1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help with Metro Last Light Stutter

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by jonathan1107, May 25, 2013.

  1. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    859 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    Anyone found a fix to reduce the stutter in Metro Last Light?

    I've tried lowering all the in-game settings and it doesnt help... Seems like it either has to do with the game engine or possibly the driver I'm using (I'm using 320.18)

    The only I've found that seems to help for some weird reason is: Changing the game exe's priority in task manager... when I switch it to REal time, I get WAY less stutter but the in-game sound starts acting weird when I do that lol...

    any thoughts?
  2. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,617 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,043
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Well your running SLI, and that game doesn't have SLI profiles yet as far as I know. You could try adjust the pre rendered frames for the game in the NVidia control panel.
  3. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    765 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    265
    Ive played through without issue. I'm using the 314.21 betas on a pair of gtx580s. The sli works fine. Don't know if this will help with the 670a tho?
  4. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    859 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    I also noticed that the game only uses about 300,000kb of ram in the task manager... how about you guys? how much RAM usage you got? (not Vram pls)
  5. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,212 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,437
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Up until the 320.18 WHQL drivers I had to disable LCore.exe (logitech's gaming software exe for my G19). I would kill that process as soon as game starts and then I could start it again and game would run fine.

    But with the new drivers the problem has gone. Even at 30-40fps the game is smooth.
  6. spectatorx

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    49 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Problem gone not with drivers update but with 3rd update for game.
  7. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    859 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    well im not using any logitech products... and my game is up to date... so are my drivers...

    still gettin a crappy performance for a gtx 670...
  8. Knight091

    Knight091

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    446 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    Jacksonville FL
    I have been playing the game with two GTX 690s with no problems. I got the newest Nvidia updates.
  9. spectatorx

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    49 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Clear temp folders in windows and users folders, also clear prefetch folder in windows folder.

    Update sound driver.

    Scan your computer with antivirus. After scan open task manager and analyze working processes by coping their names into google and reading about them.

    At least one of these have to help to you, if not, you may try also to reinstall windows but this is the last thing which you may do.
  10. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,110 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    564
    Have you checked to make sure your CPU or GPUs are not throttling?
  11. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    765 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    265
    Just did a quick run an Last light. Monitored GPU usage and fps. Both gpu's running and about 80fps everything maxed. I know these are older drivers but I haven't had one issue with them. FarCry3 was the same SLi worked flawlessly. They also allowed me a higher OC although that run was at stock settings. 314.21 Beta
  12. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    859 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    dont try and give me the "there isnt any stutter, I'm having a sweet performance" that's a load of BS. Metro last light is known to have stutter.

    Look at this review on guru3d:
    http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages/metro_last_light_graphics_performance_review_benchmark,7.html

    They're using the best hardware on the market and clearly there is stutter and frametime issues. Now this is something to do with the game engine... and I quote (from the link I just posted):

    "Above, the cards at 2560x1440.On this 30 second run the graphics card manages to remain roughly below 30ms; as you can see both cards show stutters, we can confirm these as visible on screen. This happens with ALL cards tested at any resolutions, so it is game-engine or system related.

    With this chart, lower = better. Huge spikes above 40-50ms can be considered a problem or indicate a low framerate."

    pls take in consideration tho that some people dont even notice stuff like stuttering. and it doesnt happen every where in game, but plenty of times to be noticed... I mean just in the 1st lvl sitting in your room there is terrible stuttering going on when looking around slowly.

    has nothing to do with viruses and whatnot... has everything to do with the fact that this is yet another console port with some extra features to "make believe" its actually optimitzed when its not...

    More than half the video options that were present in metro 2033 are gone and the .ini files dont allow you to control much graphic options... this is because this time the game has been released mainly with consoles in mind... not like metro 2033. Altho metro 2033 did need some fixing after it came out, but heck let me tell you that the textures in metro 2033 were way better than in last light... last light is a bit like skyrim, a mix of ugly and beautiful textures... so you won't think it looks like garbage...

    ahhhh here... I feel better already

    EDIT: here's another title I just thought of that has the same issues: Assassin's creed 3... nice eye candy features like TXAA ... but don't even think of turning on that feature... because believe me, its so unoptimized that even with a 690 u will literraly kill your frame rates...

    EDIT: There's no way you don't have stutter in metro last light UNLESS you have found a miraculous fix I didnt know about and if so, I WANT TO KNOW what it is
    Last edited: May 26, 2013
  13. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    859 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    U guys haven't answered my original question:

    Can you please open up metro last light and as you are playing alt-tab and take a look at your task manager, I would like to know exactly how much RAM the game is using on YOUR system...

    EDIT: I asked 3 of my friends that are playing metro last light as well, and they too have their RAM usage hovering around 300mb while in-game... that tends to prove my point that this is a console port... because you see the xbox has 512mb of ram... whereas windows 7 can use much more than that for a single application...

    pls let me know how much ram usage you guys are getting
    Last edited: May 26, 2013
  14. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    765 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    265
    Believe me or not is up to you some time the one driver fits all cards approach just doesn't work. When I find one that works for me I stick with it.
    And 1 question when you alt tab out of a game what would be using the ram?
  15. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    859 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    you would of course look at the "performance tab... where you can see how much ram was used through out your gaming session"... keep in mind I'm talking RAM not VRAM here...

    And I must have played like 40 different games and they all use 600mb+ in task manager even when I alt tab out... so... how much is your usage ?...

    oh and btw I finally fixed my stutter
  16. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    859 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    Just in case someone comes here looking for a FIX for his metro last light stutter I'll post my findings (have fun reading lol):

    Here's the best way to find out IF you are experiencing stutter or not: Find a closed up room in your game environment or anywhere where there isn't much panoramic view... Look at a said object ( usually an object up against a wall like a lamp or a poster) and keep looking at it using your mouse and use your movement arrows (on the keyboard) to "strafe" while still looking at it. If the frames "skip" or if the objects rendering seem to get interrupted you are experiencing stutter or micro-stutter...

    Here is a complet list of ways I have found in the past to FIX completly micro-stuttering and Stuttering:

    1) Limit your frame-rate to 60 or 59... (using programs like Bandicam or EVGA precision X OSD) sometimes doing this affects the game engine and kills the stuttering. This didnt fix the stuttering for me in metro last light (keep reading, the solution that worked for me will be listed further)

    2) Try different types of V-sync (in-game vs Nvidia's or Ati's panel v-sync vs D3Doverridder's vsync)

    3) Close as many unnecessary applications that are currently running (anti virus included ESPECIALLY anti virus programs... they often are the conflict that is causing weird issues in-game... obviously it isn't always the case.

    4) Try changing the "core affinity" of the game's exe (using task manager), some games get their performance increased by doing this, in other games this would actually worsen the performance...

    5) Try playing the game in compatibility mode (such as playing in Windows vista or XP) make sure to run the game as "admin"... some times this little trick will change the game performance... again... not always

    6) If possible try switching between DX9-DX10-DX11 to see if one of the 3 performs better... some games will perform better when reverting back to the old dx9 whereas others will work better in dx11 because the game engine takes full advantage of dx11's improved tech

    7) Check your CPU and GPU temps to make sure your hardware is not choking under pressure (use tools like GPU-Z and HW monitor to find out what temps u are gettin while in-game)

    8) Switch between Fullscreen-windowed and borderless to see if it affects the game... sometimes it does

    9) Change the EXE's priority in task manager, I've done it a few times in recent titles and gotten a more "fluid" performance in certain games... again... this won't always help... sometimes it can make things worst

    10) Try different driver versions for your video card... this is a long and painful process to go through but it often works miracles... The most recent drivers are recommended of course, but there have been times when new drivers actually made everything worst... again for this to work you'll have to experiment

    11) LAST but not LEAST. Try turning OFF HT (hyper-threading) from your bios menu. THIS is the FIX that finally killed the stuttering I was having in metro last light. I just litteraly spent yesterday and a few hours today trying to fix the damned stutter, and this didn't remove ALL of the stutter, but I'd say I can barely notice it when I run my famous "wall test" anymore. I'd say I managed to remove 90% of the stutter which is awesome. My frame rates are a tad bit better as well.

    Now here's what you guys need to understand: Each PC is a different combination of hardware, so often times your "working" solution to a problem might not be the same than the one that will solve my problems...

    So all of these suggestions I listed are to be "tried"... it is very possible that you will get rid of your stuttering in a "said" game with solution number 7 while your friend will fix his problem with solution number 2...

    welcome to the dark side of gaming (PC gaming that is) where patience is the holiest of virtues ;)
  17. Kast

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    172 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    My ram usage for Last Light is around 300-400mb but the game is running flawlessly at 1440p everything maxed out except SSAA which is at 0.5. Turning SSAA up does reduce fps noticeably though.
    jonathan1107 says thanks.
  18. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    765 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    265
    I guess #10 worked for me!
    jonathan1107 says thanks.
  19. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    859 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    quick question... are nvidia inspector profiles only useful when using SLI or also useful in a SINGLE GPU config
  20. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    765 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    265
    Both. But I usually leave them on global settings unless I have issues. They work wonders when benching. One or Two cards.
    EDIT: I always go in and set it to high performance for each different game tho!
    Last edited: May 27, 2013

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page