1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help, Video Card WAY TOO HOT

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by ChAkA13o0, Jun 29, 2006.

  1. ChAkA13o0 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey guys, first off, hello everyone, im new to this forum. Well, actually, I'm not really new, I use it a lot for info, but I just recently registered. So I just recently installed a Zalman VF700-CU on my Ati All-in-Wonder X800XL and the temps have not changed, and I think they're worse now. The idle temps at 53 and load can reach up to 115! I have made sure everything is installed right. The buttom of the Zalman is tightly touching the GPU core with some Thermal Grease in between. The Fan is connected to the Black Power connector, which I believe is the 12v and its running at full power. What can cause these high temperatures? I want to return this fan since my stock Ati fan had lower temps!

    Please, any help would be appreciate it!
  2. sagi_10 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    israel,north
    wow 115c??? the card should be dead now..:eek:
    maybe the cooler is was not instaled propobly?
  3. macbeth New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    128 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    You should try to reinstall it again. From what i read that is not posible. The Zalman should out perform the stock heatsink fan. Make sure you have good contact within the gpu and heatsink.
  4. ¬ęBladE|==| New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    97 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brisbane
    dude...are you sure it's 115 degrees? Are you using speedfan to check your temps? Are you PHYSICALLY feeling the heatsink to determine if the temps are right? Are you talking Farenheight? :S Answer's to all these questions will help alot. :D

    Also, i have never seen a video card DOUBLE it's idle temp under full load...if these temps are real, i would LOVE to see a screenshot!


    Peace :rockout:
  5. Yin

    Yin

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    542 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    1 try a different type of grease (artic silver),
    2 it could be poor contact between the gpu n heatsink
    3 bad installation
    4 your software is wrong
    or something else
  6. error_f0rce

    error_f0rce New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    942 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    Ok first off, you would never see your temps reach 115c (239f) because your video card would be boiling and in a melted pool on your motherboard. ;) Ok, j/k, but you could cook an egg on it for sure. Either way, there's no way it would funtion... at all. Now if your card is running at 115f (46c), that is a very respectable temperature while under load (my card reaches 47c when OC'd and under load with my Zalman vf900). Now if that is the case, you have it working PERFECTLY, don't mess with it.

    I don't know how your idle temps could be at 53c though... download ATiTool .24 from here http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/8 and let us know what your temps are using that. Keep in mind, you'll have to turn on temp monitoring in the program after you download it, but that's easy to find. Please let us know if you have any more questions, problems, or anything. I'd like to know how this turns out!

    Good luck!
  7. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Here's a review with the VF-700, W1zzard had a bit of install issues, make sure you don't have these. Bad contact with the core would easily give you high temps. And I wouldn't be surprised if error_f0rce was right, and you're reading the temps in *F. Because my X850XT has an auto-shutoff at 105*C, and your core shouldn't be nearly as temp-resistant.
  8. ComradeRobbins

    ComradeRobbins New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mountain Home, AR/ Conway, AR
    The temperature data could be wrong. One of my CPU temp. readers always tells me that it is around 500c, which is impossible.
  9. ChAkA13o0 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Okay guys, one by one

    I made sure and YES, the temp is in C, and not F.

    second, I re-installed and made sure there is not even a microscopic amount of space between heatsink and the core chip.

    The temps still read 51 idle and 90+ under load....and the load is the RENDERING from ATI TRAY TOOLS benchmark test! NOT EVEN 3dmark! I will upload pics for you guys to see. The temps are with ATI tools, as far as software goes...

    BTW, my card's GPU is overclocked from 392 to 413, but even with 392 im still hitting around 85!

    Here are some pics...

    Attached Files:

  10. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Try the temp readings in ATI Tool.
  11. ChAkA13o0 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    K here is the ATI TOOL pic... its not even overclocked and its at 90!

    Attached Files:

    • PIC.jpg
      PIC.jpg
      File size:
      172.7 KB
      Views:
      184
  12. ChAkA13o0 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Here are pictures of the Zalman on the card....

    the zalman doesn't cover all of the chip, as you can see in one of the pics.

    Attached Files:

  13. newmodder New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    669 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    british columbia
    to bluury

    it is hard to see...to dark and too blurry
  14. ChAkA13o0 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ookay, now i know something is up for suuuure. I was playing some FIFA soccer and I checked the MAX for GPU and it says 209! thats 209 C! should I re-install the software and drivers? this is some WEIRD shit
  15. ChAkA13o0 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    is there a way the sensor on the card is messed up?
  16. newmodder New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    669 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    british columbia
    209

    dam that can not be right, your card should be DEAD, SMOKIN, FRIED,MELTED.i think your sensor is screwed up
  17. ChAkA13o0 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So what should I do if my sensor is screwed up? I bought this card less than a month ago...
  18. newmodder New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    669 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    british columbia
    Rma

    RMA is your only option, I would do it as soon as possible, and be sure to put the stock heatsink back on, some places wont warranty the card with AM Coolers
  19. error_f0rce

    error_f0rce New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    942 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    Hahahaha, holy crap that's over 400f!!! :laugh: You could bake a caserole inside your case! Yeah, that can't be right. I agree with newmodder, you must have a bad temp sensor. We all know your card can't operate at those temps and your memory temps at 46c isn't bad at all, so it must be your core temp sensor that is bad.

    BTW, that little fuzzy dice thing in ATiTool will stress your card more than any 3DMark or game I have ever seen... that's what it's made for, so don't think that your temps will be worse in a game or whatever. That fuzzy die is one bad boy! :cool:

    Also, what temps were you reading from your card when you had the stock cooler on?
  20. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
  21. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    i have a vf700cu on a x800,the cooler is ok as long as it is sat on the core itself,it doesnt need to cover the whole chip,just the core in the middle.
  22. ChAkA13o0 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I looked at that article and NO, my ZALMAN doesn't have that problem with the nipple. IT is on correctly. I have a feeling I tampered with the Temp sensor when I installed the Zalman...That would be the only explanation...

    I will RMA the card soon. Just don't know if I should get the same card or my money back. Whats another good card I can get for the price range of $100 - $200, and $200 being MAX.

    This AIW is pretty awesome. I watch TV and everything on it. It runs everything excellent on high, except on Fear I sometimes drop to 24 25 fps when shit hits the fan lol. I hear the EVGA 7600GT on Newegg thats going for 170 is really good. It rapes my core clock speed too! anybody have that or tried that?

    Any response will be appreciated, as the ones that have already been posted are :toast:
  23. error_f0rce

    error_f0rce New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    942 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    Here is a good current price list: http://www.sharkyextreme.com/guides/article.php/10704_3616581__7

    I would get this card RIGHT NOW if I had the cash, what a steal @ $199:
    HIS Radeon X1800GTO 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 VIVO PCI Express x16 CrossFire Ready IceQ3 Turbo :rockout:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814161012
    Who needs AIW when you have VIVO!?
    Here'a review: http://www.overclockercafe.com/Reviews/VGA/HIS_X1800GTO_IceQ3/index.htm

    This card comes stock OC'd to 520 core and is unlockable to 16 pipes. If I had 200 bones, I wouldn't even be posting this, I'd be at NewEgg buying that card. Just read that article today. It is $200 and smokes the pants of a X800 GTO. Wish I would have waited :(
  24. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    are u shure u havnt left the little peice of plastic on the cooler when u installed it?
  25. BigD6997

    BigD6997 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    891 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    ^^ if your get that card i will trade you a brand new accelero x2 for that ice-q3 cooler:D

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page