1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help: Windows XP fresh install - will not boot

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Tuffkix, Dec 24, 2007.

  1. Tuffkix New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Alright, I just want to say thank you in advance for helping me.

    So my PC was working fine, I had a 40 gig hard drive in it, and finally had enough spending money to go buy a new 320 gig SATA hard drive.

    I installed the SATA hard drive, and debated whether to go XP or Vista, and in the end decided Vista because I had enough space to use Vista restore and stuff. So I installed Vista fine, my hard drive worked and everything, and about a month later Vista broke on me (for reasons which do not matter) and I decided to go to XP (Pro w/SP2).

    So I installed XP, and got to the point where it starts copying system files. And then it copied all the files, and goes to restart itself. (I leave the XP install CD in after it restarts) and when it says "Press any button to boot off CD" I get about 4 little . . . . and then I get little, colored squares on my screen, approximately 6 of them, just randomly placed on the screen. So its a black screen, with "Press any button to boot off CD . . . . . _ " and a purple square here, and a green one there, and a blue one over there, just strange.

    So I took the CD out, tried to restart it again, and when its supposed to boot off my hard drive, I just get a flashing cursor, I tried and tried, probably 10 times, and finally gave up and installed Ubuntu.

    About a week later I gave up trying to learn a new OS, and tried to install XP again, still doesnt work, yet I can install Vista perfectly fine.

    So, my problem is that I cannot install XP, because after it finishes copying files to my HDD and restarts, it wont boot. If anyone could tell me or give me clues as to why it is doing this, or what I can do to fix it, please do, help is appreciated. Thanks!!

    Specs:
    Mobo: Asus A8V-XE
    Video: 6800 GS
    CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ (2.0 ghz)
    RAM: 1 gig Gskill PC3200
    HDD: 320 gig Seagate SATA

    Thats all I can think of at the moment. Please help. Thanks!

    *edit* Please post relevant information that will help me fix the problem, and not tell me what OS to use. Thanks!
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2007
  2. Ehstii New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    607 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    The Shore, New Jersey
    stick with vista?
  3. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Have you tried doing this.... making one hdd just for xp and use the other as a slave. You have tried putting xp on both hdds?
    Tuffkix says thanks.
  4. Tuffkix New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    No, that doesnt work. My PSU doesnt have enough power connectors for both hard drives. :(
  5. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
  6. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    simple

    do this:

    use vista cd to reformat and reinstall vista

    after reformating the computer will start to reboot

    at this time remove the vista cd and replace it with your xp cd

    its a thing windows has so you cant go back to an older operating system

    follow these steps and you should have no problems
    Tuffkix says thanks.
  7. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    I haven't had a problem with going back and forth... Is that because I reformat my HDD?
  8. Tuffkix New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Keaker, are you positive? Thats why I get blocks of color on my screen when trying to boot?

    Ill try it later tonight, but are you for the most part positive that it will fix my problem?

    And I reformat my HDD too, but I have it partitioned and I only reformat the partition that had Windows on it, if that affects it.

    Thanks again!
  9. Tuffkix New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Um...yeah, so this didnt work.

    I had the same result, anybody have any other ideas?

    Do I have to install a SATA driver when I go to boot up Windows XP?

    It sees the drive and everything and installs to it, but Im just wondering.

    Please help!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page