1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HELP no video signal to monitor!

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by snyderrich, Sep 2, 2009.

  1. snyderrich

    snyderrich New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    29 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Help please i just finished building a new pc
    AMD phenom2x3 720
    gigabyte ma790x mobo
    saphire hd4850 1gb
    OCZ 2x2gb ram
    rosewill green 700w PSU
    my old HDD
    my old dvdrw


    ok I got everything together and it all powers up but no signal to my monitor.Gateway lcd.
    I have the monitor hooked up to the vid card at the crt connection .
    mobo light comes on, vidcard light comes on, cpu fan and case fans all turn on.
    HELP ME PLEASE!!!!:eek:
     
  2. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Ok well do your mouse and keyboard lights turn on? Does the computer fully get to windows / bios / etc?
     
  3. snyderrich

    snyderrich New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    29 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    No light on kboard...just looked and didnt have the atx 2x4 plugged in:cry:
     
  4. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,240 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,033
    I just did a new build for a friend and the 1st time i hit the button to power up the rig the gpu's lights kept lighting up and going out.... it took almost 60seconds for the gpu lights to go out and .... BANG!!!! she fired up into the bios.... does the mobo have on-board vid? if so maybe give it a bit to configure your new build ;)
     
  5. snyderrich

    snyderrich New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    29 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok plugged in the 2x4 and now getting a stuttered beep..at least it does something now.
    still no signal, but was using an old crt monitor..maybe thats the prob. will look at the beep code section in manual for mobo
    but its not a series of beeps it just sorta stutters for the length of a beep if you catch my drift.
     
  6. ryanomac

    ryanomac New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Arkansas
    I kinda had the same problem with my build. If my monitor isnt on when the POST completes it just shows no signal. I then have to power the system off and back on and everything is fine.
     
  7. snyderrich

    snyderrich New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    29 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    SHAZAM...It LIVES
    on it right now and lovin it!
    WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
    YYYYYYYYYYYYY faster than my dell dime 3000!
    Thanx to these forums anyone can buils a pc in a day!
    BIG THANX TO ALL HERE!
     
  8. snyderrich

    snyderrich New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    29 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Even got to unlock the 4th core..it was sooooooo easy. and this is my first build ever!
    Gigabyte gama790xud4p...Phenom iix3(nowx4)
    went into bios advanced settings(press cttrl+F1 at bios screen) MIT something, set to hybrid and auto. and whamo! a 4 core for the price of 3!! :rockout:
    The thing is I learned all of this in about 2 months.
    That's starting from ZERO knowledge about building, to knowing enough now that i have a little confidence now.
    And ALL thanx th these types of forums!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page