1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[Help] Nvidia Geforce FX 5200 256mb

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by yoh012, Jun 11, 2013.

  1. yoh012 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    13 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Computer Specs
    Dell Dimension 4600
    Intel Pentium 4 2.40ghz
    OS: Windows XP SP3
    Ram: 1gb
    Video Card: Nvidia Geforce FX 5200 256mb
    Current Driver: 91.31

    Whenever i try to install or update my driver i have an error "The Nvidia Setup Couldnot locate any drivers that are compatible with your current hardware. Setup will now exit."

    i have used driver sweeper for unintalling drivers.
    i have used driver robot, driver reviver, driveragent for searching my driver but i couldn't be found.
    i also used drivers from the nvidea website. i tried intalling 175.19 which i read that is latest compatible driver for my video card but i always get this error.

    i also have problems with newly intalled games which i know that is compatible to my computer but it couldn't be run maybe due to the video card.

    here is my screen shot from GPU-Z
    i noticed some irregularity but im not sure about it..

    please help me :banghead::banghead::banghead:
     

    Attached Files:

  2. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,922 (5.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    Maybe try some older drivers, that card is old as the hills and was most likely forgotten as the devs wrote later drivers.
     
    yoh012 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,396 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    568
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Though I cant remember the driver version I've got a similar system on win7 using that card type so its possible still ,as hat says try an older driver
     
    yoh012 says thanks.
  4. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,621 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,492
    This error message is likely due to the proprietary nature of Dell machines (BIOSes, etc...)

    I'm not sure about NVidia cards but there was a utility for ATI that allowed later drivers to be installed on a Dell (forgot the name of it?). I was able to use it to successfully install a driver newer than the last Dell supported one on an old laptop.
    *Note- I had the same/similar message as you prior to using the ATI utility

    Dell often only supports their machines for a couple of years, leaving you stuck w/o an upgrade option- searching their site for the lastest available driver for the machine may be your only option.... However, a search through the Dell community/support forum may reveal a solution for your particular machine and card.
     
    yoh012 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. yoh012 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    13 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks you for this info is there a way that i could fix this problem?
     
  6. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,846 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,393
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I have Gainward Fx 5200 card around here somewhere. When I was running it I used, if I remember correctly the 175. drivers.
     
    yoh012 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. yoh012 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    13 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i have also tried that driver but i got same error what could be the problem?
     
  8. TC-man

    TC-man

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    348 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi,

    You can try the following:

    - Go to motherboard's bios, and try to find a setting that's called "AGP aperture size"; if there's such option, set it to 64MB or 128MB;
    - Install AGP driver for the motherboard, usually it's included in the motherboard driver.
    - make sure you are downloading and using the Windows XP x86 drivers, and not the Windows XP x64 driver (or Vista/7 driver).
    - and try out the infamous modified drivers that's called "Omega driver" which worked nicely for all my past Geforce videocards. You can get it here.
     
    yoh012 says thanks.
  9. Nailezs

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    863 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    Oh wow, i remember those drivers! Is he still around??
     
  10. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Indeed that card is ancient (and I've got two of them :D ) so nvidia aren't supporting it in any recent driver (not for a few years now).

    To get the latest driver that works for it, go to www.geforce.com and use the dropdown lists to select your card. You'll then be able to download the latest driver that supports that card.
     
    yoh012 says thanks.
  11. yoh012 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    13 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    by the way what is agp aperture size?
    is it ok to set the agp aperture size to 64MB or 128MB even though the Video Card is 256MB?
    thanks for the link sir ill try this
     
  12. yoh012 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    13 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    actually i tried to intall 175.19 but i still got the same errors
     
  13. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,846 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,393
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Have you tried installing it as a standard vga adapter first before install the Nvidia drivers?
     
    yoh012 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Shame.

    I wonder if perhaps it's because the card is AGP? If I remember correctly, there's something called a GART driver for an AGP mobo chipset which you might need to install first?
     
  15. yoh012 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    13 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    how to do that sir? would you mind giving me some instructions?
     
  16. yoh012 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    13 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    could you give me some link sir. i dont actually get it. do i need to update my mobo chipset first? and i dont know what kind of mobo im using right now. thats why i dont know how to find my mobo chipset drivers.
     
  17. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    With a prebuilt PC like that, it's not always clear which chipset driver to download from Intel's website, or may not be available.

    Anyway, I looked up your model on Dell's website and came up with the link below.

    On that page, it has several blue tabs. Click the Drivers and Downloads tab and then select chipset and download it from there. It's pretty old and dated 2003, but it might well work for you. There might be a more up to date on Intel's website possibly, but stick with this now.

    It's also got an entry called Video on there. Click it and select the FX 5200 entry, which is someway down and dated 2004.

    Perhaps the combination of these two drivers will get you up and running? Let us know. :)


    http://www.dell.com/support/troubleshooting/us/en/19/Product/dimension-4600
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2013
  18. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,414 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,031
    Your card isn't an actual FX 5200. It's an OEM rebranded MX 4000. You can try the following. They are really old drivers, but they are the latest WHQL I can find on Nvidia's site that officially support the NV18.

    Download the 93.71 ForceWare driver and run it once. It will fail.

    Now download this inf file, unpack it and place it in C:\NVIDIA\Win2KXP\93.71 click yes to overwrite.

    Then run setup.exe in that folder.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 15, 2013
    yoh012 says thanks.
  19. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    That's just so typical of nvidia and amd. Hopefully, he's got two solutions to choose from now.
     
  20. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,581 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Australia
    Yep it sure is, id have to agree.

    On a side note, who's the girl in your avatar qubit? :D
     
  21. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    The girl? Now that would be telling... ;)

    Oh, ok then, it's Moran Atias. :) Hot, isn't she?
     
    Melvis says thanks.
  22. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,581 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Australia
    Why yes, yes she is ;)

    Omg she is like 4 days older then me :eek: WIN!! :laugh:
     
    qubit says thanks.
  23. yoh012 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    13 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thanks sir ill try this later and ill give some feed backs :) if this is isn't the actual fx 5200 it means that this video card doesn't support any pixel shaders?
     
  24. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,414 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,031
    Two pixel shaders. There's no vertex shaders. Did you get this to work?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page