [ ] 512 M
    [ ] 1G
    [X] 2G

    after.
  14. smaraux New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    13 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    A last up if anyone knows a matching bios for this LF R99F PCB.
    I'll try some Powercolor' ones, which seem identical.
  15. smaraux New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    13 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Finally got a working vBios \o/ was oldest powercolor / club3D (it s the same) from list.
    I tried a lot of them, but my PCI-E may have burnt before I tried this one

    The one I use has "Hamilton" in the name for instance, it is the oldest one.
    It is also as powercolor bios from date 2010-11-23 18:33:00

    I am now struggling to get the driver installed back correctly (some ati...dll error at loading), but will keep in touch
    Law-II says thanks.
  16. smaraux New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    13 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    It was a short term happiness : can't manage to get drivers working.

    Seems that catalyst / atiadlxx.dll can't recognize the card as a valid amd card.
    Device manager says that driver is not compatible with this device :/

    At windows start, warning on atiadlxx.dll that can't start (incompatible platform)
    atiadlxx.dll is from 8th october, 2013

    I tried downloading 13.9 twice, sweeping install with amd uninstaller once, and drivers sweeper the other time, I don't think this is a corrupted driver then.

    Graphic card is seen as "compatible VGA video controller" and driver cannot be started.

    Can it still be a bad bios, and should I try the whole remaining list of BIOSes ?
  17. smaraux New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    13 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2013
  18. smaraux New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    13 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Finally managed to get it working vBios + drivers !

    I had to remove catalyst center,
    boot in safe mode,
    uninstall graphic card in device manager (check uninstall drivers)
    use driver sweeper / amd display
    reboot as prompted and directly go again in safe mode
    ccleaner (registry) twice to have total clean up.
    Install driver FROM SAFE MODE via device manager / select folder of ".../amd/support"
    reboot

    Back in normal boot :
    Catalyst center was not installed so I installed it again completely. First time it did not have all the components for some reasons, so I had to uninstall and reinstall it. That took maybe one or two steps to get it OK, but driver was fine all the way from safe mode install.

    Big thanks to Law-II
    Law-II says thanks.
  19. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,566 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    641
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Well done; give yourself a pat on the back :toast:

    atb

    Law-II

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page