1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help with CPU overclock please !!!

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by piratexx, Feb 28, 2012.

  1. piratexx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have Gigabyte G41MT-S2P
    [​IMG]
    core 2 duo E7500 2.93
    I want to overclock my Core 2 duo from bios without using fans from 2.93 to 3.6 I put the voltage in auto .
    I want to ask Is that safe or not ?
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2012
  2. Conflict0s

    Conflict0s

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    399 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom.
    Hey Pirate, welcome to TPU.

    Are you meaning:
    "I want to overclock my core 2 duo from within the BIOS.
    I won't be using fans to cool my system (not even the CPU?)
    I want to go from 2.9 to 3.6Ghz.
    I have left the voltage control on auto." ?

    Without even looking at the ability to overclock with that board, I think it would be safe to say that you need some form of cooling, especially with that much of an overclock.
    BrettRuthnam says thanks.
  3. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,509 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    +1 Conflict0s "without even looking at the ability to overclock with that board, I think it would be safe to say that you need some form of cooling, especially with that much of an overclock."

    nb: unless you happen to live in the arctic with an ambient indoor temperature of zero degrees or lower

    atb (all the best)

    Law-II
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,416 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    On 775, the best way to OC is to lower ram speeds to lowest they will go (some 533 and others is 667) then start raising the FSB slowly when it refuses to boot. raise voltages until you reach the OC you desire. Then do stability tests raising CPU voltage each time instability occurs. If RAM starts going over its stock rated speeds you will need to increase voltage and sometimes CAS timings. At this point you may start to need NB voltages to stabilize your OC.
    __________________
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. white phantom

    white phantom New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    209 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Kilmarnock Scotland
    may i ask if there is "no fans" what method or substance (oil,liquid, passive heatsinks e.t.c) are you using in order to cool the cpu?, adding an overclock will produce more heat an without the adequate cooling could permanently damage the chip, also auto voltage usually juices the chip more than what is needed i would take the time to do some research and try and find the lowest voltage it will stay stable at your desired speed
  6. piratexx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I forget to tell that I had processor fan only
  7. white phantom

    white phantom New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    209 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Kilmarnock Scotland
    ok is this the stock heatsink/fan combo or an aftermarket?, if its stock i would probably say no to any overclocking as they are not very good at heat transfer however it can be done in certain cases, especially if you have no air intake/exhaust fans in order to aid heat exhaustion and a fresh cool air source intake for the heatsink then temps may be to high
  8. piratexx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    my stock is heatsink/fan combo
  9. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,768 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    561
    Location:
    New York
    Before overclocking that baby , you will need a better cooling option for the CPU.
  10. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    You need a way better cooling solution before you attempt an Over Clock. Stock cooling is not good at all for over clocking let alone stock speeds. And then I would suggest that you read through the forums here about just how to over clock your rig. As you seem new to this there are lots of variables like RAM speed and voltages you are going to need to familiarize your self with before you attempt to do this. It may seem easy but if you do not do things right then you can end up with a fried system. Or one so unstable you will not be able to use it.
  11. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,416 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    For a cheap cooler, I would go with the 212+ evo
    trickson says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    +1.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page