1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Help with watercooling please.

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by technicks, Mar 1, 2009.

  1. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Hello guys.

    Well i took the plunge. My Swiftech H20 120 Premium kit is on it's way from the US.
    Same as this one http://www.crazypc.com/products/h2o-120_premium-9378.html
    It's brand new and i got it for $110. Which for the parts in the kit is pretty sweet.
    Only thing is the radiator has a small dent in the housing. But i am looking for a 240mm radiator right now.
    But i was thinking. It uses 3/8'' tubing. But i would like to have 1/2'' tubing.:D
    The cpu block also comes with barbs for 1/2'' ID tubing. For the new radiator i could also buy 1/2'' barbs for it. I could also look for a bigger reservoir with 1/2'' barbs but the bump has 3/8''.
    So how would i be able to use thicker tubing for my set.
    For the moment i am only going to watercool my cpu.

    Thanks for the help.:toast:
     
  2. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Anyone?:confused:
     
  3. zaqwsx

    zaqwsx

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,144 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Location:
    New York
  4. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    For the thicker tubing, you can do a compression fittings but that tends to cost an arm and leg. There is also Plastic fittings that does the same thing.. As for what I did.. I went to Home Depot (any home supply store that has plumbing has this) and made my own. I had a pump that was 1/2 barb and I wanted to go 3/8th on tubing.. lol

    [​IMG]

    That's my first go around with water.. God I loved it, but was better off with doing it again!

    Congrats on taking the plung!! You'll be amazed at the difference. Just don't rush the building of the loop...
     
    technicks says thanks.
  5. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    So do you recommend the pressure fittings or those plastic ones.
    I only need 2 so the price is not a issue. Am i correct that with the pressure fitting the hose goes in the fitting then you screw the fitting to tighten on the hose?
    And if i use them. How long must the tube be before i can switch to 1/2''. For example. Can it be 10/20 cm from the pump or do i need a certain distance?
     
  6. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    To me, the compression fittings are just a "Better looking" thing to most.. If you don't mind spending 20ish bucks for two then by all means its a nice look. The plastic is just a cost factor as well...

    Your right on the fact that the tube goes in, you screw it down.

    When you switch to the different sizing, just make sure you have some slack in the tubing. After that, your all good. Just give it enough to if you have to bend it, it's not going to tear or break. Then after that, your all good man.

    I know, after awhile, you'll want to try your hand in a custom set up!! Water gets addicting!!
     
  7. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    So double check:

    For a 240mm rad with 1/4 connection i need 2 1/4'' to 1/2'' fittings.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I need 1/2'' inner dimension hose. I will buy 2 meters. Should be enough.
    A bunch of hose clips. Should i buy the ones who needs to be screwed tight? Or those plastic clips?

    2 compression fittings 3/8'' to 1/2''

    [​IMG]

    And a bigger reservoir with 1/2'' fittings.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    All barb is 1/4 threading. So there you don't have to worry about making sure it's 1/4 and 1/2... Just worry about the 1/2 id (inter diameter) part when looking.

    As for the clamps. I would go with getting the Metal ones. The reason for it is. You can securely clamp it in place.


    YOu don't need to have a "bigger" res. All that does is to give you a little more water to the line, and allows you to messure the water. Most people just do a "T Line" and cap it off to fill. But, I feel that having a res is better off in the long run..

    Now, here is something that does work. If your getting 1/2 id barb, you can forcefully put the 3/8 id tubing over it. All you have to do is, warm up the tubing at the end of the lines, and use some type of grease on the barb. Then, just force the tubing over it and your all set. Some people do do this type of thing. Water systems for computers isn't strong enough to try and tear the tubing apart due to you warming it up like that. Now, in a power plant, they would fire ya in a heart beat! :laugh:
     
    technicks says thanks.
  9. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Ok thanks.
    I like the thick tubing so i will go with 1/2''.
    I will order a new rad and i think a new reservoir with tube and fittings..
    Can't wait until have the stuff:D
     
  10. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    technicks says thanks.
  11. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Where can i buy those tops?:)
     
  12. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Not sure about shops in the Netherlands but I am using the Petra tops which you can get from here in the UK -

    http://www.coolercases.co.uk/acatalog/Pump_Accessories.html

    There are two types..just make sure to get the 1/4" thread ones, if you go for them, as they will suit most common barbs that there is.
     
  13. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Thanks very much. That would be a better option then using the compression fittings.

    Is this the one?

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2009
  14. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Yeah and also helps with flow so win win..

    You could also go with a res top and do away with your res as well.I use the Petra tops but also like the EK ones.

    EDIT:You can also use 7/16" tubing with the 1/2" barbs to give a tighter fit.Some people dont use clamps with this setup but still I would to be on the safe side.
     
  15. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Ah damn i think they don't ship to Holland:ohwell:
     
  16. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Chilled PC are out of stock at the moment...will take a look for some more and post up links.
     
    technicks says thanks.
  17. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
  18. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
  19. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Yeah, sorry yes that will enable you to do away with the separate res.
    As long as you have room to fit the pump and res top in.
     
  20. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    those res/pumps are pretty nice set ups. and Oily is right, if you have room for the 2in1 then you'll love it non the less! I am thinking of grabbing that myself for my Videocard loop.

    Now, I think all you have to do is grab the stuff, and get going! Should turn out good man! :toast:
     
  21. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Well i did not go for the res top but for the XSPC Laing DDC Acrylic Top.
    [​IMG]
    Also got 6 1/2'' High Flow fittings. 2 meters 1/2'' tube. 8 hose clamps (the ones with the screws):D
    Only thing i need to buy is a 240mm rad.
    I'm looking for one atm.

    Tomorrow i receive my new Corsair psu and some other stuff so i can finally use my updated pc. It's been over a month since i used my pc.:eek:
    So glad i bought a laptop so at least i can surf the net properly.

    Only thing i am a bit worried about is if the block will fit on the Maximus.:ohwell:

    Btw what is the best way to fill the setup?
     
  22. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    The block should fit pretty well on the Max. I had the Fusion v2 on my Max board with no problems.. The only problems that you'll have is if you had certain air cooling set ups is what hurts with NB's sometimes... But, you should be quite fine with teh block.

    I would try and find HW Labs Black Ice rad's... Some of the best ones out there, IMHO.. I'm not going to even try and find it for ya... Don't know anything after the lovely Statue of Liberty... :roll:


    As for filling. I would make up a barb, that comes from teh fill port, and run some hoes to where ever you need it.. That way, you can use a funnel and fill it up..
     
  23. aspire

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    290 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Not even close... The BIP's and BIX's are pretty much old news.

    The HWL GTX Series of rads offer unparralelled performance but you need some hardcore >45dB fans to push through the high fin density.

    The Swiftech MCR's are some of the best for quiet fans, and reign as the bang for buck, budget kings.

    High end, the new XSPC RX line of rads overs performance nearly identical to the Thermochill and Feser rads at a 30% price savings.
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2009
    Scrizz and MKmods say thanks.
  24. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    nice post
     
  25. Pete1burn

    Pete1burn

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    831 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page