1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help!There is something wrong with my HD8970M

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by htxqq18, Sep 24, 2013.

  1. htxqq18 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Messages:
    11 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    HD8970M Vbios request,I want a mod for change

    I need a vbios of the HD8970M-4G for P150EM
    Attention,I need the CLEVO version

    Thanks a lot!:respect:
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2013
  2. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,509 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Would have been better for the title of the post to say [HD8970M Vbios request], maybe ask a mod to change it.

    One of three choices

    1./ Contact dealer / manufacturer; raise a ticket and RMA and pay the cost of the repair, may be no charge if still in warranty [this may be the fastest way]

    2./ Post in the manufactures forums as well as TPU and others may be more owners

    4./ Wait for someone to post a reply here and upload their vbios images, however saying that as there are no Master or Slave vbios images in the TPU data base; the chances of finding the vbios images are limited for this model.

    atb

    Law-II
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2013
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  3. kn00tcn

    kn00tcn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    652 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    116
    Location:
    Toronto
    what's wrong with it? try asking clevo directly for a bios
    Law-II says thanks.
  4. htxqq18 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Messages:
    11 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    The gpu-z can't work on hd8970m

    the vbios can't backup
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2013
    Law-II says thanks.
  5. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,384 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,086
    What exactly is the problem? Do not flash the BIOS unless you absolutely have to, and it's extremely unlikely you have to.
  6. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,888 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,888
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Why are you trying to back it up in the first place? I don't see any gains by trying to flash your BIOS which should eliminate any need for saving it. I would leave it alone before you break something.
  7. htxqq18 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Messages:
    11 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    THE MEMORY TYPE in the Vbios of my card is samsung dvso
    But the memory is hynix
    I think it‘s the reason ,makes the memory clock can't be overclocking
    More importantly, the black screen often show without rhyme or reason.
    I'm afraid that the problem's gradual emergence has masked its growing menace.
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2013
  8. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,509 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Maybe atiflash.exe can detect the card at dos prompt

    atiflash -ai 0 [adapter information]

    atiflash -s 0 OldVbios.rom [save vbios]

    0=zero

    atb

    Law-II
  9. htxqq18 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Messages:
    11 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    thanks a lot!

    I have gotten a vbios copy!
    BUT I need an editor for the vbios of HD8970M
    I also want to know if the MSI vbios can be used on my CLEVO card?
  10. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,888 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,888
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I would leave it alone before you break something. :confused:
  11. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,509 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    +1 Aquinus

    Dose not exist to my knowledge, card is new/rebadged no editor available

    No, Flashing an MSI vbios will brick the card [*only proprietary vbios images should be used that are released by manufacturer]

    Note: more than likely flashing the vbios will not cure any issues., *most likely Driver Related

    I will say this once more; this is what should be done: "Contact dealer / manufacturer; raise a ticket and RMA and pay the cost of the repair, may be no charge if still in warranty [this may be the fastest way]"

    atb

    Law-II
  12. htxqq18 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Messages:
    11 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Oh,I give up

    Thank you.
    I should wait for the result from the CLEVO.
    Frick says thanks.
  13. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,384 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,086
    Good. There are quite a lot of people coming here with bricked cards because they guessed and assumed. Some people even ask for advice, and when told they can't do what they want they do it anyway and end up with a bricked card.
    Law-II and Aquinus say thanks.
  14. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,509 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Following this thread

    Example of Clevo HD8970M
    Clevo HD8970M P150EM.jpg
    Shows clearly Samsung memory modules have been used

    Out of interest; are able to attach high res pictures of the HD8970M installed in your P150EM that show Hyinx used on the card.

    atb

    Law-II
    Frogger says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page