1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help needed with some network configuration.

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Lazzer408, Oct 31, 2012.

  1. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Illinois
    The tennent upstairs will be connecting through my internet connection and I need a way to cap his bandwidth. I've flashed a WRT160n with DDWRT v24 to give him his own AP to connect to. I was hoping I could cap his bandwidth but it looks like the DDWRT firmware will only allow me to give priority to someone but not take it away.

    Anyone played with this before?
     
  2. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,016 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    678
    is he on a guest network?
     
  3. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,223 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,697
    use QoS?
     
  4. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Illinois

    Attached Files:

  5. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,441 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,623
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
  6. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,239 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,167
    Location:
    Oregon
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2012
  7. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Illinois
    I found that the upload and download caps will work for what I'm doing. I have 10 devices on my network that I would have to configure if they plugged into this router so I'll just cap the WAN on it since he's the only one connecting to it. It's WAN port plugs into my main router's hub so it'll work that way for now. I have to use 3 routers to make this work the way I want but it's cheap this way.
     
  8. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Illinois
    Here's the pile of gear I'm using.

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  9. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,392 (4.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,715
    routers auto split bandwidth depending on how many devices are connected, you have have to set a specific IP on the computer and limit the sharing to that IP.
     
  10. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,239 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,167
    Location:
    Oregon

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page