1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help overlock 2500k on z68 mobo

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by mrthanhnguyen, Dec 22, 2011.

  1. mrthanhnguyen

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    207 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I don't know how to overclock i5 2500k on GIGABYTE GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68.
    i got gtx 580 stock, gskill ripjaw 8gb 1600mhz, 1 hdd, 1 dvd drive, 1 120mm cpu fan ( cooler master 212 plus + ic diamond compound), 1 92 mm case fan, 1 80 mm case fan, 650w antec green. hope i can achive 4.2-4.5 with this spec. Help me please. thanks.
     
  2. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,317 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,260
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    go to your bios and set the multi at 42 and presto, you have 4.2ghz. Yes, it's that easy.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. mrthanhnguyen

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    207 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    really, I thought I have to change voltage and something more? how about to set ram run at 1600mhz
     
  4. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,317 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,260
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    my 2600k does 4.2 with voltages set to auto, and according to CPUz, only takes around 1.3 volts. For memory, I just set mine to 1600mhz manually.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Yeah it's that easy. I run mine @ 4.6Ghz out of the box with little voltage adjustment. Yours should 4.2 on stock voltage. You could up it notch but give it a try first. Just set your ram to 1600 and the correct timings. Also set the correct voltage for the ram.
     
  6. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,317 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,260
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    how's that Asrock working for you tech? If you don't remember, I was the one that first suggested it to you.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Yeah i remember! Board is pretty nice. Bios is very nice. Overclocking is to easy now. :p
    Hooked it all up. Set it @ 4.6Ghz and did not change a thing since then.
    Only problem is that i'm gonna request RMA for it because the board makes weird noises.:wtf:

    Edit: Today took the board out. Gently pushed a few of the caps where i was thought the sound was coming from, put the board back in. Sound = GONE!
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2011
  8. mrthanhnguyen

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    207 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    how to choose timing for ram? is timing auto detected ?when set ram to 1600? don't increase any voltage?
     
  9. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    What does the label on the packaging say? Something like: 1600Mhz 1.5v 9-9-9-24?
     
  10. mrthanhnguyen

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    207 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    yes it is
     
  11. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
  12. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,184 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    316
    the info & bios here will help you with some of the back ground as the chipset are almost the same
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page