1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help with LED/Case Ligthing

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by studmark, Jul 2, 2014.

  1. studmark

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    84 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2014
  2. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,511 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    701
    Location:
    GMT +2
    yes it will but keep in mind that conroller can provide 72W max so you have limited lenght of strip you can attach to it
     
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2014
    studmark says thanks.
  3. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8,895 (8.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,153
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Maybe turn capslock off and the world will become a happier place.
     
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,935 (9.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,411
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    This is the stupidest thread title I have ever attempted to read.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. studmark

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    84 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    you have limited lenght of strap you can attach to it>>> sorry but i dont understand u mean the lenght of the lights? the total lenght of <led strip>light would be say 60 inches

    o my gosh im trying to be professional thanks
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 2, 2014
  6. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,134 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    Just gonna nominate this as the best title of 2014!
     
    Easy Rhino and studmark say thanks.
  7. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8,895 (8.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,153
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    You're not doing such a great job with that.
    Your thread title, and content in its entirety is in full caps
    You're written words are not remotely professional (using things like "o my" and "THERE R LIGHTS")
    That is probably why he thinks this is ridiculous, and I understand why.
    Perhaps you are being serious, and are asking honest questions. You just don't seem to be doing it in a serious way.

    Perhaps you are the English incarnation of @michael and next up you'll ask us how to turn a PC on with a remote. Only I like michael, he was a cool guy, he didn't use caps.

    Also your profile is private. This disconcerts me somewhat.

    EDIT: Also, please use the edit function
     
  8. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,935 (9.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,411
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Professional title would have been

    "Help with LED/Case Ligthing"
    or
    "LED/CASE lighting questions"

    This would have be professional and given the members a quick understanding of what the thread was created for.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,134 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    THERE R FOUR LIGHTS
    [​IMG]

    <THANKS>
     
  10. patrico

    patrico

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    340 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    ireland, galway
    lol :)

    yep should work but as already said the output will determine cable length
     
    studmark says thanks.
  11. studmark

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    84 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    ok ok i get the idea. thank you.

    Thanks to all that replied!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 2, 2014
  12. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8,895 (8.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,153
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    ^ Plz mate ^
     
    studmark says thanks.
  13. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,511 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    701
    Location:
    GMT +2
    1.5m is ok (1m is 14.4W so your strip will be about 22W) but you may want to drop to 30 leds/m or even to use smd3528 instead of 5050.
    5050 are quite bright and with 60 leds/m you will get 850lm/m for white light, 30 leds/m will give you 440lm/m for white light
    in my 20 sq.m. living room i have installed about 7m smd5050 30 leds/m and light is enough for every activity you may do in living room.
     
  14. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,789 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,372
    Location:
    Washington, US
    I like you.
     
    Vario says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,507 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,557
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    return to the title
    cant the moderator change it?
    so it would be easier for anyone who read it
     
  16. studmark

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    84 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    thank you, very much!
     
  17. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    17,254 (5.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,003
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Done, I took one of Brandon's suggestions :)
     
    micropage7, brandonwh64 and xvi say thanks.
  18. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,535 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,675
    Location:
    Rochester area
    those are wide range LED's they will function on pretty much any voltage
    I use those exact ones minus the controller for my salt water tank and they are run off and old PSU
     
  19. studmark

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    84 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Just had to say thannks again. here is a couple of pictures GEDC0852.JPG GEDC0858.JPG GEDC0858.JPG GEDC0852.JPG
     
    xvi and ne6togadno say thanks.
  20. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,789 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,372
    Location:
    Washington, US
    Doesn't look half bad!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. studmark

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    84 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Thank you!
     
  22. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,511 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    701
    Location:
    GMT +2
    looks great :clap:
    but...
    when you can move strip away from window edge (about 1/2" - 3/4"). this will reduce visibility of the individual leds of the strip and will make it look like light radiate from the inside of your rig

    edit:
    and what direction blows that fan on cpu cooler
     
  23. studmark

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    84 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10

    I try that. 'thanks"
    I got it set as pull,The heat sink fan. Temps run in 30tys normal usage, low 40tys gaming overclocked at all times 3.40 ghz. Yes i know ppl allways put fan in front of heatsink, but this seams to work well, Also easy cleaning.
    Also had it set other way.temps are about a whole 1 degree cooler.. lol :toast::lovetpu::laugh:
     
    ne6togadno says thanks.
  24. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,511 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    701
    Location:
    GMT +2
    just make sure it blows the same direction as fan at the back of the case :toast:
     
  25. studmark

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    84 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    yep it is all skythe fans now cougar fans found out to be no good sad i paid a small fortune for those!:mad: thanks :toast:
     
    ne6togadno says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page