1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help with SSD in I7 build

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by DrunkenMafia, May 8, 2009.

  1. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    Need help with an issue....... :banghead:

    I just built an I7 920 rig for a mate of mine. Specs below. I have installed XP pro 64bit.

    The thing is fast as hell until you try burning a dvd with nero. Then everything goes to custard. If I try to open an app while burning, firefox (just an example) it takes approx 20 seconds to open up and about 6 seconds if opened previously.

    It also stutters badly when trying to play video with media player etc...

    Asus PT6se
    I7 920
    6gb corsair 1333mhz
    30GB OCZ Vertex SSD
    2 x 640gb WD Blacks
    HD4550 512mb GFX card
    Antec 430watt psu.
    Zigmatec S1283 cpu cooler
    LG 20x Sata DVD drive

    I have the OS on the SSD with apps as well. All up approx 13gb used. I figured it might be the SSD drive so I installed a quick Ubuntu 9.04 on one of the 640 WD's in there and it works fine but video still stutters and it seems to slow down a fair bit when opening pics etc.. I haven't tried burning DVD in Ubuntu yet.

    I will have machine back on monday. Just trying to get some ideas.

    All drivers loaded and up to date.
    Latest bios.
    Good temps.
    all stock bios settings.
    OCZ Vertex is the faster model SSD. :confused:
  2. Studabaker

    Studabaker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,116 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Somewhere in the underground
    But did you perform all of the recommended optimizations? There's a good few services like Indexing and Superfetch I believe, that are known to cure these problems with SSD drives. Do up a Google search, OCZ posts the link to their forum all the time when people on the Egg complain about this. Give Win7 a go, too, it's the first Windows optimized for SSDs.
    DrunkenMafia says thanks.
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,681 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,210
    try another burning app, like img burn.

    If it doesnt lag, then nero is the culprit.

    SSD's need a lot of tweaks to OS's to work right, as that SSD is one of the ones with the infamous stutter bug.
    DrunkenMafia says thanks.
  4. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    yeah I will try another burning app on monday when I get it back. I might also throw a fresh copy of XP64 on a "normal" HDD and see if that solves the problems...

    I was completely unaware of all the tweaks for SSD's, I will do some research on that now....

    Maybe I should just swap it out for a raptor or RAID0... :confused:

    I will try some of these tweaks first though.
  5. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    Just been looking thru the OCZ site and there are a couple of firmware updates on there, the latest one being from last month which I doubt will be on the drive I have... I will update the firmware as soon as I get it. Which also means a full wipe of drive. It also mentions leaving a small unpartitioned area ~300mb at end of disk to prolong life...

    As to the stutter issue, I believe the Vertex series has the new controller IC on it which is supposed to eliminate the issue... I will let you know how this goes..

    Kinda annoyed at the setup you have to go thru for these drives, if it was my drive I wouldn't mind but my mate is kinda cranky. Rightly so. I shoulda done some more research huh :)
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,681 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,210
    yeah, the latest SSD's are always slooow to reach aus. The "good" drives use indilinx (sp?) controllers, and not Jmicron.
  7. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    My vertex one has the indilinx, no???? :confused:

    Someone mentioned to me today about the psu not being able to handle an i7 build with 4 drives.... it doesn't sound right to me, what do you think. I can't see the system using much power at all.
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,681 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,210
    i dont know what drives have what controllers.

    Google says vertex has indilinx, so that should be all good.
    http://www.pcper.com/article.php?aid=670

    To be honest, the firmware update + another burning program may be all it needs.

    edit: lol that review mentions a "flush-mount capacitor" and i misread it as flux capacitor for a moment.
  9. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    ^ sounds sensible to me...

    A flux capacitor huh... that must be why the things are so damn expensive... :laugh:
  10. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,831 (4.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,402
    Did you OC the i7?
  11. Studabaker

    Studabaker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,116 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Somewhere in the underground
    I have to agree that you have way too much system for a 430Watt PSU. I didn't even notice that.
  12. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,831 (4.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,402
    is the PSU a EarthWatt?
  13. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    @ n-ster - No didn't oc at all. Yup, earthwatts 430

    @ studabaker - really? The gfx card is only a basic one, he doesn't game at all, the 2 WD blacks use about 30watts each with the SSD using like 5watts. There is only 2 120mm low speed fans and a DVD drive. That should leave ample for MB n CPU I would think. I could be wrong though.
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,681 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,210
    http://www.pcper.com/article.php?aid=670&type=expert&pid=14

    this page mentions the firmware updates, and how they affect performance.

    The antecs not the issue guys. sure its on the low side, but look at the video card in question. if the PSU was a problem, it wouldnt show up when burning a DVD!
    DrunkenMafia says thanks.
  15. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,831 (4.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,402
    It's an EW, which is a good quality PSU, and it's not OCed... PSU out of the question :)

    I'm pretty sure you'll have to tweak the SSD... firmware updates and disabling as many services as possible should do the trick, so go on OCZ forum ;)
    DrunkenMafia says thanks.
  16. Studabaker

    Studabaker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,116 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Somewhere in the underground
    Hmm I see if that is the one with two 17A rails that is pretty damn good for a 430.
  17. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    thank, will do, I just have to try and remember my user name from there. I haven't been to OCZ support since my DFI CFX3200 days... :)

    FYI Link to psu

    http://www.antec.com/Believe_it/product.php?id=NjQ=

    Which I don't think is an issue.

    Its definitely a HDD / driver / sata issue
  18. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    completely off topic....

    Just watched Crank 2 - Awesome!!!

    completely back on topic

    I will get the machine on monday and go thru the OCZ setup and fw flash. an keep thread updated... :)
  19. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,831 (4.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,402
    for the heck of it, when you do the tweaks, could you tell us what you did? so that whomever gets this problem can fix it too :)
  20. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    will do :)
  21. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,831 (4.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,402
    btw, vertex in RAID 0 get's an average of 400mb/s :p
  22. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    that would cost me $500 for 60gb!!!! :eek: I will pass for now..

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page