1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help With Crossfire

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by POOLESOFT, Oct 7, 2008.

  1. POOLESOFT

    POOLESOFT New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    76 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    thomasville ga
    , I HAVE A 4870 AND A 4850 , WHEN RUNNING THE 4870 I HAVE NO PROBLEMS , WHEN I ENABLE CROSSFIRE THAY CRASH AS SOON AS THE GAME STARTS , AND ONLY HIGH END GAMES LIKE CRYSIS , DIRT , GRID , HALF-LIFE , ALL THE GOOD ONES , ANY HELP WOULD BE WELCOME .............THANK YOU , :banghead:




    WITH OR WITH OUT THEM OVERCLOCKED I GET SAME REZULTS? :rockout:
  2. FooArm

    FooArm New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    99 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Near lake Erie
    you can run a 4870 + 4850 together ??? rly ?? um if so update all drivers and make sure you have enough power in the power supply and your running on vista OS
    POOLESOFT says thanks.
  3. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    also just for a test over volt the pci-E slots a smidge. See if they aren't getting enough juice, and don't forget to keep your North Bridge cool.
    POOLESOFT says thanks.
  4. POOLESOFT

    POOLESOFT New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    76 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    thomasville ga
    I HAVE VISTA 64 , HAD 8.9 BUT HAVE 8.10 BATA DRIVERS , AND A Ultra 750w X2 Power Supply ? .....WHAT MORE DO I NEED.........THAY RUN FINE UNTILL THE GAMES FULLY LOADS THEN THE WHOLE COMPUTER REBOOTS
  5. POOLESOFT

    POOLESOFT New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    76 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    thomasville ga



    over volt the pci-E slots TOO ? HOW MUCH?
  6. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    a step at a time friend, but just to for me to be honest I don't think a 750W psu is enough for both of those cards. What's a 750W x2?
    POOLESOFT says thanks.
  7. POOLESOFT

    POOLESOFT New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    76 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    thomasville ga
    HERE IS SOME INFO ON MY SYSTEM , IT IS ONLY ABOUT 4 MONTHS OLD
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
  8. POOLESOFT

    POOLESOFT New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    76 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    thomasville ga
    X2 IS THE CABLE SYSTEM , HAS SEPRATE WIRES
  9. POOLESOFT

    POOLESOFT New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    76 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    thomasville ga
    My Pci Bus Is 100 , Is That The One To Bump Up ?
  10. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,946 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Try uninstalling all drivers then use a driver cleaner program to clean everything. Then reinstall catalyst 8.9
    POOLESOFT says thanks.
  11. POOLESOFT

    POOLESOFT New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    76 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    thomasville ga


    THANKS BUT BEEN THERE A FEW TIMES , CENCE CATALYST 8.4
  12. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,484 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,896
    Unstable overclock. It's not your cards at all. Using crossfire will tax your whole system and when under load it is becoming unstable.
    POOLESOFT says thanks.
  13. POOLESOFT

    POOLESOFT New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    76 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    thomasville ga
    I HAVE TRYED IT WITH NOTHING OVERCLOCKED , GET SAME REZULTS FOR PAST 4 MONTHS :banghead::confused::mad::cry:
  14. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    He's said he gets the same results without any OC on his system.
    POOLESOFT says thanks.
  15. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    With my 2x 4870s I had to loosen up my ram timings a bit for some reason and I did a lot of tweaking with the voltages to NBridge. Then I adjusted the PCI-E slots because Warhead was getting testy. I annoyed the crap outta Fitseries just to be told I have to tweak with just about everything related to the PCI-E slots until I know what's happening.
    POOLESOFT says thanks.
  16. POOLESOFT

    POOLESOFT New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    76 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    thomasville ga
    IM GOING TO TRY TOO over volt the pci-E slots ? WISH ME LUCK ?
  17. POOLESOFT

    POOLESOFT New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    76 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    thomasville ga
    adjusted the PCI-E slots TO WHAT?
  18. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Lol I'm sorry I can't be more help man. If I tried it on my brother's PC, which I did, it would have different results. It was a lot of crappy work to get it working decently. :(
    POOLESOFT says thanks.
  19. POOLESOFT

    POOLESOFT New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    76 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    thomasville ga
    well im off to do some crappy work (lol) wish me luck !
  20. PCpraiser100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Try doing no OC whatsoever, sometimes that worked for me when I had my trusty x1950PROs back then when they had different stock clocks. Another thing is that make sure your BIOS recognizes the two cards and if so reinstall your drivers after a driver cleanup. If that doesn't work, make sure you have the latest BIOS for your motherboard.

    EDIT: and see if you have any CCC OpenGL controls that can conflict with your games such as the "Alternate Pixel Center" feature.
    POOLESOFT says thanks.
  21. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    4xxx series has no such options for openGL. He's scrubbed drivers until his eyes were bleeding out, and it's with some of his games but not benchmarks. >< Strange but I can relate as Vantage never crashed me but Warhead did.
    POOLESOFT says thanks.
  22. POOLESOFT

    POOLESOFT New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    76 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    thomasville ga
    still no luck

    pci bus , is 100 and i tryed it in all steps up too 110 , this sucks ,








    o well we tryed , maybe a new power supply soon will help 800w+ ?
  23. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    The important part is that your PSU can supply both cards with enough juice, so let me be the first to ask this question since I am NOT an expert on PSUs.


    What would be a safe bet for a model of PSU that would support both a 4870 and a 4850 while giving enough to the rest of the PC?
    POOLESOFT says thanks.
  24. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    My guess is the psu. Ultra does not make very good psus. Look to grab a Corsair, Seasonic, PCP&C, Tagan, Thermaltake Toughpower and there are a few others.

    750W is enough if you have a psu from one of those makers. The Ultra psu isn't really 750W.

    Any one of these should do:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817703009

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139006

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817703019

    Or, if you have any extra money, get a higher wattage unit from any one of those makers listed above, to give you some extra headroom for future upgrades.
    POOLESOFT and Binge say thanks.
  25. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,946 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    I would have to agree with that as well, i wouldn't put to much trust on Ultra for a high quality psu.
    POOLESOFT says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page