1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

HELP!!! On the road for business trip and laptop dying!!!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Guttboy, May 14, 2007.

  1. Guttboy

    Guttboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    291 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Colorado
    Hi Everyone!

    I am in dire straits right now. Unfortunately I do not have access to my Windows XP disk and I am not going to have access to it for 2 weeks as Im on a business trip. My computer is getting a blue screen of death with this message in the white text on the blue screen...

    PAGE_FAULT_IN_A_NONPAGED_AREA

    Then below it says....

    STOP: 0X00000050 (0XBAD0B148,0X00000000,0X805BA00F,0X00000002)

    If anyone could let me know what is going on and a possible fix that would be great. I have 5gb HDD space and I will try to burn some stuff to DVD and see if that is the problem but I have attempted twice and I get the BSD....

    PLEASE HELP!!!! I have a presentation tomorrow evening!

    Thanks!!!!!!!
  2. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Is it doing this at startup or during you working?
  3. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    perhaps memory?
  4. Guttboy

    Guttboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    291 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Colorado
    I am working when this happens....starts up fine
  5. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    i have had a problem like this in our desktop. you should do the following: download hd smart(or anything that reads SMART) and make sure the smart readings are ok. if so then it's memory i think, but we never did anything. if there is no problem with the hd, then just burn your presentation, and use someone else's laptop (don't want your presentation to die while you're presenting it XD). good luck with your trip man.
  6. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
  7. Guttboy

    Guttboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    291 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Colorado
    Not that this is the case but I went to the MS website and my error matched something for a malware rootkit bad thingy...LOL....

    I am trying to see if this is indeed the case then I am going to attack the tests for the computer....

    Any recommendations for free software to scan?

    BTW...I did burn the presentation to DVD but until I can confirm its safe then I may not be able to run it on another computer. I cant chance infecting another computer if this is the case.

    However, knock on wood, I have NEVER received a virus/trojan etc EVER...Im pretty anal about that stuff so if it got on the computer I have no idea how!

    Any other thoughts?????

    Thanks
  8. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,743 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    198
    Location:
    Norway
    do you get "cannot read form 2x000x0010x" something in windows? then you might want to change to some more branded RAM, i can recommend OCZ's SO-DIMM, good quality!
  9. Guttboy

    Guttboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    291 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Colorado
    No...I wrote what I got for the message. Doing a full scan again with all my ad/spy/antivirus and the MS mal software removal tool.

    Maybe it is ram....dont know....system has been stable for about an hour now.

    Does anyone think that perhaps I didnt have enough free space on the HDD? I only had 5.8 GB free I think.

    Thanks
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,983 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,390
    that error is caused by data corruption.

    Its either bad memory, or something corrupt on the hard drive. (dropping the laptop or a virus can cause that)

    If you want to virus scan it, use the nod32 trial. If you want to test the ram, use memtest - its a bootable CD.

    As for the hard drive, run chkdsk to see if anythings wrong with it.

    oh and 5.8GB is fine, only worry if its less than 1GB.
  11. Guttboy

    Guttboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    291 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Colorado
    Sorry for the basic questions on this but just where do I run memtest from? and chkdsk...are these just run from the Run command???? Is there a built in windows function for this?
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,983 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,390
    start-> run -> cmd ok
    chkdsk C: /f /r
    hit Y (for yes) then enter. restart the PC and it will check teh drive.

    Memtest is from www.memtest.org, download the ISO file, burn it to a CD then put the CD in your drive and restart the PC - it should boot automatically.

    This will confuse you now, but hit the following keys once memtest starts to loop the right test - C 1 3 5 enter 0 (Memtest resembles dos, there is no mouse interface)
  13. Guttboy

    Guttboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    291 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Colorado
    Help with the ISO? I downloaded the file but not sure how to make it a file on the CD...I have Roxio Easy Cd/DVD creator 6.

    Sorry for the lack of knowledge...drove 12 hours to get here now frazzled and confused...thanks again...this is why TPU rocks!!!!!!!
  14. Guttboy

    Guttboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    291 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Colorado
    well double clicked on the iso file in the zip and its doing something...will keep you all posted....Thanks again!
  15. d44ve New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,521 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309


    Where are you at... I can send you an XP disk. No charge. Just hit me up on shipping when you get back.

    EDIT : sorry... I didnt see you needed this fixed by tomorrow.

    Did you OC your machine?
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,983 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,390
    you have to burn it off as a CD... double clicking and so on wont work.

    I dont know if roxio has .ISO support, as i use nero here.
  17. Guttboy

    Guttboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    291 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Colorado
    Guys....I did the chkdsk.....had to leave for a few...took a LONG time but windowsbooted up fine


    IS there a place to check and see if it was OK like a log somewhere? When I returned it was running fine.

    D44ve thanks for the offer...I may have to take you up on it tomorrow but right now still trouble shoothing this beast. This is not OC'd...this is my laptop...my gamerig is OC'd and is a clean running machine!

    For some reason the disk will not boot for mtest.....roxio did the iso thing but I may have to try again....down to my last 5 cds tonight....LOL.....

    THanks again and ill be trying to work this for the next couple of hours....hopefully I can get it working right.....btw...you are all awesome for the help!
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,983 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,390
    when burning an ISO file, you dont just copy it over to the CD, you need to burn it off - its an image, not a file.

    Not sure how to explain it best, i know with nero i choose open file, select the ISO and go from there - you dont burn it as a data disk (similar to burning a disk full of MP3's as opposed to a true audio CD)
  19. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,743 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    198
    Location:
    Norway
  20. Guttboy

    Guttboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    291 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Colorado
    Ok got it running.....after 40 min I couldn't take it any longer...how long does the memtest take?....LOL......

    I will attempt the rest of this in the AM...well the PM I suppose......

    Thanks for the help fellas...and thanks for the suggestions...I am working this as we speak but I am going to pass out from sleep deprivation in a few.....


    Regards!
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,983 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,390
    memtest runs forever and ever and ever. most errors show up in 20 passes, so if you can let it do 50 or so, you know you're safe - anything showing up in red means its errored.
  22. Guttboy

    Guttboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    291 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Colorado
    Thanks mussels.......hitting the sack now...will let it run till I awaken....will see how she does!
  23. Guttboy

    Guttboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    291 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Colorado
    Ok....problem appears to be solved, at least for the moment! I brought the free space up on the HDD by transferring things to DVD and have about 15GB free now. I ran anti virus scan/Malicious software removal/spybot S&D/Adaware.

    So far no problems.

    Also did a Chkdsk and Memtest...all seem ok.

    Could a large pagefile have caused this due to a lack of HDD space?
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,983 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,390
    its not very likely for a page file to cause problems.

    chdsk isnt likely to tell you if it found anything, its not very informative like that. However, it may have fixed things and just not told you.
  25. Guttboy

    Guttboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    291 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Colorado
    Thanks mussels!!!! BTW...I really appreciate everyone's help...the presentation went off without a hitch and you all saved my butt last night! Thanks!!!!!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page