1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help with PSU's ASAP please!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Sig.Collins, Oct 2, 2007.

  1. Sig.Collins New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Good afternoon all

    I need abit of help regarding PSU's and what i should get

    I'm planning on getting a new comp

    ATM this is what i've found

    1 x Seagate Barracuda 160GB SATA II 7200rpm 8MB Cache
    1 x AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000 + Socket AM2
    1 x M2A-MVP Socket AM2 AMD 480X SB600 ATX Motherboard
    2 x HIS HD 2600XT IceQ Turbo 512MB GDDR3 PCIe Dual DVI
    1 x Samsung 20x Dvd+/-r/rw/ram Sata Oem

    Also planning on buying

    1 x Fan controller
    1 x CS EL diablo case [ has a 33mm and 25mm fans]
    4 x Case fans
    1 x HDD cooler
    1 x RAM cooler
    1 x CPU cooler [Big beefy one not sure yet but presume needs more power then a standard one]

    And likely 2 UV cathodes

    What size PSU am i looking at to power all of this 400w 500w 600w??? or am i looking at alot more???

    I also wouldn't want anything to big else elecy bills r gonna go through the roof!


    Yours faithfully

    Sig Collins

    :roll::roll::roll::roll:
  2. d44ve New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,521 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309
    600w would be SAFE.... but I would go a little higher "just in case"
    Sig.Collins says thanks.
  3. Sig.Collins New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    darn, seen real nice TT only 530w tho, didnt think it be enough. "just in case" :D
  4. d44ve New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,521 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309
    The main reason why I say a little higher is because of all the extra cooling and lights you are trying to put it in.

    Otherwise, I wouldve said 550 would be more than enough
    Sig.Collins says thanks.
  5. Sig.Collins New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    what would happen if i used less would it just not work???
  6. d44ve New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,521 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309
    an unstable system
    Sig.Collins says thanks.
  7. Sig.Collins New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok, what wud u say if i had the 530w, took the DVD drive off when dont need it :D and got rid of the 4 case fans and the UV cathodes?

    Am i still looking at a 600w er
  8. d44ve New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,521 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309
    The DVD drive wouldnt make a differance....

    In reality, you would be OK with the 530..... but the way I see it is ; You are going to have to buy a new PSU anyhow, why buy the cheapest you can get away with.... when you are only going to have to upgrade again in the near future.
  9. Sig.Collins New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    True True, i jus liked the looks and it has a PST [sum little drive bay bit so u dont have wires everywhere]

    And its only 520w read it wrong :(

    Looks like ill go for a 600w :)

    Thank you very much
  10. d44ve New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,521 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309


    Do you have a link to it?

    Cause there is more to PSU's than just how many watts they put out..... You need to take into consideration the AMPS per rail, how many rails it has, the efficiency and others.

    There is a very good guide in the forums here. I will try and dig it up for you
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2007
  11. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,526 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,046
    Only really 1 thing to add, and I will let d44ve continue with his excellent help so far.

    As d44ve has stated dont skimp on the PSU ,because its always better to look into the future of your PC's life. By this I mean , what might you do 3-6months even a year down the road. Examples of my train of thought...Crossfire(if possible), Overclocking(if desired), and with OCing usually comes the desire to put more cooling into a system that will draw more power.

    Oh yeah ... and if you by say a 600-700W PSU now and it is of better quality, there is alot better chance when you go to upgrade the whole system down the line, the PSU should be transferrable to the new system(where as a 500-550W may not be enough)
  12. Sig.Collins New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/specpage.jsp?TT-W0073

    thats the link

    Also i dont plan on overclocking [mite mess about bit with the CPU]

    i think it'll be cool enough with what i'm planning if i was :D

    I c were ur both comin from but i'd keep this rig 4 abit....

    Till quad core's cheap as :D
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2007
  13. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Link to that thermaltake 520;
    http://www.thermaltake.com/product/Power/PurePower/w007374/w007374.asp

    Dave knows what he's talking about, as does Sneekypete.

    I think that PSU is borderline what you need,

    Don't worry to much about the "high wattage" and electricity use. The PSU will only produce as much as your computer needs up to the limit of it's abilities; not a constant '600 watts' all the time, so don't worry about using to much electricity.

    The better the psu the less problems you will have down the road. It sucks to build a new rig and then have to get another PSU 3 months down the road because the PSU can't handle the rig or Dies trying.

    :toast:
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2007
  14. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,526 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,046
    @ sig...I do know that a buddy of mine who lives in Manchester UK has just purchased the same PSU as I have in my rig for that price. Not sure where else you can shop online where you are, but my point is this ....I'm running an OCZ GSX 700W psu made by Fortron Source Power Suplies (great OEM vendor) . This supply has all the power you would require and more. Have a look locally and see what you think.

    Just my opinion tho, and dont be affraid to wait to get others input as well !
  15. Sig.Collins New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  16. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Efficiency > http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electrical_efficiency

    A PSU that is 100% efficient does not exist as all electronic components have energy loss due to conversion of the power signal through either heat or leakage. 70% efficiency is the norm and most likley the efficiency is higher (around 75%). It's harder to get more efficient than that when converting AC input to DC output in an econimical manner.

    So basically 70% efficiency means 30% LOSS.:toast:
  17. Sig.Collins New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    OK im gonna give up thinking of the 520w coz ill prob just end up sending it back :)

    gonna get a 600w tegan to go with me cases

    thanks everyone who have helped

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page