1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

help needed! xp freezes with yellow vertical lines monitor

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by pokhim, Jan 8, 2007.

  1. pokhim New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So i just upgraded my system:

    anthlon 754, 3200 processor
    foxconn winfast motherboard 6150k8ma.
    2sata hdd
    1 ide hdd
    HIPER HPU-4K580-MK 580W ATX PSU

    bit sure if this info is ok. please ask if you want more.

    winxp sometimes freezes and shows yellow vertical lines down the monitor. i have reinstalled xp on my system and formatted the other hdd's so i dont think its virus related. whenever it happens i need to reboot. this is really annoying and i need it to stop. please help.

    pok
     
  2. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    what is your graphics card? its not overheating(gpu) is it?

    i guess your system is not oc'd (cpu/gpu)?
     
  3. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,981 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    i think it's onboard, but i could be wrong, i never heard of a onboard gpu overheating :s
     
  4. pokhim New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    so i'm quite new at the this lingo, my mobo comes with graphics already installed i dont have a seperate graphics card does that mean cpu? if you mean overclocked by oc'd then i'm not sure. how do i find that out?
     
  5. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Have you even opened your PC yet?
     
  6. ATIonion New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,015 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    if this mobo is new...i would suggest maybe doing a RMA....

    sounds like the onboard graphics chip is bad....


    also......if you put this system together yourself, i have to ask how you installed your 3200+ to the mobo...what thermal paste was used how was is applied and what cooling system are you using..
     
  7. pokhim New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    arctic cooler, spread on a thin coating, excellent contact. my psu comes with a 120mm fan and the processor fan is working well i dont have the other fans plugged i could have 3 or 4 more going if i wanted. i dont think its overheating. you sure its a graphics problem the yellow lines are quite faint. do you know of any software where i could monitor my chip temp?
     
  8. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,981 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    everest
    pcwizard
    speedfan
    etc.

    can you post your full system specs inlcluding cooling?
     
  9. ATIonion New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,015 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0


    i'm not sure of anything...lol...


    but since your video is effected its just a good guess....have you tried to update the mobo drivers from the foxconn web site....or maybe update atleast your on board 6150 graphics chip...In the end it sounds more like something related to your video.....



    edit:: have you video card of anykind that you could install on this mobo to test....if you do and everything works fine then you will know that it is most likely the on board video...

    local pc shops around here usually have older video cards for $10...nothing you would use to game, but something you can use to test systems with....maybe you could find one around your town...
     
  10. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Could be a contact problem or a pin in your monitor hookup. Also, if it freezes at the XP splash screen, check your bios and see if it is set to halt on certain errors. If it is, that could really help us pinpoint your problem and fix it (provided we can).
     
  11. pokhim New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    @pt i downloaded pc wizard as the others wouldnt work for me. not sure what you want from it tho. one of my hdd is runnning at 50celcius which pc wizard marks with a flame. what can i give you and where can i find it?

    @ationion i do have a video card somewhere, i took it out when my last mobo went capoot. i dont have it with me tho its in london and i'm in manchester. also could you help me find the updates for my bios please and my graphics chip it been on my to do list but i cant find it.

    @wareagle the hook up is fine, my other monitor had the same problem. and i dont get the freeze on the splash screen.
     
  12. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,981 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    50ºc holy sh^t what do you have?
    a raptor?
     
  13. pokhim New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    no i have a maxtor, a seagate and another maxtor i think. is 50 to hot?
     
  14. ATIonion New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,015 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    that could be your problem...however what tool are you using to detect this temp.?


    sometimes monitors won't always read right....what looks to be a HDD could be something else..


    but if it is at 50c then its more could be an overheating problem causing your system to freeze....but im not sure if that would explain the yellow lines you get when it does..my maxtor only gets upto 33c and i thought that was a bit high....
     
  15. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,981 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    can you take a pic of the inside of your case?
     
  16. pokhim New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yeah i will, but i'll do it tomoz its getting late i need to sleep. how do you upload a pic on this thread, i'll also find for sure what hdd i have by going into the bios.
     
  17. ATIonion New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,015 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    this is how...or atleast one way to do it...


    [​IMG]
     
  18. pokhim New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    oh yeah thanks. well the hdd is hot to touch, so it could be that. i think i'll link up another one of the fans and i'll post a pic tomoz
     
  19. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,981 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    no pron on that side bar? :p
     
  20. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    50*C = premature death to HDD.

    I've never seen a HDD get that hot. Get some cooling fans and some cable management and show us some pics of your system. We need to check how everything is laid out before we can make assumptions.
     
  21. pokhim New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    so you think its running quite hot then. i had a look at some pics of your guys machines and they look pretty awesome, how'd you get to hide all those cables? i dont think mine look to bad but thats for you to decide.

    i dont have any halt on my bios settings and i tried some cable management only to discover that one of my hdd is now not being detected. i took out some cables and put them back in again so i might have to load on hd then boot the load another the boot then load the final one and boot. what do you think?
     
  22. pokhim New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    pic

    [​IMG]
     
  23. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,027 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,221
    Location:
    Washington, US
    I have a Maxtor as well. Speedfan reports it to be running at 50c. It's just bad cooling (although my Seagates run colder to the touch. nVidia RAID doesn't let me see S.M.A.R.T. temperatures, so I'm not sure how hot they are).
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,981 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    your hdd in the middle is probably frying ;)
     
  25. pokhim New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yeah it feels hot, any ideas of where or how to move it. i dont think any amount of fans is going to solve the problem
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page