1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help With BSOD

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Chicken Patty, Oct 24, 2009.

  1. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (12.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,224
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Hello everyone,

    I keep having this BSOD which had gone away for a while, but now has returned to haunt me. However, before we continue with this I need you guys to help me find the log in Event Viewer so I can copy and paste it here. Where is it, I don't remember which one it is in there. Thanks guys.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (12.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,224
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    anyone? I'm about to throw it out the window. I just don't know what I need to copy and paste from the event viewer, help!!!
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Copy and paste everything it says in the ''description'' part on it. Also the ''Event ID'' would be helpful.

    I would think the error would be under ''System''.
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2009
  4. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    I cant remember exactly where it saves it at but I am thinking it is in Windows, system 32 event viewer.
  5. Laurijan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,228 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    343
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Have you scanned your memory and HDDs for errors?
  6. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (12.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,224
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I'll look now guys, thanks.

    Memtest overnight, perfectly fine. What can I use to scan HDD? You know what is freaking me out, I have a 1TB Seagate. Those drives had lotta issues.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Laurijan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,228 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    343
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    HDD Regenerators trial can scan in Windows and thru boot CD/DVD for bad sectors: http://www.dposoft.net/
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  8. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (12.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,224
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Im looking to see if I find the info in event viewer so i can copy and paste it here. i'll tackle the link you gave me in a few.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (12.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,224
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    This is the latest error it shows under "system"

    Performance power management features on processor 1 in group 0 are disabled due to a firmware problem. Check with the computer manufacturer for updated firmware.



    <Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
    - <System>
    <Provider Name="Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-Processor-Power" Guid="{0F67E49F-FE51-4E9F-B490-6F2948CC6027}" />
    <EventID>35</EventID>
    <Version>0</Version>
    <Level>2</Level>
    <Task>2</Task>
    <Opcode>0</Opcode>
    <Keywords>0x8000000000000000</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2009-10-24T18:23:44.468750000Z" />
    <EventRecordID>46731</EventRecordID>
    <Correlation />
    <Execution ProcessID="4" ThreadID="44" />
    <Channel>System</Channel>
    <Computer>DavidAguado-PC</Computer>
    <Security UserID="S-1-5-18" />
    </System>
    - <EventData>
    <Data Name="Group">0</Data>
    <Data Name="Number">1</Data>
    </EventData>
    </Event>
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (12.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,224
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    to fill you guys in. I have it on a tech bench, so I removed it removed the fans from the heatsink and just loosened the heatsink a bit to make sure it was not too tight and it was bending the board causing this. Before it was pretty constant and Linx would not pass not even a minute. Same settings now it has not done it, and at least it passed a quick session of linx.

    [​IMG]
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (7.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Maybe it's because you're running at 4.3ghz and it isn't completely stable?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    shortages? voltages that are just a notch too low?
    board is bent too much?

    i believe my ones came from the biostar not beeing dual power plane... i only ged bad system config ones now for the third of a sec, then reboot. must be the lack of mosfets and solid caps on the biostar...
    how are the mosfets cooled on your board? everything cool?:D
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2009
  13. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,307 (7.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,840
    CP I hunt for Fixes with the BSOD codes. Go to Power MAnagement and find the setting for what to do on failure. Tell it not to restart.

    Get the PC to crash and get me a 0X000..... code and the reason typed in CAPS across the top please. I will try to help you hunt it down that way;)
  14. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    how do you do that? i would nearly give an arm for the ability to decrypt that:D
  15. Woody112

    Woody112 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    562 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Florida
    I use google. Just type in BSOD code 0X000 what ever the code is and get hits on it. I'm sure there are other ways but this usually works for me.
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  16. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (12.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,224
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    When I was watercooled I ran this setting for months. I backed down with the other cooler due to temps. With new cooler I loaded these and now it happens. it ain't stability, passes linx as long as I want.

    I think it was either the board getting bent, or the USB keyboard/mouse. I switched USB ports. Everything is cool man, nothing is overheating, everything is pretty much cool to the touch.


    I'll do that. If it BSOD's, i'll get the # for you.




    Here is a few observations.

    1- Lately it was not BSOD'ing, the video card fan would spin up, and the blue light on the gx2 will turn off. The monitors go black, and you still have sound playback, like if its just the monitors turned off, but everything else is still working.
    2- Since the last BSOD, I have tightened the screws that support the board a bit more, it sits on rubber bushing like things that are held by screw. I screwed them in more to make sure that by any chance they were not touching the board.
    3- I switched ports for my usb mouse/keyboard. So far its passing LInx as it used to before and everything, no BSOD.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (12.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,224
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    last one I got said something about 0X000 and ended in 124 i think. I googled that, but it was sooo many things that it didn't help at all.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,307 (7.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,840
    124 is a vista specific code with no real answer. I usually found if adding a couple ticks to either CPU, NB or VTT (775) didn't solve it, I was usually pushing my OC too far. Clocking back a touch usually solved it.
  19. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    whats a 0000008E?
    i got that many times with the old board:)
  20. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (12.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,224
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Thing is it happens at default clocks too!
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,307 (7.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,840
    Not to hijack the OP, as you should take this to another thread, but simply, it's a ram error. But it may not be the rams fault. I have had a bad CPU clock with too little voltage cause a page fault in a non paged area error b4. I wish it was more of an exact science, but you just have to get em all to "harmonize" for 24/7 running. For benching you can have a few "of key" notes going and still get the point across.
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  22. Woody112

    Woody112 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    562 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Florida
    I know your running win 7 but it should still pertain.
    http://www.vistax64.com/vista-general/76315-bsod-124-vista_driver_fault-audiodg-exe.html
    Looks like a driver fault

    That one is for ram issues.
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2009
  23. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    i dont know what such a 10 layer board can take. how many newton did you applied? my biostar bent severly,it got over 200 newton, the foxconn retention plate is designed better, so im at about 150 newton now:)

    memtest showed no errors, and the dominators were severly cooled, even at stock ram clocks it happened during clocking beyond 3.87
  24. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,307 (7.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,840
    if its happening at defaults, and ur pretty sure hardware is functional, Id seriously look into corruption of the HDD due to erratic clocks being used.
    Chicken Patty and Woody112 say thanks.
  25. Woody112

    Woody112 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    562 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Florida
    That's a good point. I actually had something like that happen with one of my old 500g storage drives. Removed it and all was good.
    Chicken Patty says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page