1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help with GTX 560 TI AMP power needs

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by triffid, Jun 21, 2011.

  1. triffid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Hello folks, im new to this forum and was wondering if someone could give me some advice.
    I was thinking of buying a Zotac 560 TI AMP , but im unsure wether or not my pSU could take it.
    My set up is as follows:

    550 W PSU
    AMD Phenom II black edition 965 x 4
    ASUS M4A77TD pro motherboard
    8 GB 1333mhz dual channel ddr3 sdram
    2 x HD drives
    DVD R/W
    At present i have an ATI HD 5770 in there.
    Would i need a new PSU to change over the graphics card or would th 550W be sufficiant?

    Thanks for looking.
     
  2. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,635 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    What brand of PSU are you using at the moment?, manufactures name? will help people at TPU assist you.

    nb: please could you fill in your system spec's in User CP; thank you

    atb

    Law-II
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2011
    triffid says thanks.
  3. triffid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Its an HEC (High Quality Evolution Commitment) HEC-550vp-2de
    Thanks (will fill in specs right now).
     
    Law-II says thanks.
  4. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,635 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    You should be fine with your HEC-550vp-2de; However your HD 5770 only required a 450w PSU with one 6 pin power connector

    Zotac 560 TI AMP
    "Core Clock: 950MHz (Overclocked from 822MHz)
    Shader Clock: 1900MHz (Overclocked from 1645MHz)
    Memory Clock: 4200MHz GDDR5 (Overclocked from 4008MHz)
    Stream Processors: 384
    Power Connectors: 6-pin + 6-pin (Recommended 500w) (just double check that you have two Six pin PCIe power connectors)
    Video Connectors: x2 DVI / x1 Mini HDMI"

    560 Ti requires 170w @ load or there abouts, being the AMP more Watts rather than less

    If you do not have x2 Six pin power connectors, it may be time to upgrade your PSU

    let's see what others have to say!

    (to air on the side of caution if it were me, I would upgrade to a branded 650w - 750w PSU) this allows plenty of headway for system fans, dvd rom and your hdd's

    atb

    Law-II
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2011
    triffid says thanks.
  5. triffid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I only have one that i can see, but there are 2 PCIe adaptors with the card bundle, i believe that they combine to one of the spare molex connections, this should supply the extra connection.
     
    Law-II says thanks.
  6. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,635 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    You will be able to make an educated decision for your system

    Look here; this will guide you http://www.antec.outervision.com/index.jsp

    atb

    Law-II
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2011
    triffid says thanks.
  7. triffid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Many thanks for your help, much appreciated :)
     
    Law-II says thanks.
  8. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,432 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    615
    if its a single rail PSU, then you should be fine just using an adaptor: 2x molex -> 6pin PCI-e.

    could you post the side sticker of your PSU? you have plenty of watts, its just a matter of the rail layout.

    170w @ load = ~14.2amps

    edit: time for some bad news... i've done some searching for your model PSU but all i can find is that most seem to think its rather poor quality. can't find any real specs on it yet though
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2011
    triffid says thanks.
    More than 25k PPD
  9. triffid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Hi, heres the info from the sticker on the side of the PSU:

    AC OUTPUT - 230V 60MHZ 5A

    DCI OUTPUT +3.3V +5V +15V1 +12V2 -12V +5Vsb

    MAX A 24A 15A 28A 20A ]
    .........................................0.3A 2.5A
    COMBINED 120W 480W ]

    TOTAL POWER 550W

    I hope this helps.

    Just to clarify though, the PCIe adaptors only house one molex, so i would have 1x PCIe and 1x PCIe adaptor connected to 1 molex.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page