1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help With BSOD

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Chicken Patty, Oct 24, 2009.

  1. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,568 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,325
    I corrupted a windows install once back in the day with high PCI clocks on a P3. caused wierd and random erros. I only discovered it as the file size had changed for a couple system files by only a couple bits.


    Also fucking with your registry in Win7/Vista X64 adn changing permissions is a no no now. YOu must use another program to work with the registry.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  2. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I read last night somewhere, was trying to find link again but couldn't. However, I read that the Seagates 1TB are faulty, lot of us know this but it starts to BSOD and eventually the BIOS stops reading the drive.

    However, since I changed the USB ports for my mouse/keyboard, and loosened the HS slightly, its gone. Let's hope it was one of those two :toast:

    Thanks for the help guys. I'll keep you'll posted.
     
    Woody112 says thanks.
  3. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Ok, after the last stable linx run I lowered vcore a bit more and got a BSOD while I was gone. Dont know if it was the same one as before but probably as the code is the same. here is what windows said when I booted back up. Any idea what this is, Im'ma try to Google this now.

    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
    OS Version: 6.1.7100.2.0.0.256.1
    Locale ID: 1033

    Additional information about the problem:
    BCCode: 124
    BCP1: 0000000000000000
    BCP2: FFFFFA8005CD5028
    BCP3: 00000000BE000000
    BCP4: 0000000000800400
    OS Version: 6_1_7100
    Service Pack: 0_0
    Product: 256_1

    Files that help describe the problem:
    C:\Windows\Minidump\102409-19984-01.dmp
    C:\Users\David Aguado\AppData\Local\Temp\WER-26343-0.sysdata.xml

    Read our privacy statement online:
    http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=104288&clcid=0x0409

    If the online privacy statement is not available, please read our privacy statement offline:
    C:\Windows\system32\en-US\erofflps.txt
     
  4. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
  5. Woody112

    Woody112 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    562 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Florida
    Give me a minute or two. I'll look that up for ya.;)
     
  6. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,264 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    353
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    You could run Ubuntu Live CD and inside Ubuntu run some benchmarks or something to test the stability of your PC
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  7. Woody112

    Woody112 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    562 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Florida
    OK, from what I just gathered 124 could be caused by "any" hardware/ driver error and is a pain to diagnose. I personally would recommend updating all drives and bench testing your rig with minimum hardware and work your way up to diagnose. this includes all floppy, dvd, wifi, gpu, and extra hdds you may have installed.
    124 is very, very open to interpretation and does not pin point what's causing the failure. It comes down to a process of elimination.
    Sorry I couldn't be of more help, and truly hope you get this sorted out.
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  8. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,121 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
  9. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,264 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    353
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Didnt he said that he removed the OC and the problem is still there?
     
  10. Woody112

    Woody112 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    562 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Florida
    Yes he reset the CMOS and still the problem reoccurred with a BSOD, error code of 124.
     
  11. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,121 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,939
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Two things are important about a BSOD:
    1) STOP code (e.g. 0x00000124)
    2) Faulting module (e.g. nv4_disp.dll)

    They always appear in the same place (#1 is a few lines from the top, #2 is a few lines from the bottom).

    My question for you is: what was #2?


    All I know is that 0x0000003B and 0x00000050 on nv4_disp.dll is most likely a dead/dying video card. 0x0000000A is most likely cased by instable memory (bad sticks or not enough voltage). 0x00000124 appears to be common with NVIDIA cards...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Thanks for all the help guys. overclock is not the issue here. neither is video card.

    Why, easy!

    1-This was happening after I loaded defaults. everything at stock.
    2-I tried a 3870x2 in place of my GX2, and it happened. I tried two different 3870x2's to be exact. Problem was still there ruling out the videocard being faulty


    So update. The rig has been crunching for 7.5 hours and it has not had any sign of issues or instability. This is at the 4.3 Ghz setting. All I had done was I loosened up the Heatsink a bit to make sure it was not bending the board and switched my mouse and keyboard to different USB ports.

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Ok. I woke up this morning to find the rig at the logon screen. Same BSOD.


    I am running a HDD testing tool from Hirens Boot CD. So far it is about 4 minutes in and it has found an error. Anybody have any input on this? I gotta runf or now, I'll just leave it running.
     
  14. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,264 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    353
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Nobody?
     
  15. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    i try it atm;) cant hurt:D
     
  16. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,714 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,234
    Hey CP on my 775 i have my cooler cranked all the way down (775 though). Is there not a plate for the i7 to go under the board?

    I would run more dignostics on the drive. Not too sure which test n Hirens you used but I would make sure to run SEAtools on it from segate also.
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  17. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    the hriens boot CD test found one error. it also has HDD Generator or whatever its called. However, now Im running Seagate Seatools in DOS. It has found and error too, hopefully it'll get repaired. Once it does what do I do, just use the PC normal and see if it keeps having the same issue?
     
  18. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,714 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,234
    yes. What test is running, sector scan or what? and what is the error?
     
  19. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    When it's done I'll let u know
     
  20. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Guys I put my stock cooler back and now the BSOD is gone, running at defaults, which it wouldn't even run before. What am I doing wrong?

    Seems that either waterblocks or heatsinks that use a backplate cause the issue. The intel cooler that has push pin mechanism doesn't cause it?? :confused:
     
  21. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Hello all, here to give an update.
    still having problems, however no more BSOD. Just the monitors go black and video card fan spins up. So I decided to run memtest again. This set of RAM had passed memtest overnight about 2 months ago. However, could have gone bad since.

    I started memtest only to come back home and see my screen black and the video card fan about to fly out of the card. Same thing it does in windows. Now my question is the following. Does that indicate the RAM is bad, or could something else have caused that?

    I am running right now with a spare kit of DDR3 I had put away and its fine so far running linx. If it fails in windows then I'll move to memtest and see if the RAM fails there. However, that's only if it fails in windows.
     
  22. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,679 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,869
    Hey CP, go to aumha.org for your original BSODs, see if that may indicate what maybe crapping out on the system, worst comes to worst, run the machine at stock settings and see if the problems disappear, also another thing to consider, sometimes graphics drivers do get corrupt, ive had it happen before which resulted in a Driver Reinstall.
     
  23. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I'll check that out now.

    As far as drivers, I just reinstalled the graphics drivers today. No difference. At stock it does seem to dissappear. I'm just hoping it was my RAM. I would hate to have to RMA board/CPU or something else.
     
  24. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,441 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,045
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Just a thought, but what do you have taking the weight of the gfx card off the motherboard? I noticed the other cards you tested are heavy as well.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    What do you mean. The card is held in place by a bar that runs from one side of the rear of the tech station to the other and its screwed in.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page