1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help Transfering files over network

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by amd64skater, Mar 29, 2012.

  1. amd64skater

    amd64skater

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    611 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Jacksonville ,Florida
    I have 3 pc's I want to be able to transfer files to each other over my own network. Im not sure where to start. 2 of the pc's have windows 7 the other one is windows xp 32 pro. all on a WRT160N linksys router. Im looking for the easiest way drag and drop would be nice and easy or close to it. Im trying to transfer huge files than using a usb drive all the time.
  2. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    16,914 (5.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,429
    Location:
    Florida
    start run type services.msc

    find SSDP discovery set it to auto. on XP go into network connections. on the side it should say something like enable sharing.


    now on all machines make a folder you want to put stuff in. right click and go to sharing.

    follow the prompts enable share with everyone and allow read/write access.

    now when you go into the network window you should be able to see everything.

    thats what i did. dont mess with homegroup its useless.
    amd64skater says thanks.
  3. amd64skater

    amd64skater

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    611 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Jacksonville ,Florida
    Once again you have saved the day. I swear you are always one of the first to respond to my please help posts. Thanks again for your help man. I learn so much from you lol.
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  4. amd64skater

    amd64skater

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    611 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Jacksonville ,Florida
    Now that we got that solved. Is their a way to make the transfers faster 1 gig about 30 mins to transfer? or is their a setting I need to change?
  5. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    16,914 (5.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,429
    Location:
    Florida
    Im flattered thanks man. lmk if you have trouble.
    amd64skater says thanks.
  6. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    16,914 (5.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,429
    Location:
    Florida
    sure probably

    first on wireless your pushing it. things like ISOs will take longer than 1gb of small files some files will go faster so the time is an estimate iv seen it go from an hour to 15min.

    on all machines do the following

    go to your network adapter

    assuming your using ethernet right click and go to properties then click on the configure button. you will get a list with a bunch of things its best not to touch. look for anything that says "duplex" in my case my laptop is 100mbit click the drop down after clicking the setting and look for an option that says "full duplex" if you have an adapter that supports diffirent types the drop down will contain a list that looks similer to this.

    10mbit half duplex
    10mbit full duplex
    100mbit half
    100mbit full

    etc you want to select the highest number that says "full duplex" such as 100mbit full duplex.

    the connection will drop while it makes the adjustments.

    somewireless adapters may or may not have a duplex option if they dont the router itself may have a connection option in the firmware. that i cant help much with since router settings vary alot. but PC wise make sure everything is set to full duplex.
  7. amd64skater

    amd64skater

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    611 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Jacksonville ,Florida
    ok now is this just for wireless because all 3 are hooked up to ethernet cables no wireless connection. The only reason I have a wireless network is for guest and cell phones and my tv blu ray etc. to connect to. All my Pc's are wired. Now should this work for that also? or just wireless?
  8. amd64skater

    amd64skater

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    611 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Jacksonville ,Florida
    Anytime :toast:
  9. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    16,914 (5.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,429
    Location:
    Florida
    i wrote that assuming ethernet was used so yes it applies to wired connections. set everything to the highest full duplex setting possible.
    amd64skater says thanks.
  10. amd64skater

    amd64skater

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    611 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Jacksonville ,Florida
    ok i got u
  11. amd64skater

    amd64skater

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    611 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Jacksonville ,Florida
    Now it takes about 5 mins. Wow 2 for 2 tonight. Thank you again oh i didnt see the first part right off i just read the middle on lol
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2012
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  12. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    16,914 (5.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,429
    Location:
    Florida
    glad it worked out man.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page