1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help with gaming PC build

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by helpme, Nov 27, 2012.

  1. Caspase

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    121 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Portugal
    Doesn't make a difference at your price point. You could do dual graphics at a budget entry, but this is not the case. Look, the fx-8350/8320 is a great cpu, it is, and good value too, but the i73770k just beats it in gaming and especially in single threaded operations, plus it does it consuming less power and producing less heat,
     
    helpme says thanks.
  2. helpme

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Any thoughts on intel 3930K Hexa core?
     
  3. ALMOSTunseen

    ALMOSTunseen

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Messages:
    833 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    326
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    On a 2K budget? HELL NO. Serves no additional purpose. Might aswell spend the extra money on a better GPU.
     
    helpme says thanks.
  4. helpme

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    And how do i go about overclocking?
     
  5. Caspase

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    121 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Portugal
    For gaming no real use. Even quad cores today you could count with your fingers the amount of games that you need a quad core for, most games just aren't yet optimised, but it is the future. The only upside I see to it is you get a platform that isn't doomed yet. The 3770k is the best you can ever get for it's platform
     
  6. ALMOSTunseen

    ALMOSTunseen

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Messages:
    833 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    326
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    GPU or CPU? You want a good cooler. You can do it via the BIOS, or most motherboards have presets you can use.
     
  7. Caspase

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    121 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Portugal
    With Intel or AMD?
     
  8. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,083
    Location:
    Oregon
    No, Ether way is fine

    Just my two cents. Go with a single GPU. Its his first build so keep it simple. A single 7970 or 680 would be plenty of horse power combined with a i7 CPU but an AMD 8350 would be just as nice. But pick a motherboard with two slots so if you want to add a second later you can. Also get a quality PSU that can handle two as well. Cases are a personal thing. I perfur a Corsair 550d or 650d. I dont like the look of a Haf case

    And run it for month before you overclock. Just to make sure
     
  9. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,048 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,265
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    You should get the system built first before worrying about overclocking. For CPU i linked to the Corsair H80i closed all in one liquid cooler that will do perfectly fine on a 3570k or 3770k. You could also look at the H100i also.
     
  10. helpme

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ive seen an intel 3770K overclocked to 4.4Ghz on a premade desktop
    So for short, on intel
     
  11. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,048 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,265
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    it can do 5.0ghz granted you have a good motherboard and cooling to do so. And a decent chip.

    Also you have a high budget, I wouldnt get an AMD chip. If you had a $1000 budget or below, then id probably recommend an AMD build.
     
  12. Caspase

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    121 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Portugal
    You just change the multiplier... Just make sure you end up getting a K chip, as they are unlocked. Depends on the cooling solution, but I would not advice overvolting your CPU or your GPU by that matter right away. No need for it really.
     
  13. helpme

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So you recommend 2 4 gb 680s , or is it overkill?
     
  14. Caspase

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    121 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Portugal
    Specify the resolution you want to play at. For more than 1080p or heavy mods 4gb, anything else 2 is more than fine
     
  15. Raw

    Raw

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    469 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Spend a few bucks and get the Intel, and sleep well

    I myself would go with a Intel CPU.

    Here is more information to help you make a decision...
    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=173979&highlight=AMD
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2012
    helpme says thanks.
  16. helpme

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Sorry, as you can tell im quite stupid when it comes to this lol.
    I hear things on other forums like overclocking for eg., get excited and run here to ask.
    Ill be playing at 1080p
     
  17. helpme

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So far ive decided on intel core i7 3770k
    gigabyte geforce gtx 680
    256 ssd
    2 tb hdd
    and the sabertooth 990 FX motherboard
    Can anyone recommend a cooling system if i need one?
    And am i missing anything else? besides a case and power both still undecided
     
  18. Caspase

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    121 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Portugal
    Well, that's what forums are for anyways :toast:
    At 1080p skyrim with 100 mods is the only game I can think where 2 gb is not enough, but it is your call. In the build I listed for you, I put in 4 gb because the price difference is not that large and I believe it is one more way of trying to future proof a bit
     
  19. Caspase

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    121 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Portugal
    You need ram xD
    corsair hydro h100i . the led is soooo cool, this option for style, if you go with a windowed case and want to brag
    noctua nh-d14 for high performance quiet air cooling.
     
  20. helpme

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hahaha, woops, ok got ram got my cooling, any ideas for a case? that looks good but doesnt rip my wallet in half
    And that everything I have will fit in?
     
  21. Caspase

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    121 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Portugal
    Case is a matter of personal choice, more than anything. Personally I like Corsair, they just can't build a bad case. I have a corsair carbide 500r and love it, makes it really easy and enjoyable to mount and do cable management.
    If you go with liquid cooling or the h100i do yourself a favor and buy windowed, maybe corsair obsidian 800D.
    Take a look at NZXT also, or Lian Li.
     
  22. helpme

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    what about audio?
     
  23. THE_EGG

    THE_EGG

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,494 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    491
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD, Australia
    Audio, I prefer Asus because I listen to quite a lot of movies and music but gaming I'd choose Auzentech or Creative. Probably a creative x-fi titanium or something like that. If you like music and movies then I'd suggest an Asus Essence ST/STX.
     
  24. Caspase

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    121 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Portugal
    What sound system/headphones do you have?
     
  25. craigo

    craigo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    665 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Australia
    Hey buddy, you will have to change the cpu or motherboard as the 990x based sabertooth will not support an intel cpu.
     
    helpme says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page