1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help, unbootable DFI X48/Xeon 3360

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by xnox202, Dec 26, 2008.

  1. xnox202

    xnox202 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    276 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Brunei Darussalam
    Hey guys, I need some help with my newly assembled system. The system specs as follows:

    Intel Xeon 3360 S775,
    DFI Lanparty X48 T2R DDR2,
    Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066 4GB DHX,
    Palit Revolution 700 HD 4870X2,
    Antec 1000W Quattro PSU,
    Antec 900 Case,

    Western Digital 320GB HDD,
    Maxtor SATA Diamondmax 9 120GB HDD.

    When I started the system, the LED display went through all the codes and it stops at Code 7F. From what I understand, 7F means it's a Bios Checksum error. I tried pressing the EZ Button (both) for 5 seconds to clear the BIOS settings, and still 7F. Pressed F1 and it went to FF, but nothing responding. The card is already seated properly.. or I guess (gonna try in a minute again)

    More of the bad news is I'm going to use this rig for tomorrow's Lanparty and if I could solve it tonight then probably I would also have the time to setup (format) the pc!

    Help guys!! I'm getting nuts already!

    EDIT: Tried the reseating of the card. Still nothing! No nothing at display screen.
  2. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    RMA it.

    My DFI does the same shit, it also gives me the error code 88 most commonly.

    Good luck. :)
  3. xnox202

    xnox202 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    276 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Brunei Darussalam
    A new DFI board... needs to be RMA-ed?! Aren't there any solutions?
  4. xnox202

    xnox202 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    276 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Brunei Darussalam
    Okay, now it gets weird. The code stops at "26", then restart itselfs.. then does it again... "7F", Pressed F1 and code becomes "FF".

    I tried with my other VGA (6600GT) PCI-E, and does the same thing. I don't think it's really the video..

    *is it really the motherboard?* :(
  5. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    RMA it, mine is new and it does the same bullshit too.

    I will be sending mine in to RMA in a few days. :)
  6. Homeless

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,025 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    USA
    I suppose you could try hotflashing, but I would recommend an RMA
  7. xnox202

    xnox202 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    276 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Brunei Darussalam
    I thought of that, but not really sure how to do it. I have a feeling it's only the BIOS needs to be reflashed or updated.

    The board is a REV.A1.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page