1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

help oc deneb 940

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Darkgundam111, Sep 12, 2011.

  1. Darkgundam111 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    627 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    In order to increase the FSB higher I have to decrease the NB freq and the ram bandwidth right? Any other things that would help me?

    NB freq 2000
    CPU multi 14.5
    FSB 225
    Ram 375 (I know i can't go higher than 400, or it will bsod before loading up windows)
    CPUv 1.350
  2. Fatal

    Fatal

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    732 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    Golden, Colorado
    How come you want to raise your FSB is this with the stock cooler?
  3. Darkgundam111 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    627 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    nah not stock its a OCZ vendetta. I was assuming raising the FSB yields a better overall performance?
  4. Fatal

    Fatal

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    732 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    Golden, Colorado
  5. Darkgundam111 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    627 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    i see. i think im just gonna try to get it up to 3.5 with a good fsb.

    2 questions on the top of my head:

    1. does having a high fsb require more CPU voltage vs a high multiplier and low fsb?

    2. should I increase my timings to get higher bandwidth on my ram? (do i gain more with like 1000+ mhz and 5-5-5-15 vs 800 4-4-4-12)

    EDIT:

    i got it to 3480mhz with a 240 fsb. my ram is at exactly 800mhz lol. i know for a fact with the timings 4-4-4-12 that I cannot go any higher than 800mhz. but I am not sure if I should increase the timings to get a higher bandwidth since I am overclocking.
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2011
  6. Fatal

    Fatal

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    732 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    Golden, Colorado
    1. With my 940 it seemed I needed a bit more than when I clocked the multiplier.
    2. That's a toss up those speeds should be on par with each other far as performance. When I switched to 1066 5-5-5-15 from 800 4-4-4-12 I could barely tell the difference. You will have to run some benchmarks to see. I was not able to clock my 800 memory higher than 900 I will have to boot my other computer see what its running at now.
    Darkgundam111 says thanks.
  7. Darkgundam111 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    627 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    oh i see. I just faintly remember reading something about AMD performs better with tighter timings rather than bandwidth. but definitely gonna toy around with the ram just to see and then go about a little higher with the OC and see. but the max i want to go to is probably 3600 seeing that I don't want to get a nicer cooler.

    Edit:
    Aww lame it didnt pass the stress test. Had a bsod :( prolly have to up the voltage or it might be the ram is too close to the 400
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2011
  8. Fatal

    Fatal

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    732 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    Golden, Colorado
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2011
    Darkgundam111 says thanks.
  9. Darkgundam111 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    627 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Oh cool. What i hate about my ram is that from what other people say, they are not that great at getting to the 1000's area. But i will have to tinker with that. Thanks for all the info, very useful. And that 3600 is very appealing ;)

    One last question, what are your temps and what cooler are you using? I notice that the core voltage is bumped quite a bit to 1.456, which seems to be needed for this 940 chip.


    edit:
    giving up a bit on trying to up the FSB, seems quite tough with this chip. my bro's deneb 945 oc sooo freakin easy!
    I probably need a better cooler if i am to go 3600 because when i tried it, the temps were getting close to 56C and the fan was quite noisy, so I'm sticking to 3500 right now (using multipliers only) and then when i see a good cooler for sale and pick it up, ill consider trying for it again. I believe something to do with the voltage, seems this chip needs tons just to do some good oc.
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2011
  10. Fatal

    Fatal

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    732 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    Golden, Colorado
    Darkgundam111 says thanks.
  11. Darkgundam111 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    627 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Thats still nice. I wouldnt mind getting that haha. Odd tho i have been gettin quite some bsod even with the old oc settings that used to work.
  12. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,762 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,607
    My 940 ran brilliantly at FSB 227, multi at 16, with stock volts. This put the RAM at 908. It's a good clocker, and will do 3.8 solid like a rock with just multi and volts at 1.44. It was a hot bugger, though, but would top out around 52 with my ziggy 963, which is almost exactly like your Vendetta. I would suggest a combo of FSB and multi for best clock with the 940.
    Darkgundam111 says thanks.
  13. Darkgundam111 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    627 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    very cool. a few questions for you tho MT Alex, is the stock volts 1.325? i forgot XD
    also did you have to up any other voltages or anything such as the NB or stuff like that? and how was your NB freq?
  14. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,762 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,607
    I'm almost positive that stock volts are supposed to be 1.35. The funny thing about my chip is that, even at stock, it would show up on CPU-Z at 1.41v, but others would show 1.35. Who knows, 1.35 is 1.4 rounded up.:)

    As far as anything else, I never had to mess with any other voltages or frequencies. This was on a Gigabyte GA-MA78GM US2H.
    Darkgundam111 says thanks.
  15. Darkgundam111 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    627 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    very nice. thanks for that info, i'm gonna try to test those out and see from there :)
  16. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,762 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,607
    Any progress?
  17. Darkgundam111 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    627 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    After a lot of testing I was unable to use the stock voltage to do any good overclocking (1.350 v) so I tried the 1.4125v and so far have only been able to get it to 235 fsb with 15.5 multi giving me 3525Mhz. not sure why this chip wants so much voltage just for some oc compared to my bro's deneb 945 :(

    going to test a higher fsb later tonight and see what i can get. I believe going to 3600Mhz+ requires another jump in voltage which I am not sure if i can do with this current cooler.

    edit:
    i can't use CnQ right? seems like i get bsod eventually when i try to turn it on so ill test it without and see.
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2011
  18. LightningJR

    LightningJR

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    260 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    People have mixed results when using CnQ when overclocking. I don't use it. Max vcore I would use to OC is 1.55v. Your temps shouldn't go above 55-60C If it does there's no more OCing headroom. It's unfortunate but you just may not have the best overclocker. I have an Athlon II x3 440 @ 3.0Ghz that I was lucky to unlock the 4th core but requires 1.55v to get a stable 3.6Ghz and temps get to ~53C using a CM Hyper 212+....
    Darkgundam111 says thanks.
  19. Darkgundam111 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    627 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    wow thats a nice one you got! thanks for the info as well. My temps are around 53C tops with 3582mhz (1.41v) so i guess i got a little bit of room left on this cooler to reach 3600. sucks tho I can't use CnQ it seems after testing. I'd like to get the fsb to around 240 and then bump the multi up from there and then i'll be content haha.
  20. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,762 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,607
    Darkgundam111 says thanks.
  21. Darkgundam111 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    627 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    very cool app, thanks!
  22. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Just giving some insight; From my own personal experience you have to obtain a good matching NB clock to ram bandwidth ratio. Say 1066 cl5 performs well with at least 2.4Nb, whereas 800 cl4 would perform just as good but at stock 2nb. In other words, if you have a chip with a good strong IMC and high bandwidth ram you would be better of running the higher bandwidth with little looser timings.

    EDIT
    Of course anything would work out well with a higher NB clock. Just to keep that in mind.
    MT Alex and Darkgundam111 say thanks.
  23. Darkgundam111 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    627 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    great info thanks :) makes good sense too when i think about it.
  24. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Your welcome. Here are some numbers for you if you wish to take a look:
    [​IMG]

    As you can see timings matter but only if you have a weak IMC that can't overclock NB that well.
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2011
    LightningJR and Darkgundam111 say thanks.
  25. LightningJR

    LightningJR

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    260 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Great information. I didn't know overclocking the NB had such a big effect on memory bandwidth. I'll be overclocking my NB to it's max next ;) What do you think a good temp should be? I hit 53C on my NB and had no issues.. Is there a standard out there? :cool:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page