1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help with Oblivion - Performance Issues

Discussion in 'Games' started by LifeOnMars, Feb 19, 2009.

1. LifeOnMars

LifeOnMars New Member

Thanks Received:
    I can't get this game running smooth for the life of me. Installed the latest patch, followed Koroush's tweak guide and still stutters like a *&@k. Any help would be greatly appreciated as its my first time with this game and it looks fantastic so i want to enjoy it as much as possible. I get reasonable framerates 40+ outdoors but its just stuttering all the time :( I'm on Vista 32 bit by the way.

2. LifeOnMars

LifeOnMars New Member

Thanks Received:
    Bump. So I'm home from work now and looking to get this sorted for a nice evening of gaming. Any help please :)

3. 3870x2

3870x2

Thanks Received:
    wow, wierd, a 9800GT should be able to eat it for breakfast. Make sure you dont have any AA/AF forced out of the game.
    16xAA/16xAF make it where even doom 3 has a hard time running on my 9800GX2 @ 1600x1200 (doom3 doesnt have widescreen options)

LifeOnMars says thanks.
  4. LifeOnMars

LifeOnMars New Member

Thanks Received:
    Exactly, but it seems I'm not the only one who has had issues. So may others all over the web with decent framerates but permanent,game disruptive stutters...both ati and nvidia. Just want to isolate what it is so i can sort it. Its not AA/AF being forced either unfortunately but thanks for the suggestion.

5. AsRock

AsRock TPU addict

Thanks Received:
    Hows it do in none grassy area's ?. Which is what makes it so demanding game, it is possible to edit the game so the grass was more spread out but less dence. The other way ( how the game does it ) is you can see grass so many meters in front of you.

Here's the guide i used and it worked real well for me.
    http://www.tweakguides.com/Oblivion_1.html