1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help with unstable system

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by gmastra100, Nov 6, 2011.

  1. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,955 (9.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,433
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yes goto bios and set to default settings then save and restart
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. gmastra100 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    103 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    pc crashes

    just changed pnp setting to allow windows to set resources, seems more stable
    You've just submitted a CPU-Z dump to the CPU-Z Validator.

    This dump has been verified. The associated ID is : 2088096


    Your verified dump is now viewable here : http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2088096
     
  3. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,955 (9.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,433
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I would say to do a full ram test if you already haven't.

    Download this CD and burn it. Boot the PC with it in the drive and it has TONS of programs that will help you do testing. It also has MINI windows

    Hirens Boot CD
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. gmastra100 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    103 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Hi Thanks,
    I have performed extended memory tests with Windows , with no errors found. I will try to download CD.
    At present performing intel burn stress test
     
  5. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    895 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    It is not a ram problem. If your error codes(blue screen) is a 124 error, than your voltage on the proc is to low, or the proc is not stable at all. As many have said, run the proc on stock and observe the voltage under load with cpu-z. Try a different proc, or try this proc in your other board.
     
    95Viper says thanks.
  6. gmastra100 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    103 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Hi could not download cd
    Intel burn in tests did 4 runs then crashed
    Oil put default values in BIOS
    What Is It that am loking for
    Post from phone as pc crashed
     
  7. gmastra100 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    103 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Stock
    What am.I looking at before it crashes ?
    Cuz I'd is 2088156
    Regards
     
  8. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,955 (9.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,433
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Check your ram settings, Make sure they are what the sticker on the sticks are suppose to be set to in the bios.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. gmastra100 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    103 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Hi . looking at cpu core voltage on cpuz. voltage moves between 0.99V and 1.3V should it be static ?
    I do not want to disrupt other working pc. If the voltage should be static, then I will get another processor, any suggestion on which would be the most stable ?
    looking to have a good blu ray media player.
    but before I buy, any other tests I can do ?

    thanks
     
  10. gmastra100 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    103 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    forgot to add, that I have tried another procesor the AMD II x3 which also was unstable before in the asus mobo.
     
  11. gmastra100 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    103 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    RAM settings should be 9-9-9-24 ( as per sticker )
    Under stock settings CPUZ reports this as :
    9:9:9: tRAS 28 tRC 37 command rate 1T
    Dont know why tRAS is 28
     
  12. gmastra100 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    103 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Pc just crashed
     
  13. gmastra100 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    103 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    managed to get on daughters computer,
    this is stable, and looking at cpuz, the core voltage is similar varying between 0.99 and
    1.35V

    cpuz dump

    This dump has been verified. The associated ID is : 2088196


    Your verified dump is now viewable here : http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2088196
     
  14. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,955 (9.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,433
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    maybe new motherboard time
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. gmastra100 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    103 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Sounds good
    Will go for gigabyte so as to use present components
    Any good free site to read mp files
     
  16. gmastra100 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    103 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Hi all,
    I think you guys were right about the psu.
    I removed the HD 6950 graphics card and went back to the on board one.
    BIOS set to stock apart from RAM timings which I set as advised on stick.
    PC was stable , even ran 5 cycles of intel burn on maximum stress and it did not crash.
    Will re-test again tonight to see if there are any issues. If not I will need to get a good PSU, for <£70 .

    Thank you for all the help and advise, especially that a BSOD error of 124 relates to the proessor. Is there a link to where all the codes mean ?
    Regards
     
  17. gmastra100 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    103 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    latest update,
    I have changed psu for xfx 750W and keeping to stock values and use on board graphics, the system seems stable , has been for several days. If I try to unleash, then Its prone to occasional crashing.
    So next step was to put HD6950 in with CPU in stock setting.
    System very unstable again. crashes after about 5 mins.
    I have lots of fans , CPU temp ~35deg, HDD ~30deg,
    HD6950 ~ 49deg
    When system crashes, I dont get bSOD but a grey screen with thin black vertical lines. I then have to re-boot . I get back, Windows reports error with usual 124 error.
    Could the CPU be an issue ?
    Dont have another to test.
    Any suggestions ?
    Thank you
     
  18. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,463 (12.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,149
    This is most definitely a GPU issue. You can try to do a thorough uninstal of your video drivers and reinstall, but most likely there is sometihng wrong with the video card.
     
  19. gmastra100 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    103 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Thank you for the support. ( I keep doubting the card but I have reinstalled the drivers even rolling back to before I started installing gpu drivers and still the same freezing)
    The card was a graded product but with 1 years warrenty. So I am returning it and will get a new one.
    regards
     
  20. gmastra100 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    103 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Hi a week later
    My PC is still unstable and crashing randomly.
    All components running stock, new XFX 750W PSU,
    BIOS RAM timings set manually to 9-9-9-24 On board graphics used.
    I had a BSOD and attached the pic.
    Any clue?
    I am starting to think that the mobo is no good, two mobo's withthe same trait.
    I am thinking of getting another one , any advise, want to use existing DDR3 ram and Phenom II ( AM3) though would like to be able to bve future upgradable to AM3+
     

    Attached Files:

  21. gmastra100 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    103 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    :banghead:

    re-seatted a ram stick and its all system go. How did I miss it.
    I bought GPU from videocardshop. Very good price but graded.
    I had read lots of negative feedbacks but surely they could not be that bad.
    Spoke to them, within 4 days they confirmed the board was faulty and offered to exchange it. Getting a new one, but as the difference in price between 1GB and 2 GB is £10 I have decided to go for the 2GB version so that I can up the bios to 6970.
    All this saga has left me wanting a new board. Just sold one of my M4A785TD-V-EVO for £36 on flea bay, so If I can sell this one for the same, means I have £72 towards a new one.
    2 choices
    Gigabyte-GA990FX-UD5
    Asus Sabertooth.

    Asus support was pretty naff, but is it a case of out of the frying pan and into the fire if I go with Gigabyte ?
    money wise they are the same. I like the Gigabyte as am not an overclocker, but Asus has quite a few Fan connectors which I can control to keep board and GPU cool.
    What do you think Santa should bring ?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page