1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

help with failed flash hd6950

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Pehla, Mar 29, 2012.

  1. Pehla

    Pehla

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    328 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
    i got Visiontek hd6950 2gb and i tryed to flash it as everyone else did but unfortunatly i failed!! there was no erorrs while flashing just when i rebot pc there was no signal from gpu any more!! now i wanted to flash it back using integrated gpu on motherboard but when 6950 is in slot i dont get signal from integrated gpu either!! do i need to have pci-e card to flash it back or what??
     
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,604 (10.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,102
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    You will need either a PCI or if your board has extra PCIex slots, a PCIex card.

    Put bad flash card in second slot then the spare card in first slot.
     
    Law-II and Pehla say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Pehla

    Pehla

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    328 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
    thank you for fast reply!! i tought so but it nice to be sure!! :)now im going to get my second card...
     
  4. Pehla

    Pehla

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    328 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
    ok i have one more question since i started to shit around with bios-es....,when i get secnd card runing i can try other 6970 bios before i flash it back to orig bios file??or is a smart thing to do and get orig bios on it??
     
  5. Pehla

    Pehla

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    328 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
    can i use nvidia as spare card??and is ther a chance to break that card too??
     
  6. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,575 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    nb: If you get a chance; fill in your system spec's in UserCP, will help members of TPU assist you

    atb (all the best)

    Law-II
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2012
    Pehla says thanks.
  7. Pehla

    Pehla

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    328 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
    ok i fill my pc spec!! and managed to boot pc from igpu...but i totaly have no luck puting card working...,i try several flashing modes and some of them finish it but doesnt realy fix it!some flashing mods dont work at all!! last one i try i with hardware unlock and hp usbflash tool and it said it susces but when i start pc here is what i get on gpu-z
    http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/12/03/31/ex4.png
     
    Law-II says thanks.
  8. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,575 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Uninstall the AMD catalyst driver shutdown and reboot your PC and take another GPU-Z screen once you have done this.

    did you use the original bios?

    nb: this may help

    atb

    Law-II
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2012
    Pehla says thanks.
  9. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,647 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    942
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    If your card has a BIOS switch you can use that to hot-flash the BIOS. That's how i revived my card. Boot with the other profile, flip the switch while it's running and flash it. Reboot and it should work. You can find guides online for this as well and follow them to the letter so you won't mess the other BIOS as well. If you have a card with single BIOS, you have to use some other gfx card to boot the system with it.
     
    Pehla and Law-II say thanks.
  10. Pehla

    Pehla

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    328 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
    not orig bios

    i did big mistake when i first flash card and didnt save my orig bios!!! but i downloaded one on this site visiontek hd 6950 2gb!! that is my card ...but stil cant manage to get that one to work either.i uninstall drivers reboot pc and now i have this on gpu-z
    http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/12/03/31/fc4.png
     
    Law-II says thanks.
  11. Pehla

    Pehla

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    328 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
    i dont think would be woried so much if my card have bios switch.. any help apriciated..
     
  12. Pehla

    Pehla

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    328 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
    why you think i cant flash properly?? i allways think its halfway done!!i think i will make screen shots of my next flash try!! and post it here
     
  13. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,575 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
  14. Pehla

    Pehla

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    328 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
    i done one more flash using bootable usb!! here is what now gpu-z read!
    http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/12/03/31/d9d.png
    i didnt install any driver yet,but from my expirience when i do install it and reboot pc it freeze at point where should be welcome screen.then i hard reset and start it up using last known good config,and that is it...,is my card realy dead or is this fixable??
     
  15. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,575 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    have a look at the links I posted

    fingers crossed you may be able to save your vga card

    If it is a reference design?!

    atb

    Law-II
     
  16. Pehla

    Pehla

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    328 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
    i think its non reference but just to be sure how can i tell??
     
  17. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,647 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    942
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    To get a signal from an integrated GPU you have to change motherboard BIOS setting so that onboard GPU is initialized first. It comes under various names, but it's usually under Integrated or PCIe. Also don't forget to "rewire" the monitor to GPU and not to your PCIe graphic card ;)
    Though in some rare cases system will refuse to boot with a "broken" graphic card regardless of what you set in the motherbord BIOS. When that happens, there isn't much you can do because even with another PCI card, you won't be able to boot a system to re-flash your PCIe gfx card...
     
  18. Pehla

    Pehla

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    328 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
    thank you for reply..,but i already figured out how to boot to integrated gpu...,i already try few flashing option for my hd6950 but all failed!! now im searching for visiontek hd 6950 2gb original bios...,i got no clue is one in techpowerup vga bios colection original!can someone confirm that??i will try few other bioses but dont know either to try 6970 bios or 6950 one..,anyway best flashing option for me is with bootable usb.. i have all files rdy on it, just put diferent bioses to try out!! will inform you guys later on ...
     
  19. Pehla

    Pehla

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    328 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
    if i try diferent bioses i get diferent output to gpu-z here is what i get when using saphire bios
    http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/12/03/31/d72.png
     
  20. Pehla

    Pehla

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    328 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
    oh big good thank you so much!!! :) my card is ALIVE and if anyone else have same problem here is the link for making usb flash tool and just keep flashing your card with diferent bioses .!! ive done mine with xfx 2gb one!!thank u guys for suport too :)
    cheers...
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=335318
     
    Law-II says thanks.
  21. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,575 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    That is great news, thank you for the feedback

    nb: well done give yourself a pat on the back

    atb

    Law-II
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2012
    Pehla says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page