1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help! System hangs at startup.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by tb229, May 24, 2007.

  1. tb229 New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello, I am building an Intel system for the first time.

    I have a Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 motherboard.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128042
    Intel e6600 Processor
    Blue Orb CPU Fan
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835106069
    eVGA 8800GTS
    Corsair 520watt PSU
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139001

    I will not list the other parts because I am still assembling the computer and they are not yet installed. These are the only components installed at this time.

    When I power up the system:
    The PSU fan spins. The Processor Fan lights up and spins for about 1 second. Then the CPU fan stops spinning and light goes off for about 5 second while PSU fan spins. The machine makes a beep. Then the CPU fan starts working again and machine boots fine.

    Any idea what is causing this hang when I power the computer?
  2. Oliver_FF

    Oliver_FF New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    546 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    We'll assume you've got some RAM in it?
  3. tb229 New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yes I have 2 Gigabyte GSKILL
  4. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    wait, so your rig is fine? but the problem is that 5 second pause?

    single beep is usually saying the post passed, ready to boot...
  5. TUngsten

    TUngsten

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    CT, USA
    how long does it take to get into windows from the time you press the button?
  6. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    ah, i think i know the problem now, try disableing the smart fan...its no pause, its just smart fan didnt turn on the fan becuase it was under the threshold.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page