1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help Please! Only green SB light on mobo comes on?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Thlorian, Oct 24, 2010.

  1. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,778 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,616
    Sounds like your on the right track. Hopefully, when you get everthing out it will work fine. That's what happened on my first build. It turns out I didn't have the 4 pin MOBO power all the way in, and I also was pulling to many amps off the wrong rail with my gpu.
     
    Thlorian says thanks.
  2. Thlorian New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    72 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    You guys are AWESOME! The hair dryerloosend it up in one minute!

    Thanks!!!


    Now I'll try tackling the original problem one more time before calling it a day! If this does not work, I am going to throw in the towel and purchase a new mobo. Anyone with a suggestion on a mobo?

    Here is what I bought for my original build:

    Athlon Phenom II X4 965 Deneb 3.4Ghz Black Edition CPU AM3 Quad core 45nm
    Corsair XMS3 DDR3 dual channel kit memory 4gb (2x2) PC3-10666 1333Mhz
    Cooler Master GX 750 watt ATX PSU
    Cooler Master Armor A90 mid-tower case w/120mm and 200mm fans
    MSI Radeon HD5750 1 GB PCI Video Card
    Sound Blaster SE PCI Sound card
    Logitech speaker System

    Thanks!!!!!
     
  3. b82rez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    134 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Hobart, Australia
    Might be a stupid question but is the power switch on the case plugged into the correct motherboard header? I had this problem the first time I built a PC..

    If your not sure..try booting the pc with a screwdriver.
     
    Thlorian says thanks.
  4. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    So you plugged in a PCI-E 6-pin to the 4-Pin EPS header?
     
    Thlorian says thanks.
  5. Thlorian New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    72 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Thanks - Are you referring to the 24 pin plug? If not I am not sure which plug you are talking about but I am willing to learn and try anything...

    What is the procedure for booting a pc with a screwdriver?

    Is it safe?
     
  6. b82rez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    134 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Hobart, Australia
    Follow the power switch on your case and tell me where it leads to. It should plug into a header on the motherboard.. (check motherboard manual)

    If this isn't plugged in..when you press the power on button nothing will happen because the switch isn't connected to anything!

    If you can't find the right header on the motherboard, you can always just use a screwdriver to boot the pc by putting it inbetween the two headers and yes its safe.
     
    Thlorian says thanks.
  7. Thlorian New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    72 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    No - the only plug "outlet" next to the CPU is the four prong plug (there are actually two of them in a Y form). I plugged just one of them in because I do not see a four prong outlet for the other one on the mobo.

    :)
     
  8. Thlorian New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    72 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    I am a newbie so bear with me please on this as it is relatively new to me ---> Are you talking about one of the really tiny led plugs that go over one pin on the mobo. There is one that is labeled something like PWR. Or perhaps the lead coming from the restart button on the front of the case?

    Thanks for helping me on this...
     
  9. b82rez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    134 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Hobart, Australia
    Thats Okay mate.

    Yeah the one that is labeled PWR is the power switch. You have to make sure it is plugged in to the correct headers on the mobo or your switch won't work.

    If I have any issues with that, I normally take all the plugs out and just swipe a screwdriver over the top to see what two headers are correct.
     
    Thlorian says thanks.
  10. Thlorian New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    72 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Ok, at this point I I tried the "out of the case set-up and testing" and still get the same result. So I am ready to toss in the towel and accept that the mobo is shorted out or fried and needs to be replaced. I have learned more form all of you in 24 hours than what I have picked up on computers in a year (or more!) so thanks VERY MUCH.

    Can any of you do two things for me please;

    (1) Recommend a decent AMD3 board for me to purchase (full ATX) that runs around $100-$125?

    (2) Most importantly if you have used this board,please email me the exact steps on where to plug in everything please.

    Thanks!

    Here are the specs on what I have laying on the workbench right now for the mobo:

    Athlon Phenom II X4 965 Deneb 3.4Ghz Black Edition CPU AM3 Quad core 45nm
    Corsair XMS3 DDR3 dual channel kit memory 4gb (2x2) PC3-10666 1333Mhz
    Cooler Master GX 750 watt ATX PSU
    Cooler Master Armor A90 mid-tower case w/120mm and 200mm fans
    MSI Radeon HD5750 1 GB PCI Video Card
    1.5 TB Seagate Hard Drive
    Sound Blaster SE PCI Sound card
    Logitech speaker System
     
  11. b82rez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    134 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Hobart, Australia
    I'm a big fan of Asus and ASRock boards. I'm running an ASRock 890GX, really good board.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page