1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

help with a new ivy bridge upgrade build please :)

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by i9000gt, Apr 29, 2012.

  1. i9000gt

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    55 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    hi guys!

    Intel CPU Core i7 3770K Quad Core IvyBridge Processor Retail

    Asus P8Z77-V DELUXE Intel Z77 Socket 1155 Ivybridge Ready Motherboard

    i already got the gpu - ati radeon 6950 2GB

    any SSD or normall HDD recommedations? (already own 750gb samsung hdd)

    any RAM recommendations??? preferred 16GB -32GB

    will my current seasonic S12 600watt be enough to power it all????


    ive kinda been out of the tech scene since my last purchase (q6600) lol any feedback will be muchly appreciated. guys thanks.
  2. Naito

    Naito

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    271 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    79
    Location:
    Terra Australis
    I see that Crucial M4s are popular and seemingly reliable. With a HDD that size, maybe just a 128GB for a boot drive.

    Anything 1600MHz CL8 or faster. The 1155 cores love high frequency RAM. I went two G.Skill F3-14900CL9D-8GBXL kits. Clocked at 1866MHz on 9-9-9-24 timings.

    Seasonic is excellent; if it's powering your current rig, it'll power your future rig.
  3. i9000gt

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    55 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2012
  4. Naito

    Naito

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    271 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    79
    Location:
    Terra Australis
    Any particular reason you want a 2x 8GB kit?
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2012
  5. i9000gt

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    55 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    The motherboard is dual channel.

    So i wanted 2x8gb. 16gb is the latest trend is it not?
  6. Naito

    Naito

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    271 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    79
    Location:
    Terra Australis
    I would recommend looking at buying two, 2x 4GB kits, because 8GB sticks tend to have higher latencies due to density. As I said before, anything 1600MHz CL8, 1866MHz 9-10-9-27(28), or higher. Preferably modules that stick to 1.5v at highest SPD.
    i9000gt says thanks.
  7. Anusha

    Anusha

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    750 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    and definitely NOT Corsair Vengeance. if he should get Vengeance RAM, he should get the LP model. Price should be similar anyways.
  8. Naito

    Naito

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    271 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    79
    Location:
    Terra Australis
    CL8 1600MHz 1.5V 2x 4GB KITS

    G.Skill F3-1600C8D-8GAB
    Crucial BLE2CP4G3D1608DE1TX0CEU
    Crucial BLTCP4G3D1608DT2TXRGCEU
    Crucial BLTCP4G3D1608DT2TXOBCEU

    CL9 1866MHz 1.5V 2x 4GB KITS

    Corsair CMT8GX3M2A1866C9
    Corsair CMZ8GX3M2A1866C9
    Mushkin 997052
    G.Skill F3-1866C9D-8GAB

    CL9 2133MHz 1.5V 2x 4GB KITS

    Corsair CMT8GX3M2B2133C9

    Some are guaranteed to run at stated maximum timings, only when manually set. Rather than being supported by XMP/SPD.
    i9000gt says thanks.
  9. i9000gt

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    55 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Corsair Memory Dominator GT 8GB DDR3 2133 MHz Dual Channel Desktop

    FOUND THESE FOR £90

    thanks mate, so theres no real significant real time performance difference on running on win7 x64between 8gb to 16gb?

    im purely buying this for gaming and watching hd content.
  10. Hugis

    Hugis

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    95 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    i9000gt says thanks.
  11. i9000gt

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    55 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    so which is better buy?

    Samsung Green 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 PC3-12800C11 1600MHz 30nm Dual Channel Kit

    or

    Corsair Memory Dominator GT 8GB DDR3 2133 MHz Dual Channel Desktop???
  12. LDNL

    LDNL

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    450 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    Finland
    Im running 2x2gigs and while playing bf3 taskmanager says im using ~2.5gigs right now so even 8 gigs is already abit too much but would be more future proof. And ofc lower latency numbers over amount of ram-
  13. Hugis

    Hugis

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    95 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Did you read the review on TPU of these?

    Basically id get 2 sets and save yourself some cash....
  14. Naito

    Naito

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    271 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    79
    Location:
    Terra Australis
    Hmmm, that Samsung RAM is really impressive; it would really be worth grabbing two of these kits. I suppose it's really up to whether i9000gt really wants to fiddle around with timings and voltage to fully optimize the Samsung modules. If not, I'd suggest a kit that'll give you what you want, with minimum setup.
  15. Naito

    Naito

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    271 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    79
    Location:
    Terra Australis
    Just completely out of interest and way off topic; Hugis, is that a Raoul Duke version of Mario in your avatar picture?
  16. nleksan

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Ohio
    That's definitely Raul Duke, and it's fucking awesome! I lived in Aspen for a while and actually got to be pretty good friends with Anita, Hunters 2nd wife (I was a pharmacy tech @ the only one in the town).
  17. Hugis

    Hugis

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    95 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
  18. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    450
    Going for higher clocked RAM on 1155 is actually pointless, and the difference is only in synthetic benchmarks and price.
    For gaming and such I don't think the higher price justifies the 1 FPS increase.

    http://www.anandtech.com/show/4503/sandy-bridge-memory-scaling-choosing-the-best-ddr3/6

    The tests are for Sandy Bridge but I imagine that the numbers would be similar for IB.

    So just get 2x4GB at 1600MHz and your good. If you will need more you can always add 8GB more but for your purposes 8GB is enough.
  19. Yo_Wattup New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    What? where did you hear that? All reviews on sandy/ivy suggest otherwise... Please try and do some research before giving people advice... especially if they are going to purchase something with their own money.

    Thank you.
  20. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    I got me some G.Skill TridentX 2400 8GB 2x4gb kit

    Idk why there telling you get slower ram if your getting a 3770k lol

    Ivy are not like sb... The ivy imc let the mem oc a lot higher ;)
  21. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    450
    But does it give you any performance increase?

    Even if he is buying 3770k that doesn't mean he should just be throwing money away, but rather invest the difference in an SSD.

    EDIT:
    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/ivy-bridge-benchmark-core-i7-3770k,3181-10.html

    If you can get 1866 RAM for the same price of the 1600 I say go for it, but if it's quite a lot more, the performance you get from that is almost the same so I say it's not worth it.
  22. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    I'm talking about 2400 not 2133/1833

    Cuz even those 2400 should oc up to 2600

    But idk when his going to order and I don't get my 3770k mvg and ram till tuesday :(

    To check......

    And idk about ssd there nice and all but not worth the money imo for how much space you get...
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2012
  23. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    450
    If you look closer at the benchmarks you would see that the scaling isn't linear and you don't get any benefit in games from it.
    SSD can give you smoother gameplay in games which do a lot of reads all the time. OP said he already has a 750GB disk...120GB SSD for OS and the 750GB disk for storage, but as you said the cost per GB is still quite high (IMO) but it depends how much space you need for an OS drive :toast:
  24. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    Yeah its lil faster from 1600/1800/2133

    And it shouldn't matter in games much but I use mine to convert files and stuff like that

    But mine where $100 for mem so it wasn't to bad cuz the 2600 was $200 :S

    And the way some games are getting are big you song have much room go put like one game on it lol
    repman244 says thanks.
  25. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    450
    Yeah it all comes down to how much it costs. RAM is dirty cheap these days, I remember paying 160€ for mine (4x2GB) now I could get 4x4GB for 100€ :(

    I guess you are right, games these days can take up around 20GB easily, and you end up having only 3-5 installed (assuming you have a 120GB SSD).

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page