1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help with a gaming build

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by ddunn32, Dec 10, 2013.

  1. ddunn32 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    9 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello guys, I have recently started to get into pc gaming,which means its time to invest in a good computer.
    Now sadly I have a small budget to start with,sitting at max 620 USD. I will be using this computer for games such as Bf4, CoD ghosts,crisis 3,And finally minecraft,which I want to be able to record .I have a monitor taken care of all ready so that doesn't need to be included in the price. so if you would be so kind to help a newbie out it would be greatly appreciated
     
  2. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,454 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    417
    Location:
    CZ
    CPU: Athlon II X4 750K
    GPU: R9 270
    PSU: seasonic/corsair/XFX 550W
    RAM: 2X4GB kit of some kind
    MOBO: GIGABYTE F2A88XM-D3H
    HDD: 1TB WD
     
  3. ddunn32 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    9 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    as I said I am very new to PC's so I will leave It up to you guys who know how to get the most bang for your buck
     
  4. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,454 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    417
    Location:
    CZ
    Sorry dude I accidently hit TAB and it posted I filled in the list now
     
  5. ddunn32 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    9 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    haha its fine! Thanks for your help!
     
  6. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,473 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    684
    Location:
    GMT +2
  7. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,618 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    838
    i hope u don't got anything against a ITX setup.

    i surfed around on newegg from work and came up with this setup.

    Intel Core i5-4430 + $15 off w/ promo code EMCWVXR25, ends 12/11 is about 162usd
    ASRock H81M-ITX & Rosewill FORTRESS-450 450W Combo for 119,98usd
    G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866 (PC3 14900) + 15% off w/ promo code GSKILLHOL, ends 12/15 is about 47usd
    Western Digital WD Black WD5003AZEX 500GB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s for 71,99usd
    MSI Gaming N760 TF 2GD5/OC for 239.99usd after 10usd rebate card

    i know this is 21usd over budget at 640,96usd but you get a i5 with 8gigs of memory and a GTX 760 with good aftermarker cooler.

    If you want you can change the GTX 760 out with a AMD R9 270X Series they are like 200usd at newegg that will bring you down under budget.
     
    ne6togadno and Chetkigaming say thanks.
  8. Chetkigaming

    Chetkigaming

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    259 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Nice, as for me OP can go for asus mobo & asus gpu same spec. msi gpu cooling system too loud on ultra settings gameplay
     
  9. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,618 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    838
    i don't know about that, i haven't tried out the Twin Frozr on the GTX 6x0/7x0 cards since i am happy with my Asus GTX 670 DCII 4gb card ^^

    but for the price of about 240usd after 10dollar rebate card i don't think you can find a much cheaper GTX 760 ^^
     
  10. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,473 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    684
    Location:
    GMT +2
    i have revisited my list with gtx760 which will have way better perfomance then 270x
    http://pcpartpicker.com/p/2i2FR (23$ over budget)


    if you change that 500gb black hdd with 1tb baracuda or blue you will end up in budget
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2013
    RCoon and puma99dk| say thanks.
  11. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,618 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    838
    i was trying to do a preformance gamer on the budget and the i5 is stronger den the Athlon X4 u link ne6togadno or am i wrong? ^^;
     
  12. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,473 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    684
    Location:
    GMT +2
    i didnt said anything about i5. i just recently builded 760k+270x system for a friend and i can test it but i havent tryed i5 so i cant say which one is better.
    my point was that 500gb black is too expensive and it rise price of you suggestion while it doesnt give any significant performance gain over blue series or seagate baracuda
     
  13. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,618 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    838
    well i haven't had big luck with blue's tried a couple and they died after short time and the last Seagate Barracuda's i had was the 7200.11 too many problems.

    so that was why i took the Black even it also got reports of failing sometimes.
     
  14. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8,732 (8.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,969
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    WD Blue or Seagate Baracuda is a far better choice over a Black for the sake of budgets. WD Blacks are for frivelous types, not budget systems.

    There is the Hard Drive lottery, no company makes better drives, in fact most HDD's are made in the same factory. You either get an OK HDD that lasts 7 years, or you get one that breaks in 6 months. The odds of drawing a bad HDD are around 0.6%

    i5 is faster than a 760K, but the 760K can be overclocked with its balls to the wall and is probably half the price of the i5. If the OP intends to play games like StarCraft II, Civ V, Shogun 2, or similar RTS games, I recommend the i5 wholeheartedly. If the OP wants to play man-shoot and man-drive-and-shoot then I recommend the 760K, so that the money saved on the processor can be spent on a more powerful GPU, or even an SSD.
     
    ne6togadno says thanks.
  15. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,473 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    684
    Location:
    GMT +2
    duno about your luck guys but so far i have my hhds filled before failed. beside my first 5.25" quanitium fireball i always had seagate drives that always lasted 3+ years. the only problem i had with seagate drive was with one of 500gb momentus i bought for my laptop which faild during win install (could be halfdeadOA). got replacemnent and now both drives run 3 years w/o any problems so far
     
  16. ddunn32 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    9 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thank you to everybody,Is there one set up here that everyone agrees on?
     
  17. markaflias

    markaflias

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    43 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Alicante
    I will go for the setup posted by #11

    maybe if u get a bit more money u can go for an i3 + h87 setup .
     
  18. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,473 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    684
    Location:
    GMT +2
    haha
    you are asking for impossible.
    i doubt you will ever find setup everyone here to agree with
     
  19. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,618 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    838
    yap it will be hard, and i think almost not possible.
     
    ddunn32 says thanks.
  20. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8,732 (8.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,969
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    ^ I vote for this one. The fox knows what he's doing.
     
    ddunn32 says thanks.
  21. ddunn32 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    9 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hahaha this one it is! thanks for your help guys!

    i was about to order but i read that there is a compatibility error is this wrong or do i need to fix it?"
    • Gigabyte GA-F2A88X-D3H ATX FM2+ Motherboard has an onboard USB 3.0 header, but the Thermaltake Commander MS-I ID ATX Mid Tower Case does not have front panel USB 3.0 ports.
    • (Flag compatibility notes as incorrect.)" is this wrong or do i need to fix it?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 12, 2013
  22. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8,732 (8.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,969
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    It's fine, it just means that you won't use the internal motherboard header for USB 3.0 as the case doesn't have 3.0 ports.
     
    ddunn32 says thanks.
  23. ddunn32 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    9 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    okay thanks!
     
  24. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,473 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    684
    Location:
    GMT +2
    something is wrong with pcpartpicker cause newegg say it has usb3.0 on front panel. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ..._-na-_-na&cm_sp=&AID=10446076&PID=3938566&SID=
    on pictures usb3 is visible too.
    microsenter also report it with usb3 http://www.microcenter.com/product/365239/Commander_Mid_Tower_ATX_Computer_Case
    but in case you receive it w/o usb3 at front you can order this
     
  25. ddunn32 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    9 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    okay so i went into a store with the list that you had made adnd they said they no longer carried the mother-bored or proccsesor, so he helped me and this is what i came out with. i just finished it 30 mins ago.

    ProcessorAMD FX(3.8g)-4130 Quad-Core Processor
    Memory (RAM)8.00 GB Ballistix
    GraphicsNVIDIA GeForce GTX 760
    Power supply CorsairCx600m
    motherbored Gigabyte 970a-ud3p


    Windows 7 Ultimate
    Intel 120 gb ssd

    lg optical drive

    case: diablotek evo atx midtower

    Cost was 737.50

    thank you all for your help
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page