1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help with gtx 670 directcu 2 TOP

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by mrthanhnguyen, Jun 1, 2012.

  1. mrthanhnguyen

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    199 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I have crash with bf3 with my new card. Just play about 10-15 minutes, the it crash to desktop while the game was still in taskbar. I'm using latest wqhl driver, and tried to manual control the fan speed, but it didn't help. One thing I notice with this problem is the fan rpm. For example, when fan speed at 70%, the fan rpm didn't stay at 2200rpm all the time. It went down to 1400,1100, then went back to 2xxx rpm. This makes my card hot. furmark about 85 degree.the card is extremely quite. Need help. is it due to my antec green 650w psu problem because with this psu, arctic cooling extreme on my old card can't even run. My new psu will be deliver on Saturday, so I don't know anything to do till Saturday.
     
  2. lilhasselhoffer

    lilhasselhoffer

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,657 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,013
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    Wait just a second. There seem to be two related question here, then a huge leap in logic. First, a decent quality 650 watt PSU should power up that system with no problem. I've got a 650 watt Corsair supply that powered 4 mechanical drives, a core2 quad, and 6870 for three years; that PSU is now powering a 2500k, 6870, three mechanical drives, and an SSD without a problem. So by my reckoning, there are two questions:

    1) Is my instability caused by my 650 watt PSU?
    2) How do I make my system stable?

    Right?

    1) You're using an Antec supply. There are two ways this could be the problem, but barring more substantial information (a screenshot of the voltages in something like Speedfan, freeware, would be needed at minimum) all we can do is conjecture.

    Are you, perhaps, using a power connector that converts Molex to the required 6/8 pins connectors? If so, the rail in that PSU is overloaded and that's where the instability comes from. I've seen some Antec supplies that have very poor peaks on the Molex/Peripheral power supply rails.

    If one isn't true, then how old is the PSU? Antec supplies, again in my experience, aren't the most solid as they age. A supply that is a couple of years old might well be on its last legs, though I've had new ones that barely managed to scrape by. Again, we'd need more information to do anything more than speculate.


    2) This is going to take a bit of doing, and I'm going to assume you know nothing. As such, please don't take offense if you already know/have done what I am saying.
    a) Check the RAM stability in Windows. Utilize the Intel Burn Test to make sure the CPU and RAM are stable, thereby removing them from the instability question.
    b) Confirm that the PSU is outputting the correct voltages, and that everything is securely plugged in. Speedfan takes software readings of voltages (it isn't 100% accurate, but I assume that no tools are available).
    c) Make sure that the airflow to the card is unrestricted. Cable wiring is often a messy task, but just allowing wires to hang impedes air flow. In order to keep cool air flowing into the card you need to make sure that there are as few obstructions as possible.
    d) Run GPU-Z and make sure the graphics card shows up properly. GPU-Z is excellent at determining if a card is being artificially throttled, or if there is something wrong with the voltage supplied to the card.
    e) Barring everything else, get an RMA. The cheapest component to replace may be the PSU, but if everything else (on this list) tests out then you're down to a GPU problem. I've seen more expensive CPUs arrive DOA, and this is why RMAs and warranties exist. A 400 USD card should work, but they don't always. Just make sure you're getting your moneys worth.
     
  3. mrthanhnguyen

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    199 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I just replaced a gtx 580 with this gtx 670 top a few hours ago, and the gtx 580 gives me no problem at all. I think the card is faulty because many people have the same issue like me.
     
  4. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,387 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,618
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Really? That's interesting - I was considering getting two for sli goodiness. Are there web links to the other problems?
     
  5. mrthanhnguyen

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    199 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Nvidia 600 series forum. They have the same issue like me. It seems like the top version has this problem only.
     
  6. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,976 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,805
    check if the problem goes away when you reduce the clocks. if yes -> rma the card
     
  7. mrthanhnguyen

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    199 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    and guess what, I have red screen of death and freezing when watching flash movie today. Can't believe this is asus card
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2012
  8. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,387 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,618
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Googled "GTX 670 BSOD" and there are a few reports already of it happening like you say. Also a couple that report it happening with BF3.

    This hopefully isn't something Kepler based or process related....
     
  9. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,597 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    651
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Try Nvidia Forceware 301.24 BETA; Note: allow Forceware Driver to do clean install

    Let the TPU community know if this resolves the issues with RSOD

    nb: this potential workround was posted on Guru3d by kcuestag

    atb (all the best)

    Law-II
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2012
  10. mrthanhnguyen

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    199 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    ok, i just uninstalled asus gpu tweak, change my power supply from antec green 650 to seasonic x850. Now, I can manual control the fan speed with evga precision x, no red screen of death or freezing anymore; however, I still got crash when I'm playing game.
     
  11. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,597 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    651
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    You could try this as you have eliminated the PSU and monitoring software

    re-set your system bios, power down your PC; unplug from wall; remove cmos battery; leave for 5mins.
    replace cmos battery; plug power in; power up PC; enter bios; setup with stock settings; save changes and exit.

    Boot into windows and run BF3; if possible test with other games as well, if your system is still unstable and crashes with all games you test; it may be time to RMA your vga card

    If BF3 and other games do not crash while testing; re-work your max stable system over clock

    atb

    Law-II
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2012
  12. sumonpathak New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Kolkata
  13. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,150 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    583
    How do you get faulty card out of that link???
     
  14. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,583 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,933
  15. sumonpathak New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Kolkata
    ^^basically most of the 6xx series had these issue....most probably an production fault...
     
  16. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,150 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    583
    In the link it states that the problem is with the ADIA software and they released an update to fix RSOD. Not that the cards are faulty.
     
  17. sumonpathak New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Kolkata
    ^^didnt say all...although nvidia is facing their share of issues...sucks actually....wanted to pick up one...
     
  18. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,150 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    583
    So any program that tries to read the register that is not there (according to AIDA) will result in a RSOD. So RSOD (according to AIDA) equals RSOD. The assumption is all. There is no partial assumed in the article.

    In the article linked, it states that when a RSOD happens, the OS does not crash. The driver just needs to be restarted (like when the driver crashes).

     
  19. SoWErA New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I had about 4 rsod in 4days with my new computer with an Asus gtx 670 and I had asus gpu tweaker installed after uninstalling it my system have been online for first 48hours and then after reboot another 8days so far I run my system 24/7! and still no problems!

    there is a new version of asus gpu tweaker(2.1.4) for the card now on asus homepage but I haven't had a chance to test it and I haven't found a changelog so no idea if it's been fixed for our cards with asus gpu tweaker!
     
  20. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,446 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Taiwanese just cant make decent applications... I wrote Asus dozens of times in the past 20 years... Just install the bare drivers....
    (Exception seems to be Samsung)
     
  21. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,150 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    583
    Are you using the Asus drivers for the card? If not, I'd be interested to know if you still had the same problem with the tweaker software if you used the Asus drivers.
     
  22. illli

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    150 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
  23. Evolved

    Evolved New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    352 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I WAS getting RSOD's and realized the cause was Asus GPU Tweak.

    I uninstalled and deleted every trace of it. I switched to MSI Afterburner.

    Works like a charm. No RSOD anymore!
     
  24. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,446 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    There you go!
     
  25. mrthanhnguyen

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    199 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    anyone know the reason why my card fan just rev up and down while evga or msi afterburn read at 40% fan speed and 1140 rpm. It seems a graphic card fan just auto rev up and down without sent info to those software. Its very annoy because I was just surfing the web, and the fan rev up for 2-3 second then rev down to normal. I don't have any red screen right now, but it crashes after 1 hours playing game. temp never excesses 65 degrees.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page