1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help with BF3 Micro-Stuttering

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by jonathan1107, Nov 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,829 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    476
    I tried that, it was still stuttery as hell. It's definetly the textures, i currently run at 2xmsaa with medium textures, no probs.

    Even with the stuttering i was getting a good framerate according to fraps. Latest BF3 drivers. Weird
  2. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,041 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    - Are you running Crossfire or SLI? Yes

    - Do you have the 2nd gen i5s or i7s? Yes

    - Are you maxing ALL the settings... including AA and v-sync on? Yes both MSAA and FXAA are on max

    - Have you even tested to see if you have stutter... It only happens in a manifest way... when you get really close to an object and stare @ it while you move around (mouse + keyboard)...?

    Nope, the only dips I get is when a tank explodes infront of mah face.
  3. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    849 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    What I noticed is, the stuttering seems to come from my CPU having a hard time working with BF3 and my crossfire setup because of it's low speed (it's @ 3.6ghz instead of my usual 4ghz)...

    Maybe my mobo doesn't help either... All I know is, when my cpu is @ 4ghz, no stutter whatsoever... but I can't keep that OC... too unstable for my current rig right now (especially temps a bit too high)...

    So I'm thinking, U guys prob don't have the problems I have because you're on the 2nd gen of i7 or i5... running crazy high CPU speed... like 4.6ghz.. or 4.8ghz...
  4. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    849 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    I went ahead and tried your test... and it looks like my CPU is holding back the cards a little... for me CPU is yellow and GPU green... When the stuttering happens I see that the GPU line seems to spike up a little while the CPU is pretty much at the same line the whole time...

    I'm pretty sure that when I try this with my 4ghz OC and RAM oc, it should change a little...
  5. dehdar New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    This sucks, I feel your pain.

    Seems like you've tried pretty much everything. Did you try the driver I suggested? It's a beta driver and in the release notes it claims to fix a lot of issues for people running BF3 in "crossfire"... I don't know what else to do.

    Best of luck.
  6. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    At AMDs Catalyst site, 11.9 specifically says: "- Battlefield 3 – Provides great CrossFire scaling and resolves stuttering issues when running in CrossFire mode"
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,495 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,910
    It's a lie. Best driver to use is the 11.10 WHQL with the latest CAP 4.
    Irony says thanks.
  8. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    I haven't read the whole thread but just wanted to share my experience. I had a lot of stuttering in BF3 with my setup, it got progressively better with the newer drivers but was still noticeable. I have just installed the newest 11.10 WHQL and CAP4 and the game plays perfect. No stuttering and good FPS. I do still get some green flashes on the screen but these are only very small/quick and intermittent.
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,943 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,364
    jonathan1107:

    seriously?

    just because you spent "2.8K" on a system doesnt mean anything. except that you spent more money than you should have >.>

    and then you bring up an old game like crysis saying it runs fine?


    I think you need to stop making assumptions and start thinking about the problem here - maybe your overclock is wrong, your unlocked cards arent working right, or your OS is just screwed (and yes, that happens. a format can fix a lot of problems)


    blaming it on the game is the easy way out, it just means you dont want to admit something you did to your system, hardware or software, could be the problem.
  10. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,041 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Mate turn off hyperthreading and you'll be able to get that CPU stable at 4ghz. HT was shown to barely give BF3 any performance improvements infact it did the opposite for some people and hindered performance.

    This guy for example: http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/114711-13-battlefield-hyperthreading-experience

    And this thread: http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?p=1037951359

    It is easy to mistake that the lag or small jumps and fluctuations you get in the game are cause by some keyboard/LAN/Network/Internet settings when it's not.
    jonathan1107 says thanks.
  11. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,495 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,910
    I agree, especially since this problem seems to have been happening well before BF3 was released:
    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=147460
  12. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    849 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    Ok here it goes:

    1. I did not spend too much, I bought everything off the internet with the cheapest prices one could get (at the time of course)... There's no such thing as too much, when you want crisp and clean power from your PC... but that here is clearly a matter of opinion... so I consider that when you say "you spent too much" that is not a FACT but an opinion...

    2. Crysis is known to be one of the most demanding pc game of all times (both crysis and crysis warhead. They are both very GPU and CPU demanding...) So yes sir, I do consider that game a good "benchmark" for anyone's overclock... unlock... you name it.

    3. My cards are not unlocked with the 6970's bios... they only have their shaders unlocked... I restored them to their default bios and it didn't fix the stuttering... It is true that stuff like my OC, windows install or driver residue IS capable of causing problems. But Like I said, I tested all of those things, I even went back to older dx11 titles (like DA2, Witcher 2 etc...) and no stuttering (when @ 4ghz)

    4. Clearly, if you have taken any 5 minutes of your time to google it, and looked @ the EA forums, you would see that I am indeed CORRECT in blaming the game this time.... or at least in saying it has had MAJOR issues since the beta, and even since the official release. But again, this has been true, mostly for SLI and CF users... TRUE enough for AMD (don't know about Nvidia) to release brand new drivers to fix the situation (right after the game's release...) Now doesn't that tell you in Neon lights that the game devs must have missed something... like possibly looking into possible CF glitchy performance?

    4. I do believe that sometimes just a little patience goes a long way for PC games... Often, new drivers will come out or patches from the game devs... and stuff gets fixed... So, yes forgive my young age, when some games come out, I get excited and anticipating, and patience is not always the dominating sentiment in those moments...
  13. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    849 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    True that... I didn't try lowering the v-core now that HT's off... I'm gonna try upping the CPU speed back to 4ghz... (pretty sure that should bring the CPU up to speed with the GPUs...) Thx for the tip
  14. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,420 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,987
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I tried turning off my HT and it made my game much worse. I guess its all up to your system.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    849 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    quick question: If I decide to upgrade for a better CPU @ 1 point, what CPU would U suggest when looking @ my specs...

    and what's the socket for the new i7s (cause I'm not sure my mobo's compatible with the new gens...)
  16. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,420 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,987
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Go for Z68+2500K/2600K

    Or

    Wait until X79 is released
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    X79+36k
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,495 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,910
    For gaming? That's ridiculous considering the price.
  19. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,126 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,742
    Location:
    04578
    yea all X79 offers is better PCIE lane counts thats about it
  20. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,420 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,987
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I believe a Z68+25/2600K+6950/70 2GB would be perfect for gaming at this time.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,644 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    Location:
    Chicago
    ^ Agreed. Get the 2GB VRAM while you're at it.
  22. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,747 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,782
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    He's already got 2x 6950 2GB. :eyesrolled:


    :laugh:
  23. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,495 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,910
    I just don't understand why people think it's the CPU. If my 4 core, 8 thread FX-8150 can run this game with CrossFire (1gb cards no less) without stuttering, I would think his Intel chip could do the same. There HAS to be something else creating the stuttering.
  24. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,126 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,742
    Location:
    04578
    lol dave i was gonna post it but i wanted to see how long it took them to read his specs before replying, sadly you said something ruining my fun

    and i agree with erocker

    its an ID-10T error
  25. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,747 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,782
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Not for sure though. BD has higher memory bandwidth than 1156. 1156 needs 2000Mhz ram just to match BD @ 1600 MHz.

    Like I hear where you are coming form, but there are only so many possible causes...software problems(possible and likely), or that the CPU just sucks for BF3(also possible).

    BF3 is the wrong app to mention BD chips anyway, as AMD is even hyping 8150 with nV cards for BF3. Why?

    All I know is that I have 2600K, HT on/HT off didn't make any difference. And I have no stutter. You know how big of a boost SB can give even single cards...and I know you perosnally have like NONE of the issues the rest of us do. The App sucks.:laugh:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page