1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help with i7 870 please

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by vychytraly, Jul 26, 2012.

  1. vychytraly

    vychytraly New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    117 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Hi hou, i would like to overclock this little i7 guy, but im not sure if im sure how to do it. :)
    Please just tell me if im right, if i do it correctly. :)

    I dont know how much could i overclock it, intel dh57dd motherboard have got just 4 pin supply for cpu. But i will try.

    [​IMG]

    I wont change anything here.

    [​IMG]

    I wont change anything here.

    [​IMG]

    Here will I raise clock frequency to 200

    [​IMG]

    Here will i turn of turboboost. When wil I reach stable OC I will turn it on again. So when FSB would be at 200 I must decrease maximum non turbo ratio from 22 to eg. 16 and continually increase it to 17, 18 ,19... until I will reach maximum stable OC, the temperatures will say me (I think that I should oc to 80 celsius degrees).

    But should I raise CPU Voltage?

    [​IMG]

    I wont change anything, Am I right?

    [​IMG]

    And here should i let it be on automatic or should i change it to manual and decrease RAM multiplier to 8? (I can choose only 2 4 6 8 10 12)

    I hope its all, if not please tell me :)

    Please sorry my english and thank you very much in advance for your help
     
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,782 (9.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    This looks to be a lower end intel board. I would not trust it for decent OCing but if you insist we can help you as much as possible BUT remember we are no responsible if it blows up.

    First you want to check to see if you are allowed to change the turbo multi if so find out what the max multi you can set it would be. Looks like it will go to 27 but need to check first hand. Also it looks like it has VERY limited power control so do not expect much out of this board.
     
    vychytraly says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. vychytraly

    vychytraly New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    117 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Slovakia
    I thought that this motherboard can stop me by its limits and it wont allow me to OC more than it can stand. It is an Intel Mobo but it isnt as bad as it looks, its cost was something about 100€. Do you really think it could blow up?

    Going to check Turbo multi
     
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,782 (9.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yes if its a cheap low power phase is most certainly can.
     
    vychytraly says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. vychytraly

    vychytraly New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    117 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Slovakia
    So Turbo boost can be just disabled or enabled, I think that means it will stay disabled forever because the multis would be so high if will I OC it...
     
  6. vychytraly

    vychytraly New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    117 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Slovakia
    and how could I figure out if the power phase is cheap or not ? :eek:)
     
  7. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,782 (9.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    By looking here it looks to be something like a 3+1 or 4+1 phase which is quite low for OCing.

    [​IMG]

    I would suggest getting a decent P55 board
     
    vychytraly says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. vychytraly

    vychytraly New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    117 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Slovakia
    but in Slovakia the 1156 socket motherboards are no longer in sale I found this one used for 30€

    Gigabyte GA-P55M-UD2 - LGA1156

    [​IMG]
     
  9. vychytraly

    vychytraly New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    117 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Slovakia
    but how much could i OC on this intel mobo? could I maybe to 3.5 GHz? or how much could it stand and supply?
     
  10. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,782 (9.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    vychytraly says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    "You must walk before you run" -Go small baby steps with bclk/fsb/host clock. Also you current board won't allow QPI clock adjustments. Max you will probly get is ~ 170.

    PS:
    Current goal IMO: 24x166 with a +75mV on cpu core voltage, dropping ram multi one notch to 1333.
     
    vychytraly says thanks.
  12. vychytraly

    vychytraly New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    117 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Yes I know how to set it up to 3,5 GHz, I just wanted to know if you think that intel mobo could stand it :)

    But thank you very much

    But if there is a really big risk of blowing up the motherboard i will not overclock it. If the mobo blows up by overclocking could it kill another components?
     
  13. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I doubt.
     
    vychytraly says thanks.
  14. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,782 (9.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    YMMV on that, its according on how good of VRM's intel used
     
    vychytraly says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. vychytraly

    vychytraly New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    117 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Slovakia
    I cant set multiplier to 24, max is 22 for non turbo and what is qpi clock adjustment? and why should i drop rams to 1333?
     
  16. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,782 (9.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    When you OC the Bclk the ram speeds go up as well so you need to set to lowest for ocing CPU
     
    vychytraly says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. vychytraly

    vychytraly New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    117 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Slovakia
    I thought i should set their multiplier as close to their original frequency as possible.
    Their original frequency is 1600 so why should i decrease it to 1333?
     
  18. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    QPI adjustments, you can ignore my mention of it but when going to a high bclk (read: ~ 180-205) this may need a notch or 2 down as it will play a toll in IMC instability. Ram: since you don't have IMC/QPI/VTT voltage adjustments that may play an effect on IMC instability as well.
     
    vychytraly says thanks.
  19. vychytraly

    vychytraly New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    117 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Slovakia
    thinking what imc could be.... :)

    International Mathematics Competition
    Instrument meteorological conditions
    Integrated marketing communications
    International Medical Corps
    International Music Council
    Internet Mail Consortium
    Internet Measurement Conference
    International Metalworking Companies
    Information Management Conference
    International Montessori Council
    Instructional Media Center

    I really dont know sorry but thank you for your reply :)
     
  20. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,782 (9.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Honestly if you do not know what we are talking about then you should not even attempt to overclock.

    integrated memory controller (IMC)
     
    vychytraly and JrRacinFan say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    vychytraly says thanks.
  22. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,782 (9.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    vychytraly and JrRacinFan say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. vychytraly

    vychytraly New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    117 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Slovakia
    hmmm Overclocking AMD black edition processor which belongs to friend of mine was far easier :D
    I didnt even thought that overclocking processor without unlocked multiplier is as difficult. Going to read, sorry for silly questions :)
     
  24. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    :) That guide can also be interchanged (for the most part) with s1156 just for general guidance purposes. Thank you B for posting that.

    EDIT:

    Yeah they are a little easier but in a way this is similar if you overclocked a non black edition before.

    PS: The worst problem with this world, not asking those "silly" questions. There's only silly answers.
     
    vychytraly says thanks.
  25. vychytraly

    vychytraly New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    117 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Slovakia
    this table is superb

    Acceptable performance goals for 24/7 use & Benching (45nm Bloomfield):

    24/7: stock CPU, high memory multi- BCLK 133, CPU Multi x21, Memory Multi x12, Uncore Multi x24-x27, QPI AUTO. This will require little to no core voltage change, but you will most likely have to increase the QPI(vtt) voltage, and the memory multiplier is high so uncore will also be very high for your CPU. This is memory overclocking for a target of 1596MHz so your computer will feel a little more snappy, but nothing quite like what a core OC would do.

    24/7: Mid range CPU and medium/high memory multi- BCLK 166, CPU Multi x21, Memory Multi x10, Uncore Multi x20-x23, QPI AUTO. Less stress on the QPI(vtt) and uncore. May be easier/produce less heat than the settings above. Most D0 stepping can achieve this using stock VCore, but keep in mind not ALL can. Target CPU 3.48GHz, Target memory 1660MHz.

    24/7: The "magic" BCLK OC- BCLK 200, CPU Multi x13-x21, Memory Multi x8, Uncore Multi x16-x19, QPI AUTO. This is my favorite setting for BCLK because it makes for an EASY 1600MHz ram OC, and you can clock your CPU from below stock to 4.2GHz. You will have to tune this but it is so much easier on the memory OC. Some chips handle 200 BCLK like they were made for it while others (mainly seen in the first steppings for x58 i7s) fail miserably and require LOADS of voltage. Raising the BCLK is preffered for memory overclocking because it allows you to keep low multipliers which is better for stability!

    I think it is fully interchargeable with i7 870 or not?

    But weird is that my default uncore multiplier is 10. Should it be 24?

    There is always QPI on auto, so coudl it be a problem if i cant change it?

    Do you allow me to try "24/7: Mid range CPU" setting? :wtf:

    If I understood right I shouldnt care about QPI in this case. And maybe I will need to increase CPU Voltage a bit. (how much? +25mV?)

    And should I increase Uncore multiplier to 20 in this case? Why is default 10?

    I hope that these questions are not as silly as the questions before :ohwell:

    Thank you very much for your time
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page