1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help overclocking E5200

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Andy_007, Jan 8, 2009.

  1. Andy_007 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    187 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Auckland,New Zealand
    I recently replaced my aging AMD X2 4200+ with a Intel E5200, i also brought a Gigabyte EP43-DS3(P43 chipset) which was a mistake since its the biggest piece of temperamental crap. It simply wont run the CPU at over 3.8ghz, wont boot with the ram over stock (1000mhz), Any changes in CPU reference voltage= no boot.

    Im currently at 3.75ghz@375FSB,10x,1.45 CPU which is 1.424V idle, 1.392V load

    My bios voltage settings

    CPU PLL 1.5V
    CPU Termination 1.4V
    CPU reference 0.76V
    CPU Vcore 1.45V

    DRAM Volts 2.14V
    DRAM termination 0.9V
    Channel A Reference 0.9V
    Channel B Reference 0.9V

    MCH Volts 1.1V
    MCH/DRAM Reference 0.9V
    MCH Reference 0.76V
    ICH I/O 1.5V

    At these settings i can get up to 3.8ghz but anything more than this is 1 second prime fail even with 1.55V :banghead:. Im trying to push it to 4ghz, so could someone help me set these voltages correctly,espically the reference ones, cause i really have no idea. Thanks in advance for any help.
     
  2. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,890 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    I'm not sure about the other voltage settings but 1.45 is about the limit you should be running the chip at, any higher and you'll see very minimal gains. The "sweet spot" for these chips seems to be 1.4v. What temps are you running at? You might just have a Dud chip. Mind you 3.75 isn't bad for a E5200 although a few will push 4Ghz+
     
    Andy_007 says thanks.
  3. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    Up your MCH volts to 1.3V These E5200's are voltage hogs, it can take 1.55V easy with decent air cooling.
     
    Andy_007 says thanks.
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Just letting you know Andy, you are right on par. 3.8Ghz/1.44v on my rig, same voltage is what is required to get it stable.

    Also, you shouldn't have to touch GTL's or HT Link/FSB Term volts at all, should be at 1.23v. But I am beleiving you are more ram limited and will need to bump the volts to your ram another notch or lower your divider.
     
    Andy_007 says thanks.
  5. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,890 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    Also you might just have some bad ram, Mine will only clock below 1066 (and it's rated 1066@5-5-5-18). Also a lot of the new kingmax BGA ram won;t reach 1066 even tho that's what it's rated at (i went thru 8 sticks none worked :( ) The ram should be ok at 2.2v but try to get some active cooling for it (place a fan over it) you might also need to loosen your timings a little.

    JC is right about taking 1.55v ok my E2180 will take 1.6 no problems, but you probabily won't get much from it and the heat will increase very fast. Give it a try and see if you can squeeze a few more mhz out to get you upto 4G.
    3.8 is quite a good overclock anyway, you shouldn't feel too disappointed if you can't get any more.
     
    Andy_007 says thanks.
  6. Andy_007 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    187 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Auckland,New Zealand
    Thanks to everyone with there replys, i think that i was expecting too much from it.@Silkstone im currently got it stable@3.8ghz with 1013mhz ram at 1.456V idle and 1.440V load with temps at around 62 degrees,@ JC316 i tryed uping the mch volts but it wont boot with anything above default,@JrRacinFan ty for the info, i think ill stick with 3.8ghz as my 24/7 clock. I have tryed lowering my divider but same thing.@silkstone i did have this ram is my previous setup running at 1066mhz+, i do however understand that its different cause of completly different cpus,chipsets etc
     
  7. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,890 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    62C is pretty good @ load. see what you can get if you stick the voltage up to 1.6v - Just watch the temps - My e2180 will boot into windows at 3.5GHz@1.6v and 99% stable @ 3.45GHz. But i lapped my IHS and got 4 extra case fans. Don;t run it like that day to day, but it's interesting to see the max i can get from it.
     
  8. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    3.8GHz it is not bad at all and you 375 FSB on E5200 is amazing. Use higher multi. And what is the VID of your CPU ?
     
  9. Andy_007 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    187 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Auckland,New Zealand
    I have actually already tryed this to make sure it wouldnt fail due to temps with whatever voltage im happy putting through it.I had it @~1.59 bios which was around 1.576 idle and 1.55 load, After 20 mins the temp was still under 70 degrees i really cant remember exactly. I then put the mutli from 10 to 10.5@380 FSB which gave me 3.99ghz but even with that much volts it failed orthos within 2 secs
     
  10. Andy_007 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    187 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Auckland,New Zealand
    Ive have now got it stable at 3.8ghz @380FSB, i did noiice that quite alot of the E5200's are FSB walled at ~320-330 FSB. I have tryed using a higher mutli but the mb just seems happier at 380@10 mutli, since it will actually boot at more than 1000 ram speed and when i was running it at higher mutl's with lower fsb trying to run at 3.8 it very often didnt boot, at 380FSB it boots every time. Mine is 1.2250V
     
  11. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    I had tested 3 E5200 and 2 were 1.150 and one 1.165. That is high vid for E5200 I bet that E5200 I have on your board you will hit 4 GHz np. Mine doesnt like E5200s. Max stable I got is 3.9 at 1.5V but too much strain on mobo and PSU for 100MHz not wort it.
     
  12. Yukikaze

    Yukikaze

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,310 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    481
    My E5200 is very, very, very picky about FSB and multi. I hates every other multi other than 12.5 and doesn't matter what I do or how much juice I give it. I sit at 312 FSB and 12.5 Multi for my 3.9Ghz, and it won't even POST at 333 FSB and a lower multiplier.

    I could get it running stable at 4Ghz, but it required around 1.55v. I also POST'ed higher with around 1.6v, but it was already (way) out of my daily running, so I didn't care to test stability there. My specific chip also loves VTT increases, far more than vcore increases it seems. My VID is 1.15v, btw, and the load temps are 53c.

    On my previous motherboard (Abit I-N73HD spare, after my MSI P45 Neo-F caught fire) I couldn't break 3.8Ghz, no matter what I did - but the board was far less OC friendly when compared to the JR P45-TR2S I have now.

    3.8Ghz-4.0Ghz seems to be the average clocks E5200s attain with (somewhat) sane voltages, at least from what I can gather from several different forums.
     
  13. Andy_007 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    187 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Auckland,New Zealand
    Mine hates everything apart from 12.5 and 10, iv e booted up too ~4.1ghz but any amount of volts will not allow it to run any faster than 3.8, i have yet to try really playing with the vvt voltage yet, whats the max safely allowed?. 52 degrees at what voltage?, and whats ur room temp?. MSI boards catching on fire, why does that sound familiar :roll:.
     
  14. Yukikaze

    Yukikaze

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,310 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    481
    I run 1.5v vcore, 1.5v VTT (If this CPU dies, I just get another, so who cares for "safe" ? :toast: ). This isn't a low voltage and it might degrade the CPU quite quickly (or kill it), but I don't need this CPU to last for more than a year or so, so I don't mind.

    My room temp is around 20-21c right now.
     
  15. raza715 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    My question is can i hit minimum of 3.6ghz with E5200 on my ASUS P5K-VM, currently i am being able to hit max of 3.5ghz on E2180 but its unstable and 3.33ghz stable but temps are too high i want less temps and more multipliers.
     
  16. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    Well here is what comes in the Equation, the probabilty now if you get a new stepping e5200 of hitting 3.5Ghz with low voltage completely stable is pretty high, but if you get a bum overclocker then it will be stable but need high voltage for 3.5Ghz but the chances of that are pretty low sense old ones arnt really around anymore.

    Ya i say if you wanted 3.5Ghz then you should go for the e5200, i would suspect around 3.5Ghz at 1.29volts 1.31 volts or even lower. Now its a 45nm processor but e5200's seem to be hotter then e8000-e7000 serios but new e5200 should be a little cooler and probably overclock higher. My oldest e5200 did a max overclock of 4.4Ghz- then my freind gave me his e5200 he baught like 1-2 months after i baught mine and i hit 4.6Ghz with it. So? The newer the e5200 is the colder and higher its going to clock.
     
    raza715 says thanks.
  17. raza715 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    means on stock cooler i will get 3.5 or 3.6ghz easily no tension?
     
  18. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    On stock cooler, im pretty confident you will hit 3.5Ghz easy with low voltage and temps, BUT there have been some e5200 that just could not even do 3.5Ghz without a hussle of 1.4 volts and huge aftermarket coolers. But ive seen only 2-3 e5200's in threads with that problem, Seen 90% of them do wonderfull though. Why stock cooler. I meanyou get this e5200 for 65 bucks on newegg. A 15 dollar cooler will give you 100% chance on a good overclock. The stock coolers that Intel provide are so dam small, thiner then my finger, and its not even copper.

    Just saying though, alot of people have there reasones for a stock cooler, like there building a HTPC or just aint overclocking. :)
     
    raza715 says thanks.
  19. raza715 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    lol ok, sir if i buy after mafket some copper heatpipe cooler than it will reach to more fsb on my current P5K-VM(G33) about 3.8ghz or may be 4ghz if i am lucky right?
     
  20. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    Well, i dont know much about your g33 but you said you did 333 fsb with that motherboard, so im pretty sure you can hit 4.0Ghz and your motherboard wont be the limitations, but the voltages, and The chip itself if it has a fsb wall thats abnormaly low.

    But all you need is 320-310 fsb for 4.0Ghz with the e5200's, great for low end motherboards.

    Getting a aftermark cooler, (all of them have heatpipes out of copper is practicly a standard), should give you a fun time with a e5200, and maybe you can hit 4.15-4.2Ghz with a g33 and e5200. But it would be some high voltage going in play but it wont hurt the chip, e5200's are tuff.
     
    raza715 says thanks.
  21. raza715 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    thank you sir for your time. God bless you
     
    3volvedcombat says thanks.
  22. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    For your help, i would say using 12.5 multi would be the push, for some reason e5200's dont like there multi's lowerd from 12.5, well mine didnt. If what im reading is true, you might have 1 bad ass e5200. Very bad ass, all you need is a good cooler, and CPU-z because if the chip is acctualy stable at 375fsb then you have a 4.7Ghz capable e5200 which is pretty cool and good to say about it. You probably hit a FSB wall of some sort, with the chip because all e5200's basicly have a limitation at a certain FSB.

    My freinds EP45-UD3P, is just as dam bad, well almost, the motherboard cant even seem to do 450-430fsb stable with a q9550 and some good voltage going threw it. Yet my Ep45-Ud3p just blows the doors of quads doing 550fsb with my q9550. I took his q9550 and gave it a go and it did 4.5Ghz at 1.4volts so i know it's his motherboard that just rejects him for overclocked settings. So you might have a bum board to, the thing is i never new he had such a bad motherboard for a year almost because all he had was a e5200 in it that was barly even pushing 300fsb for a 24/7 overclock. But you put a High FSB quad in his motherboard and try to tinker it to even 400fsb and it might not be stable.
     
  23. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,047 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    Have you turned off the power saving features in the bios?
     
  24. jarekexe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi, I know Im dusting off an old thread, but Im running e5200 on asus p5k at 4,69GHz (voltage unchanged - set to auto)

    Is it normal? Is it safe?

    I'd like to add that Im totaln noob in OC :)
     
  25. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Just remember auto does not equal stock. Think you can get me a screenshot of cpu tweaker?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page