1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help with Asus P5K Prem +E2140

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by theonetruewill, Apr 5, 2008.

  1. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    I simply cannot get this board to boot above 325FSB- I know it sounds stupid but I just can't get it to do it. It is supposed to be able to take 1333 CPU's so it should be able to. I have an E2140 in it and regardless of multiplier cannot get it over the 325 number. So I rules out CPU not being able to handle it. The computer is fine at 325, with low voltages and all is good. Go above that and nothing works. I have tried everything I could think of- changed RAM speed, timings, to quite insanely slow speeds, I have increased voltages to silly heights, I have decreased voltages to silly lows, and yet still I have no fruits to bear from my labour. I'm stuck and I'm tired and annoyed so suggestions would be helpful.
    System is as in specs but with an Asus P5K Premium and E2140. And yes I did update the BIOS.
    I have never heard of an L2 E2140 having a FSB wall as low as 325 - at the present time I cannot believe that.
    8x Multi standard btw
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2008
  2. philbrown23

    philbrown23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,231 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    147
    Location:
    vermont
    you increased fsb voltages?? mch/nb voltages??
  3. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,425 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,495
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    How is your memory taking the OC? What strap do you have it locked on to?
  4. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    I increased FSB termination, NB, SB, Vcore to insane heights to recieve no positive results. I have set the memory at varying speeds of around 670, 790, 830, 900 and something, and ended there. FSB strap has been at 200, 266, and 330. I have tried the PCI-E at 101 as well a the usual locked 100.
  5. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Heya truewill, been a while. You know there is also people experiencing the "binned allendale syndrome" with these chips too. Not every chip in the e2XXX series is the same and I am just thinking you hit an fsb wall with a binned allendale versus a deliberately crippled one.
  6. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    There is a large mallet nearby- and my E2140 is coming perilously closed to facing destruction if this is the case. I have saved up for 6 months to get the motherboard, and got the CPU about 5 months ago. Understandably I feel, I am a little pissed off.
  7. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,481 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    473
    Location:
    University of Pittsburgh School of Dental Medicine
    I know it's a dumb question but, are you absolutely sure you're upping the vcore?
    I thought my e2200 had a wall at 3.1, turned out my new board had a funny name for the vcore and I was never actually adjusting it! I felt like such a noob haha! that also means the e2200 was able to hit 3.1 stable at stock voltage!
  8. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Positive - have checked with CPU-Z, Asus Probe, and BIOS Hardware Monitor.
  9. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,481 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    473
    Location:
    University of Pittsburgh School of Dental Medicine
    then I'm afraid you've found yourself a bad chip :(
  10. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Well, if its of any help truewill, my e1200 fsb walls around 378, anything higher at any voltage the whole PC becomes unstable.

    i975x chipset is good up to about 425-430 with 5-5-5-15 ram timings.

    EDIT But even at that 325 fsb is about a 70% overclock and in my eyes is still pretty good.
  11. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    [​IMG]
  12. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Any more suggestions?
  13. boshuter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    31 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    "show me state"
    I think those guys are correct, it's the cpu, not the board. I ran into a similar problem with my P5K "vanilla", it was hitting a wall at 550-560fsb with my E8400, I tried every setting, voltage, multi, etc. and could not get past that wall. I was about to give up on the board and get a 965 chipset board to oc the 8400 when someone suggested it may just be the cpu, and that getting it cold might cure it. ;) So.... I bolted on my mousepot, filled it with dry ice and ... the wall was gone :D It now does 600fsb X 9 and all settings in bios are on "auto" with the exception of vcore and vdimm.
  14. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Well lads I have great mates. I have given a lot of components and equipment to my mates over the last few years as they're nearly always broke, but never did I expect anything in return. I was taken completely aback when after one of my mates had heard of my complete disillusionment with my chip he asked how high it went to.
    -I said '2.6GHz complete max- I can't get any higher.'
    -He came this morning with his E2140 and said, "Look Will, I only have my chip at 2.5GHz anyway so take mine and see what you can do with it- and I'll take yours.'
    -I said no, but he was extremely persistent. So attached is my first test with my mates old chip.
    -Mates are awesome:cool:

    Attached Files:

  15. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    +1 to that will! Exactly what I thought in my previous post, congrats on clocks!
  16. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,916 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    811
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    Whats your vdroop?

    My E2140 reached 3.8Ghz the other day. 1.5V though. :laugh:

    Temps were 61C under load.:laugh:
  17. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Vdroop is 0.02v according to CPU-Z. Testing chip @ 3.4 now.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page