1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help overclocking XFX GeForce FX5200

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Casheti, Jan 7, 2007.

  1. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Hi. I'm a bit of a noobie to overclocking nVIDIA cards. I did it a few years ago with Coolbits, but the drivers since then have changed and now I don't know how to do it. I've unlocked coolbits in the registry but it's not coming up in nVIDIA Control Panel. Could someone recommend a different way to overclock this card please? Thanks, Cash.

    And while we're here. Quick question. Using a phone socket for your internet means you need an ADSL router, right?
     
  2. GLD

    GLD

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,359 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    139
    Coolbits still works for me. Maybe change the panels appearance to classic view, it's more user friendly in Classic mode, imo. A GeForce 5200, man, I had a 5200Ultra, it would play HL2. It couldn't play MOH Pacific Assault better then a blurr. Good luck overclocking that beast. :p
     
  3. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Core from 250MHz to 296MHz. Memory from 800MHz to 886MHz. :eek: Not bad...for a PCI card. Since there's no temp monitors how much heat do you reckon this baby is putting out?
     
  4. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    This is what I got.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  5. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    I am overclocking the same beast for a friend.
    Got the same scores that you have. Installed Counterstrike zero and Battlefield 1942 today and it runs fine. Great card. LOL
     
  6. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Did you really get the same scores? Awwww, I was hoping mine was special. :(
     
  7. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Oh and how did 1942 run?
     
  8. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    I really wouldn't worry about that. The core slowdown temp on my 5900 is 140*C.
     
  9. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    wow a fx5200 thats worse than my ti4200 (200-296 :roll: 250-350 on mine though the ram only did 513-590)
     
  10. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    On 1024x768 low/med. It was some oldskool battlefield playing today.:laugh:
     
  11. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Lol. I tried Sims 2 again with the OC. No difference in performance. Looks like I'm gonna have to smash in another gig of ram. It's only got 512MB at the moment.

    Pentium 4 2.8GHz 533MHz FSB
    512MB (2X 256MB) 333MHz Ram
    nVIDIA XFX GeForce FX5200 PCI 256MB
    80GB Maxtor 7200RPM IDE In Performance Mode.

    Not bad system to be honest.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page